My last Starbuck’s Coffee

I stopped by Starbucks this afternoon and got a mocha frappuccino WITH whipped cream.  I know, it goes against everything I said on “Diet Friday,” but I wanted to get one while I still could.  I hear there’s no Starbucks during a depression.  At least I can’t remember my grandparents talking about getting a latte during the “Great Depression.”

Could we have already forgotten the economic lessons learned in our grandparent’s generation?  Maybe we should have spent more time listening to them and less time poking fun at them for their stockpiles of toilet paper and canned soup.  We may soon be wishing we had toilet paper stockpiled.  In fact, I think I’ll go buy another pack or maybe twenty…

I realize I’m usually lighthearted here on the domestic fringe, but I think the Bible is true when it says to “rejoice with those who rejoice” and to “weep with them who weep.”

I think I may actually write a serious or at least semi-serious blog today.  Don’t worry I don’t write these often.  The following set of verses is quickly becoming my favorite.  I believe it’s the smartest plan for our mental, physical, and spiritual success.  Take a minute to read these verses and then I’ll explain.  (Quickly, I promise!)

Philippians 4:4-13

Rejoice in the Lord alway: and again I say, Rejoice. Let your moderation be known unto all men. The Lord is at hand. Be careful for nothing; but in every thing by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known unto God. And the peace of God, which passeth all understanding, shall keep your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus. Finally, brethren, whatsoever things are true, whatsoever things are honest, whatsoever things are just, whatsoever things are pure, whatsoever things are lovely, whatsoever things are of good report; if there be any virtue, and if there be any praise, think on these things. Those things, which ye have both learned, and received, and heard, and seen in me, do: and the God of peace shall be with you…I have learned, in whatsoever state I am, therewith to be contentI know both how to be abased, and I know how to abound: every where and in all things I am instructed both to be full and to be hungry, both to abound and to suffer need. I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me.

1.)    Rejoice – I don’t care how bad life gets, if we know the Lord Jesus Christ as our Savior, we can at least rejoice in the promise of an eternity in heaven.  If you don’t know you have an eternity in heaven, you can.  Ask me, I’d be glad to explain.

2.)    Be moderate – show self-control.

3.)    Don’t worry or be anxious (careful) – bring your request to the God of heaven and earth and believe that He hears and has your best interest in mind, even if gets hard.

4.)    Then, conditional on the above, God’s peace will reign in our hearts and minds.

5.)    Think Right.  Think on things honest, just, pure, lovely, good report.  I don’t keep my mind on these things nearly enough…you?

6.)    Learn from other’s mistakes and success.  Don’t forget these lessons.

7.)    Be content…now this is a tough one.  I need, I mean want so many new pairs of shoes.

8.)    Learn to succeed.

9.)    Learn to fail.  (I’ve got this one mastered.)

10.)  Learn to live with abundance.

11.)  Learn to live with need.

12.)  Learn that you can do anything in Christ’s strength.

I just know this is the key to living, sanity, and peace.  If only I actually listened more often, I too may be sane, but you all know the truth…you’ve read my other blogs.

Ok, so today I took my request to the Lord.  I explained that I wanted to learn how to abound, be successful, and live on top of the world.  After all, I think I’ve already learned the alternate lessons…we’ll see.  I’ll let you know if I can keep going to Starbucks.

You better go get your light mocha frappuccino, decaf, extra shot, with whipped cream…oh, and some caramel before it’s too late.

2 thoughts on “My last Starbuck’s Coffee

  1. Aunt Pat

    I only wished I had read this yesterday … You reminded me that “I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me. “

    Reply
  2. Chrissy

    Well, for your first or one of few serious posts (the first I’ve seen) great job! You know, you pretty much echo my thoughts here. People are freaking out over this economic thing and I’m thinking, the Bible promises me that God will take care of me. And a nation that loves the Lord, He’ll take care of it too. Now, I think we have a problem on that 2nd part, but I know that God will be faithful to me in His promise, so I do not worry about the economy. Part of that is my lack of interest in such things that deal with math and logic 🙂 BUT, GOD is in control here. Never man, never money, never circumstances. This is pretty much the most sane thing I’ve heard anyone say on this situation. So, go you!! 🙂 🙂 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

