Abundant Word Awards

PLEASE IGNORE THE “.” BETWEEN PARAGRAPHS…I’M HAVING TECHNICAL DIFFICULTIES
I received a few awards over the last month, but with the holidays, FringeKid’s birthday, and the New Year, I just delayed passing them around.  Now it’s time to get back to business. 
.
I think it’s really special to have received these awards.  It’s nice to know people, however few or many you are, enjoy my blog.  I appreciate your giving me these little pats on the back and a spotlight on your home turf.
.
This first award is from Mamma Belle over at The Bayou Belles and Their Beau.  When I first looked at the award I thought it said Honest Crap.  Although I think “Honest Crap” is fitting for the domestic fringe, it’s really Honest Scrap.  I’m still trying to figure it out.  My brain is a little lethargic today; it’s snowing.
honest_award
RULES:  Tell 10 honest things about yourself, Nominate 7 brilliant people for this award
.
10 HONEST THINGS?  I give you honest things everyday.  I’m not sure you why you’d want more, but here goes…more crap or scrap…whatever.
.
1. While in college, I got hired by a company to go door to door selling knives.  That job lasted for one day.  It took my father that long to figure out what I was doing and forbid me to return to work.  He made me call and quit in his presence.  I was crushed.  I was actually excited about this job and was determined to arm each household in New York with a new set of sharp knives.
.
2.  I have stood around Wal-Mart all day in a hair net giving out cheese samples for $10 an hour.  Obviously, I have no shame.  I enjoyed this job because I had some of the most interesting conversations with complete strangers.
.
3.  I worked for New York State in a Nuclear Power Plant.  This was my first “real” job…post college job that actually paid well and had vacation and sick time.  Because of this, we don’t need to use lights in our house.  I glow.
.
4.  I once lost my car in a snow drift.  I guess I’m lucky.  It could have been a child.
.
5.  Somebody spit in my hair while I climbed to the crown of the Statue of Liberty.  Seagulls pooping on your head may be good luck, but people spitting in your hair is not.
.
6.  I was once stuck in an elevator in The Empire State Building.  I no longer recommend taking the elevator.
.
7.  While in flight, my airplane hit a flock of birds and needed to make an emergency landing.  It destroyed the engine and we needed a new plane.
.
8.  I once failed a written psychological test needed for employment (at the Nuclear Power Plant), but was later deemed sane by their psychologist.  It must have been a mistake…the test part, not the sanity part.
.
9.  I have a fear of fire and heights.  I’d need sedatives if I were in a burning airplane.
.
10.  I didn’t know what a subdivision was until I went to college.  That’s what happens when you live in the city.  You have neighborhoods, streets, and projects, but no subdivisions.
Whew!  I made it to ten.  It’s tough to think under all that pressure. 

I’M GOING TO BREAK THE RULES A LITTLE BIT…shhhh, don’t tell the bloggy police.  I’m going to list some great blogs at the end of this post.  I hope you’ll check them out.

awardThis award is given to bloggers who write about real life.  Janna from Something She Wrote awarded me this honor.  You should read her blog.  She’s a real writer and a good one too.  I write about real life because I’m not savvy enough to make stuff up.  I think I’m just stuck being real.  I’m not aware of any rules for this award, so I’ll spare you any more of my life’s details.

lemonadeaward

This lemonade award is from Straight Shooter.  I’m not sure if I’ve received this because I can turn lemons into lemonade, or if it’s because I’m so sour I should add some sugar to my blog.  Either way, I love lemonade.  A lemonade stand was my first job.  It also makes me think of summer and I do miss summer.  Thank you Straight Shooter for thinking of me.

I now bestow the honor of these awards to following blogs:

Honest Scrap

Kelly Ferreira Photography – her pictures are brilliant.  Go see the picture of my niece on her header.  It’s SO CUTE!

Derfwad Manor – her brilliance is revealed in her creativity.

The Cherry Blossom Girl – she’s got great style.  Her brilliance is reflected in the simplicity of her person.

Woman in a Window – I know I’ve mentioned her before, but you really must go read her blog.  Her brilliance is evident in her words.

Sara’s Art House – We can see Sara’s brilliance in her art.

The Texas Woman – Her brilliance spattered through each chapter of her online novel Shuffle.  Go read it!

Primitques ‘n Poetry – Mindy brilliantly works with all things old and abandoned.  She turns these cast-offs into lovely treasures.  I enjoy her pictures and her sweet spirit.

The Marie Antionette Award

Life In The Parsonage – She makes real life fun and interesting.

My Messy, Thrilling Life – In this blog, sweetness shines through real life struggles.

 *  Dust Bunny Hostage – I’ve only recently discovered this blog, but I’m enjoying it.

The Lemonade Award

Portugal Bound – Since my father lives in Portugal and Nina is living in Portugal, we’ve got a common connection.  I’ve enjoyed getting to know her these last months.  Nina is one of those people who can definitely turn a batch of lemons into a refreshing sweet drink.

No Whining Allowed – The name of her blog says it all. 

There’s lots of good reading in these blogs, so put your feet up, relax, and enjoy!

 

13 thoughts on “Abundant Word Awards

  1. Nina in Portugal

    golly gee…..you’re making me cry……..sniff…sniff…..

    thanks a million!!

    I was also awarded this same award this weekend, so when I get around to it….(I know…if I get any rounder…) I’ll make sure and list you as one of the givers…..

    Have a great week Tricia!!

    Reply
  2. sara's art house

    Awww, spit in your hair is nothing…I got vomitted on once. OK– spit would be bad too 🙂

    Thanks for the awards!!!!! You are a very supportive blog friend! And I will forever be indebted to you b/c of your wonderful giveaway- (and the 5 lbs I gained from the bark :))

    Reply
  3. Debbie York

    Cute post, but can I comment on some of your self-observations? Thank you:
    1. What was your mom worried about? You were the one with the knives.
    2. Complete strangers who will then proceed to tell you their life stories.
    3. Nuclear plant, huh? Explains a lot!
    4. Be thankful. You could have lost your mind or did, oh never mind.
    5. Shoulda kept the hairnet from #2.
    6. Perhaps the radiation intefered with the transmission of the “Down” button.
    7. There seems to be a pattern here between you and methods of transportation. Just an observation.
    8. I would think a little insanity would be a job requirement at a nuclear plant.
    9. See 4, 6, and 7. Nuff said.
    l0.You thought it was part of the new math, right?
    You know this is all in fun. I happen to think you are a genius when it comes to words and life.
    Hats off to those you selected. I’d call that high praise!
    Debbie

    Reply
  4. Cher

    Thanks, FrindgeGirl, for the award and kind words about SHUFFLE. I can always count on you in the comment department and it’s appreciated no end!

    Your fresh writing certainly deserves all those awards!

    The Texas Woman

    Reply
  5. Mindy

    Awww! Thank you so much, Tricia. You are quite deserving of such awards and I certainly appreciate your kind words. Ten things, huh? Woah. I’ll see what I can come up with. ~Mindy

    Reply

Leave a Reply

