Holiday Excitement

reddoor

My daughter’s battery is on overdrive.  She’s acting bizarre, the way a wind-up toy functions after being overwound and released.  She’s used so many words that reality has been exhausted and exchanged for make-believe. 

Tonight on the way to BJ’s, she recounted an elaborate scene in which she went swimming in a hot tub in school Friday.  My husband, on the verge of a nervous breakdown, looked at me like “What in tarnation is going on in the classroom!  AND, Were you there?” 

FringeMan doesn’t understand that our daughter still enjoys short ventures to neverland.  Her imagination may be her greatest asset, but it also may cause her father a mild case of angina.  Next time she goes swimming in a hot tub during school, I definitely want to be around.  Maybe we can pretend I’m a swimsuit model too.

Christmas better hurry up and come because the anticipation is making everyone a bit kooky.  Even the dog is excited.  She ate silly putty today.  Now we can press her into the Daily News and read her like a comic.

My children want to celebrate Hanukkah.  FringeBoy has a dreidl and spins it endlessly.  FringeKid (that’s Annaliese) is convinced she’s Jewish.  I tried to explain to them that we can take part in our Jewish friend’s celebrations and enjoy their holiday with them, but that we aren’t really Jewish.  It’s just not our culture.  I shut my mouth tightly when FringeBoy said, “But didn’t Jesus celebrate Hanukkah?  We should too.”

Next year I will buy a Menorah.

Happy Hanukkah my friends!

13 thoughts on “Holiday Excitement

  1. Debbie York

    Dreidel, dreidel, driedel
    I made it out of play–doh!
    I could go on but I won’t. You and your family are an absolute delight. Have a wonderful Christmas full of old traditions and new ones. Thank you for the blessings of your blog. May the Lord bless y’all in the coming New Year. Debbie

    Reply
  2. Mom

    FringeGirl started moving around furniture in her room when her brother and cousin were old enough to move it for her. Saturday mornings always brought a big surprise when I walked into her room!
    As far as my granddaughter is concerned—uhm, that apple DID NOT FALL FAR FROM THE TREE!!

    Reply
  3. jennifer

    Happy Hanukkah to you too!

    And Merry Christmas as well.

    (You really should attend the hot tub parties at your kid’s school. Just to keep an eye on things. HA!!)

    Reply
  4. Nikki

    What…your kids school doesn’t have an official hot tub party??? Maybe she isn’t making it up lol…it’s scary what goes on in public schools these days…I wouldn’t be surprised hehehe! I love a kid with a good imagination…she’s gonna be a lot of fun when she hits puberty. I’m not Jewish either…but Happy Hannukah and Merry Christmas!

    Reply
  5. Cher

    FringeGirl, you change your header more than I change my underpanties! Of course, I love them all – headers AND underpanties.

    The Texas Woman

    Reply
    1. thedomesticfringe Post author

      You should see how often I move furniture! I also change my kitchen cabinets around so often that I finally agreed to leave the sugar on the counter because FringeMan could never find it in the morning. It’s a disorder I’m sure of it.

      Reply
  6. Hat Chick

    You have a BJ’s? So jealous. Once I got past that part, I laughed! Good for your girl….I love an active imagination.

    Action’s dance partner is Jewish. He is enamoured with it. He is going to her family’s celebration one night this week. I wonder, does the last Sunday in Advent always align with the first day of Hannukah?

    Reply
  7. robinaltman

    Yay! You’re all invited to Hannukah! The more the merrier! We’re always horning in on our friends’ Christmas’, so it’s only fair. Show the kids our b’nai mitzvah video (the current holiday treat on my silly blog), and they’ll definitely want to join up!

    We all went driving around looking at Christmas lights Friday night. The grass is always greener…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

