From Away

My family and I lived in Maine for several years and we have many, many fond memories.  Several of our closest friends live in Maine and we really miss our church family.  There are however, some things you need to understand about Mainers.

EVERYONE not born in Maine with roots several generations deep is and always will be “from away.”  This is generally not a term of endearment.  To illustrate my point, I will tell you two short tales of oh, so many.

On vacation this summer, my family and I visited our former Maine church.  We love the people in this church, but we were from away and we attracted others from away.  It’s a vicious cycle.  Now, this growing church has a Mainer as their pastor and he, in turn, attracts Mainers.

During the welcome time, my husband turned to greet a young man seated in the pew behind him and smilingly offered a friendly “hello.”

Now, normally, you’d expect a greeting in return – hi, hello, morning, howdy, any number of American greetings; however, this man takes my husband’s hand in a shake and gruffly states, “I’m from Maine.”  As if we wouldn’t have known.

Lest you think, once again, that I have an tendency to exaggerate, we attended another church that evening with friends of ours.  All was going smashingly until the grandmotherly woman in front of us learned that we’d once lived locally and had the audacity to move.  Her smile faded as she spun around so quickly I thought she might suffer whiplash.  With lips pursed and hands primly folded in her lap, she stated, “Well, we won’t talk to them anymore.”

I felt right at home.  That’s the Maine I know and love.

Maine get LOTS, I mean LOTS of snow.  Once the flakes start coming, you don’t ever think you’ll see the sun again (and you may not for at least 9 months).  To prove my point, I’m including a picture of a quaint Maine church.

churchweb

Don’t you think this church resembles an igloo or is it just me?

I’m hoping we have a happy, snow-free winter here in NY.  Well, I wouldn’t mind snow for Christmas…

7 thoughts on “From Away

  1. rjkeller

    It’s an old barn converted into a church! (We Mainers don’t like to waste anything. 😉 )

    The old-timers really do take it to heart when people shun our fair state for greener pastures. The middle-agers figure the escapees are just too wimpy to survive the winters. The young’uns are thinking, I’m right behind you!!

    Reply
  2. Erin

    Sounds like our East Coast in Canada. I think Maine might have closer ties to our Eastern provinces, than to many of your western states. The culture runs north south along those shores, don’t they?

    Reply
  3. robinaltman

    I’m a Boston girl, so we’re practically neighbors by birth. That picture is a hoot. It definitely looks like a polar bear in the picture would not be entirely out of place.

    Reply
  4. Cher

    Now that’s a roof! AND a wall!

    In Texas, people ask, “Who are you from home?” I think it means, “What’s your maiden name?” or “Who are your people in your hometown?” I’m not sure but it’s fun to say anyway.

    The Texas Woman

    Reply
  5. Debbie York

    I just came over from Mindy’s blog and girl, you are a hoot! I love a funny bone more than anything else in a person and you are slap my knee funny. East Texas is kind of like Maine. If you weren’t born and raised in town, you’ll always be a “newcomer”, even if you’ve been there 20 years. Now since my grandmother was raised in Winnsboro, we were locals thru association. My sister and I will always be the “girls” even though we’re both eligible for AARP. I’ll be back for more fun posts. Debbie

    Reply

Leave a Reply

