A Christmas Plea – Please Help

Suffer the little children to come unto me, and forbid them not: for of such is the kingdom of God. -The Bible

I want to introduce one of the sweetest, bravest, and happiest little girls I may ever have the privilege of knowing.  Before I do, I warn you this post may tug and your heart strings.  I pray it does much more than that.  It is my aim to tug at your purse strings.  I know that sounds terrible, but hey, why beat around the bush? 

This is little Abby Geiser…

Before chemotherapy treatments and …

after.

Abby is six years old.  The same age as my daughter, Annaliese.  When my husband was in school preparing to be a pastor, we lived in the same town as Abby and her family.  My daughter went to the same Sunday School class with her…the class that I taught.  They were only two years old then.

Abby was recently diagnosed with a cancerous tumor in her leg and has been undergoing chemotherapy treatments.  This smiling little girl will have surgery this Thursday at St. Jude’s Children’s Hospital in Tennessee.  She lives in Pensacola Florida.  They are replacing the part of her lower thigh bone with a prosthetic bone.  A completely amazing procedure. Thanks to new technology, the prosthetic bone will grow with her, eliminating the need for future surgeries.  It is a pretty involved surgery and she will have to stay in Memphis for 2 months.  That means a Memphis Christmas away from home. 

Abby’s daddy, Skip, is a Realtor.  Need I say more?  This is a family who doesn’t complain that they have medical bills piling to the ceiling or that they must watch their daughter struggle for her life.  They are not looking for a bailout, handout, or help from anyone but God Himself.  The reality is that they will be spending two months in another state…two months of extra shelter and food will be needed.

The Geiser family needs financial help.  I want to help.  How can I look into those sparkling brown eyes and not want to help? 

These are some of my sister-in-law’s best friends.  She has more information on her blog, including a link to a care network where more information is provided on Abby’s disease.

Abby needs your prayers more than anything.  Pray that she has physical strength to endure surgery, treatments, and rehabilitation.  Pray that through all this she’ll retain that sparkle and sweet spirit and be a stronger woman, full of faith, because of this disease.  Pray for her family – for peace, encouragement, strength, and faith to sustain the day-in, day-out trial.

Finally, if you’d like to help in any way, please email me @ Tricia9199@yahoo.com.  What a great surprise and encouragement it would be to the Geiser family to receive a note, a gift card, or a check.  What a relief it would be for them to be able to Christmas shop for these children without having to make the choice between a toy or medical care.  

I suddenly don’t have anything left on my Christmas list for Santa.

I know not everyone can help.  I can.  I can also blog and ask others to help, so I have.  Thank you for reading.  Thank you in advance for praying. 

Thank you from the Geiser family…even though they don’t know people care…yet!

8 thoughts on “A Christmas Plea – Please Help

  1. thedomesticfringe Post author

    Thank you to all who are praying! I know that’s the greatest thing we can do for Abby and her family.

    Double thanks to all those who’ve emailed me about a financial gift. The family is humbled, grateful, and truly touched by your generosity.

    Hat Chick – thank you for linking! What a blessing.

    David – that was perhaps the funniest comment I’ve gotten yet.

    Cher – I can only imagine the woman your sister must be…full of strength and determination, love and humor…same bloodline, right? She will be in my prayers.

    I’m so happy today! I feel like throwing up the Christmas tree right now – and the tree will be story in itself.

    -FringeGirl

    Reply
  2. David

    Oh wow! I’m in. I’ll shoot you an email. Thanks for posting this. I’ve been needing some help getting into the Christmas spirit and nothing does that quite like giving to someone who really needs it. So thanks!

    Deck the halls! Fa-la-la-la-la la-la-la-la! Just no gay apparel for me please. I draw the line there.

    Reply
  3. Hat Chick

    St. Jude’s is an amazing place. Growing up, the boy who lived across the street from us had lukemia. He went to St. Jude’s at least once a month for treatment. Thanks be to God and St. Jude – he survived and grew up to be a radiologist.

    I’ll email you for the address where I can send the check.

    Reply
  4. Cher

    I’m in with a check. When I get home from work this morning, I’ll email you for an address.

    My sister has had ovarian cancer for eleven years. Has it in the lung right now. That’s what it’s called – ovarian cancer of the lung! She’s a fighter.

    She spent two months in Houston for treatment this summer. It’s a huge expense and eats up savings like you wouldn’t believe. But listen to this – her insurance covers up to $10,000 on those types of expenses. They don’t tell you this. Someone who’s “been there” told her about it and the fact you have to ASK your insurance if they cover it! Can you believe? I’m sure not all insurance covers it but it sure doesn’t hurt to ask!

    It’s hard enough on an adult, yet alone a child.

    I hope our fellow bloggers get behing this one.

    The Texas Woman

    Reply

Leave a Reply

