Buchty Bread

breadbook

I tried this recipe because my neighbor Jeannie has a stockpile of cookbooks that she hasn’t used.  I guess she figured I would make a good critic because she left me with her brand new bread book.  Since I love the smell of rising yeast and baking bread, I had to try out a recipe.

Ingredients:

4 cups white flour, 1 tsp. salt, 1/4 c. sugar, scant 1/2 c. butter, 1/2 c. milk, 3/4 oz. fresh yeast, 3 eggs lightly beaten, 3 tbs butter melted

Ok, for starters, I have no idea what a scant 1/2 cup of butter means.  I don’t allow scant things into my kitchen…NO…no scant butter, no scantily clad women, no scant cups. 

Step 1:  Grease a square pan.  Sift flour and add sugar and salt.  Mix.  I took my flour right out of the bag and dumped it right into my bowl.  I don’t scant and I don’t sift.  I didn’t think anybody sifted anymore, but Jeannie tells me good baker’s sift.  One day I may be a good baker and one day I may sift, but not today.  Today I dumped.

Step2:  Melt 1/4 cup butter in pan, remove from heat, stir in milk.  Stir in yeast until it’s dissolved.

Step 3:  Pour yeast mixture into center of the flour and stir in enough flour to form a thick batter.  Sprinkle with a little flour, cover, and let sit for 30 minutes in a warm place.  I pre-warm my oven, turn it off, and let my dough rise in the warm oven.

doughstart

This is what your dough will look like after the first rise.

Step 4:  Gradually beat in eggs and remaining flour till a smooth dough ball forms.  Now if you have one of those lovely, absolutely fabulous Kitchen Aide mixers, use it.  I don’t…poor me (tears are trickling down my cheeks).  I started with a hand mixer and finished with my hands.  Yes mom, I washed them first and I even used soap.  This process takes about 10 minutes.  Cover and let rise in a warm place for about  1 1/2 hours or until doubled.

Step 5:  Punch down dough and turn onto flat space.  Divide dough into 16 equal pieces and roll into rounds.

cutdough

Don’t be like me; think before you cut.  Notice there’s nothing equal about these pieces.  Do as I say, not as do.  Cut equal pieces!  At least make them similar in size.  Plop your dough balls in your buttered pan.

doughballs

Melt the rest of the butter and paint it on top of your dough balls.  Cover and let rise in a warm place for about an hour.  FYI – my pan is not dirty.  It’s stone and as it seasons, it turns darker.  I tried saying that about my bathtub, but nobody was buying that story.

risendoughballs1

Now your dough is nice and plump and ready to be baked.  Make sure your oven is pre-heated to 375 degrees.  Add a little more melted butter…trust me.

Bake for 25 minutes or until golden brown.  Enjoy!

cooked

All that’s left is to eat em up!

roach

Those little buggers are so tasty…oh, no I didn’t mean that bugger.  Sorry, I just can’t keep them away.

Oh, don’t be grossed out.  This is just a little plastic bug.  Isn’t it cute?  No, I don’t think so either, but after passing it a hundred times and wanting to stomp it, I suddenly thought this bug could have a future in my blog.  Meet FringeBug!

15 thoughts on “Buchty Bread

  1. Pingback: Holiday Cooking-Lazy Style « the domestic fringe

  2. Chantel

    Funny, I was JUST thinking to myself……I need a new bread recipe for the chicken soup I’m making tonight. This looks like JUST the ticket! ROCK ON! Thank you! 🙂

    Reply
  3. robinaltman

    Yum! I’ll have to just admire your bread making abilities from afar. The day I make this recipe will be the day I become a completely different person.

    Reply
  4. Pingback: Three Channels » Encouragement…

  5. Steph

    Ohhhh, how yummy. So sad that domesticity eludes me. Here’s how it goes here:
    I get the idea to try baking bread.
    I discover that the only yeast in the house is two years old from the LAST time I tried baking bread.
    I buy new yeast. I put “bake bread’ on my to do list for the next day (cuz it’s too late in the day now).
    I forget to look at my list at all the next day.
    And the next day.
    Three days later I notice it on the list, but I don’t feel like it.
    More days pass, and baking bread falls off the list.
    Two years pass.
    Aaaaaaand you get the idea.

    But YOUR bread looks delicious. I need friends IRL who bake so I can enjoy it one way or another. 🙂

    Reply
  6. Nina

    There is this really cool little joint (can I use that word) down the road ‘ a piece’ (remember..I’m from Alabama) that sells all types of amazingly delicious warm breads. So……No scant-ing around here….much to my husbands disappointment. (Can a preacher’s wife say that?—my my….where is my head today?)

    Reply
  7. David

    Even though you don’t use a scant or sift, you are far ahead of me as evidenced by the fact that your directions didn’t start with, “peel label from can and strike against countertop.”

    Reply
  8. Cher

    FringeBug! Totally funny!

    And the bread sounds good too. Loved your tutorial with pictures.

    All that bragging I’ve done on you is true.

    The Texas Woman (maybe I’ll find The Texas Bug)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

