Friday’s Spotlight – Hat Chick

Spring is a time for beginnings.  In anticipation of Spring, I am launching Friday’s Spotlight.  Each Friday throughout the Spring and possibly into the summer, I will spotlight a fellow blogger who is a friend of the domestic fringe.  We will get to know them through their personal stories, questions asked by me, or a featured topic.

 

 

If I haven’t already contacted you to participate in Friday’s Spotlight, prepare yourself.  You can run, but you can’t hide.  I will find you!  I have my ways.  After all, I was going to be a private investigator when I grew up.

 

 

I am pleased to introduce you to Hat Chick.  Her name and her blog seemed so mysterious to me that once I found her, I had to keep visiting.  Hat Chick not only owns a collection of ‘named’ hats, but she’s also smart and witty.

  

Please put your hands together in a big round of applause for Hat Chick.  Ok, I don’t really expect you to clap. 

 

Relax.

  

By the way, Hat Chick claims the picture below was taken in Vegas on Big Daddy’s 40th birthday.  The jury is still out on this one.  She may have age-related amnesia like myself.

 

****************************************************************************

132_3224

1.      How long have you been blogging and what or who motivated you to launch your site? 

  

My first post was April 7, 2008, so I haven’t seen my first bloggy anniversary yet.  Why blog? Because I read that blogging had become an unexpected force in the market/business world, and even though I don’t have a j.o.b. anymore, I like to be “current”.  I’m not a blogging force, but I see how powerful blogs/bloggers are in markets.

                     

2.      When you were a child what did you dream of becoming when you ‘grew up’?

       

When I was really young, I wanted to be a prima ballerina or a model.  Then in high school, I wanted to be an International Business Woman, whatever that means.  I just knew it would involve travel, great shoes and business dinners.  I still dream of being a model (hat model?) and a tango dancer. BTW, traveling for business?  Not glamorous.  At all.

 

3.      Tell us what you are passionate about…what makes your blood boil, your hackles rise, your heart soar?

       

Blood boil – rudeness and people who are inconsiderate of others

Hackles raise – politics

Heart soar – dancing ballet, watching the magic of Christmas unfold each year, hearing my peeps say they love me, and hearing them laugh.

 

4.      What is your “15 minutes” of fame?

 

Touring with Ballet Mississippi dancing various parts in Nutcracker

 

5.      Your husband would say that your quirkiest behavior is…?

        

He says I’m a little obsessed with rudeness.  I get run over by other people by sometimes because it’s hard for me to find the line between being rude and standing up for myself.

 

6.      If your car could speak, it would say…?

       

Big Daddy said it would say “Wash Me”.  My car is the Coyote.  It’s a wild animal that doesn’t like to be washed.  The Coyote would tell me,”Go faster and farther. Get out of Little Town.”

 

7.      What latest trend simply baffles you?

       

Tattoos and body piercings.  I’m needle-averse.  Why get stuck on purpose?

 

8.      What is the grossest thing you’ve ever done in public?

       

When Big Daddy and I came back from our honeymoon, I got Montezuma’s revenge.  I was so excited to exchange wedding gifts and spend our gift money that I went to Dillards with a crampy tummy anyway.  I gassed the entire china and linen department.

 

9.      How did your obsession with hats begin?

         

My mother allowed me to get up in the middle of the night to watch Prince Charles marry Lady Diana.  I remember noticing all the hats worn by everyone in the congregation and it just stuck with me.  For me, hats represent grace, graciousness and refinement.  You can’t wear a hat with slouched shoulders or with your head hung low – and I see so many women going through life needlessly that way (figuratively and literally).  I think all ladies need a fine hat (and it always fits, regardless of your dress size).

 

10.  If we could peek into your closet, what store would be most represented?

       

If you close your eyes and put your hand on any hanger, the label would be either Ann Taylor, Lily Pulitzer or Ralph Lauren.

 

11.  What is the worst meal you have ever cooked?

       

The ALL ORANGE meal – fish sticks, mac-n-cheese, boiled carrots.  After I served that meal, Big Daddy told me I never had to cook when I wasn’t in the mood to do it again.

164

 

12.   Please leave us with one brief thought.

            

There are two things that will serve you better than anything else your entire life.  Both are free and no one has an excuse not to have either – good manners and good grammar.

 

***************************************************************************************

Thank you Hat Chick!  I hope everybody takes a minute to visit Hat Chick and leave her a comment.

 

20 thoughts on “Friday’s Spotlight – Hat Chick

  1. Lisa

    WOW, I DIDN’T REALIZE I HADN’T BEEN TO YOUR PLACE FOR QUITE A FEW DAYS. I HAD A BIT OF CATCHING UP TO DO. PUT THE COFFEE ON GIRL.

    LOVED THE POST ON OVERNIGHT SURPRISES FROM PASSERS BY. THIS HAPPENS AT MY HOUSE TOO. DO YOU LIVE ON A CORNER LOT?

    HUGS FROM MAINE

    http://sophie4me.blogspot.com/

    Reply
  2. Amanda (aka Cottage Contessa)

    Wow, that was a great interview, and a wonderful idea to do it in the first place! I will most certainly have to stop by to visit Hat Chick very soon! I just wanted to thank you for visiting my blog, and for taking the time to leave a comment. I really appreciate that a lot. Wishing you a lovely weekend!
    Amanda (aka Cottage Contessa)

    Reply
  3. portugalbound

    You should have asked Hat Chick how tall she is…..she looks really tall…..or is it just me??

    (Hat Chick…pretend like I’m not talking about you)

    😉

    Reply
  4. portugalbound

    Way to go ladies!

    Fringe…you pulled the first interview off really well!

    Hat….fantastic answers!

    Can’t wait til next Friday…..who will it be??

    Reply
  5. Janna Qualman

    I meant to include:

    I so identify with the rude vs. sticking up for oneself thing. For me, it comes after so long of NOT sticking up for myself at all, and I can’t correctly identify it. Or execute it, either way.

    And brava on the good manners/good grammar thing. So true!

    *waves at FringeGirl*

    Reply

Leave a Reply

