Lessons for a Child

Over the past few years, I’ve noticed that preschool age cartoons have become absurd. 

When I was a child, I watched the Road Runner blow up Wiley Coyote no less than a million times.  Bugs entertained me every Saturday morning and fostered a fondness for carrots deep within.  I dreamed of becoming a super hero, namely Wonder Woman.  Still, I wish for her body.

My point is that there was a battle raging and the good guys always won.  Not reality, but who cares.  What small child lives realistically anyway?  It entertained.  It made me wake up at 6am each Saturday morning and sit quietly watching my favorite shows until lunchtime.  My parents were pleased.

I doubt I’ve suffered any psychological trauma from these cartoons.  If you read this blog often, please don’t comment on that point.

Today’s cartoons for preschoolers teach them to be environmentally responsible, politically correct, and handle all situations like miniature adults. 

I don’t know about your kids, but my goals for my toddlers were simpler.  I strove to teach them that drinking from the toilet with a straw was BAD, and that coloring was for paper and not furniture.  I wanted them to learn their ABC’s and how to say ‘please’ and ‘thank-you’. 

Apparently my goals should have been loftier.  Bilingual education should have topped my list, followed closely by energy conservation and tolerance.

I think I’ll keep my goals simple.  If my 7 year-old learns to change her panties each day and do her homework in under two hours, I’m a happy mom.  I don’t think I’ll burden her with global problems until she’s at least 10.  After all, I don’t give her enough allowance to handle the weightier issues of adult life.

Go ahead and link up!  We can’t wait to witness your tantrum this Tuesday.

24 thoughts on “Lessons for a Child

  1. Janna Qualman

    So so true! I think of the parents who teach their babies and toddlers sign language (not judging here), and think I did just fine learning their cues and signs otherwise, “waiting” on them to start speaking.

    Great “tantrum!”

    Reply
  2. cathy

    I agree! And recently, I heard about a kid’s show which had a reference to building a snow-person. A snow-person?! Crazy.
    Enjoyed my tour of your blog.

    Cathy

    Reply
  3. Cathy

    Thanks for the comment about the bunny tracks..When I left for work I noticed them up on the porch..they are getting close. Maybe they came to check me out tonight..lol

    Reply
  4. rhemashope

    Oh yes, not drinking from the toilet is still something I’m trying to teach – although they don’t bother with a straw. =)
    Enjoying your blog.

    Reply
  5. Blond Duck

    Sing it sister! I’m so glad to see someone out there that doesn’t teach their 3-month old child sign language and expect them to do Latin and solve global warming at 4. Snarl. I have serious issues with current childhood education trends.

    Reply
  6. PJ Hornberger

    Ohhh, I’m too mad to do the linky thing. Next week, I’ll do it next week. I was just complaining about this very thing last week to whomever would listen. When I was a kid, then my kids were kids, cartoons were entertainment. Purely entertaining. Not anymore. Their parents are entertained, but not their children. They have to be taught to be perfect. Got to be perfect, and the entire world is their fault and responsibility. EVERYTHING they do has to be politicly correct. Even down to the books. No more funny silly books. It’s all about feelings, being correct. A friend wants to write a children’s book all about Tommy’s not a bad boy, he’s just made some bad decisions. Wants me to illistrate it. Unless he gets to do something bad, I’m not drawing the dog. 🙂 (creative spelling is a good thing) ~PJ

    Reply
  7. Debbie York

    Schoolhouse Rock was about as educational as I got. “I’m just a bill, oh I’m only a bill”. I digress. I grew up watching the same things with a little Icky Twerp and Slambang Theater(Dallas morning programs back in the day) and look at me. I talk real good. BTW, my son always wanted to be Speed Racer and my daughter Penelope PitStop. Lofty goals indeed! Debbie

    Reply
  8. robinaltman

    I totally agree! It’s ridiculous – not to mention boring. My boys were never enthralled by Saturday morning cartoons the way I was, because they were so boring. I have the same gripes with the books they read in school. All the new Newbury Award Winners are about immigrants coming to America, which would be fine if there were one or two, but ALL of them? I had to teach the boys a love of reading by finding our own stuff.

    Reply
  9. Steph

    I learned from Dora that if someone wants to steal something from you, all you have to do is yell, “Swiper, no swiping!” Three times. It totally paralyzes them. And then they walk away saying “Oh MAN.”

    I’m sure that strategy would work on the New York subway.

    And dangit! I had premature tantrumination.
    (I’m so sorry. I couldn’t help saying that.)

    I did a tantrum in Monday’s post. I’m gonna link it anyway, cuz I tend to take rules as suggestions.

    I think I’ll do a tantrum post next week on memory loss resulting from childbirth.

    Reply
  10. Jo@Mylestones

    So perhaps I’m not the only one out there who struggles with the temptation to curse at Dora if she says “where are we going” ONE MORE TIME? I’ll tell you where YOU’RE going, mis amiga!!

    Reply
  11. caprik

    “I strove to teach them that drinking from the toilet with a straw was BAD”

    SNORT! Guffaw!! LOL!!!

    I agree with you on this one. My children watched a variety of shows, but I have to say that their favorites were The Loony Tunes gang and HEAVEN FORBID, the impossibly politically incorrect Tom and Jerry.

    Tiny Tune Adventures was, IMHO, a treasure of great magnitude.

    Reply
  12. Straight Shooter

    If Big Shooter hadn’t worked hard on his interview ?s I’d most definitely have a temper trantrum!
    I so agree with yours!
    I would much wish my kiddos to see Wiley get smashed flat, blown to smithereens or fall from the sky then some of the crap that is on now!!

    Reply
  13. Cher

    Pooey, I can’t play since I have Tasteless Tuesdays going. Plus I don’t have tantrums. No, not me. No tantrums here. None. Nada. Nope.

    But I lie a lot.

    The Texas Woman

    Reply
  14. David

    Hmmm. I’m pretty sure there were plenty of teenage boys wishing for Wonder Woman’s body as well. Coyote, Roadrunner, Popeye and The Three Stooges didn’t seem to hurt me any. But I have to give some props to The Donut Man too. I still know a lot of the songs from The Donut Repair Club from when my kids were little. I wonder if my kids paid as much attention as I did.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

