My Unpolished Gem

I found this cabinet sitting on the side of the rode with a few assorted pieces of junk.  It was displayed junk so I knew it wasn’t FREE.

I LOVE FREE JUNK!

This cabinet, however, cost me $10.  I know I got ripped off…isn’t that what you were thinking?  Just trust me…a little TLC and you’ll be offering me money for this cabinet.

I made my husband go up and knock on the front door to find out how much this cabinet cost.  He LOVES me.  This cabinet came from South Jersey.  We took a day trip to Cape May and came home with a gem (in the rough).

Isn’t it lovely?  You’d pay $10 for this cabinet…wouldn’t you?

I got free spiders and inchworms and even a cricket.  It chirped all the way home to Long Island.

I don’t really know exactly what I saw in this cabinet, but it spoke to me. 

It said, “Please take me home you poor, blind fool.  Spend way too much time cleaning, sanding, and painting me and then let me clutter you home for the next 20 years.”

So I said, “Ok.”

A little paint, a little elbow grease and Whala!

Don’t you love this color?  It’s Convington Blue and I really like it.  My only problem – the drawers wouldn’t fit back in after I painted it.  Oh, no, a great cabinet with no drawers…that’s not so great anymore.  By the way, I pronounce drawers like “draws”.  That’s what happens when you grow-up in NY.  Never thought it was odd, but SOME people have a problem with it.

My husband’s advice, “Let it sit and dry out.”

Like that’s gonna make my drawers fit…I don’t think so.  However, I didn’t have any better ideas at the moment, so I acquiesced.

It worked!  I don’t like to admit I was wrong, but I guess the proof is in the picture.  Now I need hardware.  My projects never end.

A big THANK YOU to all who rated me on MomBlogs!  Also, thank you Texas Woman for teaching me how to make this great signature.  I feel important now. 

It’s a happy day. 

13 thoughts on “My Unpolished Gem

  1. Maridith

    Your husband really does love you!! Mine would of said no, and would of never looked back (he does love me just hates all of my undone projects!!) That is an excellent make over. I love the blue!! Who makes Convington Blue?

    I also love your signature!! I need to figure out how to do that as well. I have so much to learn.

    Reply
  2. Erin

    $10.00 is a steal! I love old stuff like this. Our house is full of it. From the looks of your picture you have room for more!

    thanks for your kind words at my place.
    erin

    Reply
  3. Janna Qualman

    df, I just had to come back and say… someone commented on my name blog today, and part of her name includes tricia AND your maiden name, EXACTLY! How crazy is that?! You’ll have to go look… it’s toward the bottom of the comments…

    Reply
  4. Mindy

    Oh, yeah. You have one good eye, my friend. Very nice. And, I too, want the sign on the floor! *wink* And regarding that “draw” thing. Well, bless your yankee heart. ~Mindy

    Reply
  5. Janna Qualman

    df (mind if I call you that?), I love Love LOVE it! I’d have paid $10, absolutely. (I’ve done projects just like this!) And the color you picked is gorgeous. Great job. 🙂

    Reply
  6. Cher

    Great cabinet! And you did a ma-a-arvelous makever on it! Your welcome, Fringegirl. Ain’t blogging a cow kick to the head.

    The Texas Woman

    Reply

Leave a Reply

