No Apples In The Big Apple

City people invaded Long Island’s apple orchards like a swarm of angry bees descending on a field of clover.  The buzz of car engines should have given us a clear indication of the future; however, we optimistically hoped there would be enough fruit to go around.

“There must be an accident ahead.”  My husband said as we sat nearly idle, creeping along at a snail’s pace.

Cars lined the horizon, turning our twenty minute drive into an hour and a half of bumper to bumper city traffic.  No accident.  No apples.  No shortage of people.

the apple orchard

the apple orchard

Finally we made it to the farm.  The kids poured out of the car hardly able to contain their excitement.  Forced to park a mile away from the entrance, the kids half-ran, half-skipped down the side of the rode.  Their anticipation fueled by delays.

My family has been accustomed to picking apples in Maine’s orchards.  Rows of tall trees stretch out for acres, apples begging to be plucked from the branches.  Crowds are reserved for the deer population and bags are still free.  You only pay for the apples you pick, less a few tasty samples.

In New York free is a foreign word used only in other states.

Feeling robbed, cheated, and ripped-off, I purchased a flimsy apple basket for $4 (our only option) and headed for the trees.  The kids, running head, darted up and down aisles dogging other pickers.  The mission:  seek, target, and destroy.  Well, not destroy so much as devour the last apple hanging.

Glancing from tree to tree, I wandered in bewilderment.  I’d never seen apple trees that resembled small landscaped bushes.  Many were only waist high.  Since I saw no fruit, I ignorantly asked “Are you sure these are apple trees?”

“Dwarfs,” my husband replied. 

“Fast growing and rapidly producing,” he continued.

Certainly no need for apple ladders, pole pickers, or a pair of strong shoulders to perch on in this orchard.  Also no need for this $4 basket!

Finally my son yelled out in delight, “I found one!”

We all ran in his direction, accelerating as we saw others running from the opposite side of the aisle.  I approached just in time to see my little boy’s eyes droop; the gleam fade from his sparkling blue eyes.

Apparently we weren’t the first to spot this red gem.  Two bites were stolen from the still dangling apple.  We retreated in defeat vowing to go “North” next fall where apples still grown on trees, picking is an adventure, and bags are free.

one grumpy child

one grumpy child

she really wanted apples

she really wanted apples

my son doesn't like me taking endless photos of him, but he was just as sad

my son doesn't like me taking endless photos of him, but he was just as sad

7 thoughts on “No Apples In The Big Apple

  1. Nancy

    aww sad, poor baby! Your daughter is adorably sad!

    But I say phooey on apple orchard picking unless those apples were one of the following: Pink Ladies, Honeycrisp or Jazz apples. All others should be turned into sauce. Try one of these apples and you will NEVER eat another gala, fuji, red delicious or any of those other crappy apples.

    sincerely
    Apple Snob
    😛

    Reply
  2. Rachel

    Aw, she looks so dejected! I hope you have better luck with your next apple-picking venture. I grew up in Florida so I saw my first apples on trees (and pumpkins in patches) in my twenties!

    Great blog!

    Reply
  3. Heather

    Hey thanks for stopping by my blog….and thanks for the nice comment.

    I had to check you out…your kids are adorable!!!! Your little boy with all those cute freckles!!!!

    Now that is just as sad as can be that you could not get any apples. Next fall come to Indiana. We have lots of Apple Orchards. There is one close to where I live that also has grape vineyards. I pick there every year for about .15 cents a pound for grapes. I can grape juice…and it is wonderful. Welchs also gets their grapes from this very same orchard.

    Nice to “meet” you.

    Reply
  4. Carin

    Her face says the whole story! I can’t believe the traffic to go get apples. Hopefully you will have a productive basket filling day ahead of you.

    Reply
  5. Rose Yoder

    Hey Fringe- You are Fun—-ny! Hi I am Rose, I am a newbe. I found you from a comment you left on Parsonage. I love your blog…you should have millions of followers! My goodness at least write a book. You’re a new Fav! And trust me, I don’t say that to just anyone! Thanks for the laughs—love the fish lips pics!

    Reply
  6. Gina C

    We’re going apple picking on Thursday! I sure hope there are still some apples left. I know it’s late in the season, we like to go in September, but I’ve been so busy, I forgot!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

