Remember When?

Do you remember when we were kids and we played games consisting of folded pieces of paper?  On snowy days, I remember playing indoor ‘football’ with a triangle of paper.

jcgame11

So when FringeBoy came home with one of these, memories of adolescent giggles and crushes washed away my adult stress.  I had to play!

jcgame2 First I chose a color, then a number, and yet another number.

jcgame3

Anticipation built as I waited for my inner secrets to be revealed.  Would I have a secret crush?  Would I have to kiss the dog’s nose?  Would my breath smell like a cricket’s guts?

jcgame4

My fortune wasn’t so kind.  I have a giant butt!

And this sent FringeBoy into a million giggles.

For the life of me, I can’t remember what we called this game that revealed our hearts and the size of my seat. 

Do you remember?

18 thoughts on “Remember When?

  1. Dani Joy

    Oh I made those things too!! Such a blast from the past! I didn´t know kids still did them! I wonder if I should teach my homeschooled boys? if I do I will tell them to only put nice complements. hehe! Or funny sayings. I don´t need any more complexes about by hind end!

    Reply
  2. Hat Chick

    We played these and so do my peeps. We call them fortune tellers (ooh – sooo original). My peeps make teeny-tiny ones, giant ones and colorful one,….. and they predict everything…..what your favorite sport is, who you like, and they tell of many physical disfigurements and iq deficiencies.

    Those things make me giggle. Play for me. I want red and the first odd number.

    Reply
  3. jennifer

    Hi! Just wanted to let you know that I have gone private for a short time. It seems that my blog was HACKED. I am not sending out invites until I know exactly what to do. Just wanted to let you know that you are not being excluded from Dust Bunny Hostage 🙂 “I’ll be back!”

    Reply
  4. Nikki

    I didn’t even know that had a name…but I sure do remember making those things and playing them for hours. How funny that with all the fancy electronic gadgets that kids today have at their disposal…and they’re still playing that age old game. I love it!

    Reply
  5. Evergreen

    Don’t remember it having a name, but I made one just about a month ago. It was hilarious!! We were playing in work at a manager’s meeting. Thankfully, the big cheese just rolled her eyes at us. 😉

    Maybe Natalie would remember if it had a name – hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm??

    Reply
  6. tckk

    I don’t know the name either. But we played it all the time. We had the same memories in our house a few years ago when my girls and their friends were playing it too. I love it when our kids repeat some of the same things we did. I only hope they pick all the good stuff and none of the bad. lol

    Reply
  7. Pingback: Remember When?

  8. robinaltman

    I don’t think I ever knew the name. And for the record – your butt is NOT the size of a house. My butt is the size of a mansion. I’m going for a bike ride today. I hope the bike seat doesn’t get lost in the mansion.

    Reply
  9. kelly

    Oh, I so remember this game, this and Mash. I used to really believe I would find my fortune this way. That if the paper said married to the boy in the back of the room who ate glue…it would be true. ha!

    Reply
  10. Janna Qualman

    Shoot, the name is on the tip of my tongue! My BF’s daughter had one of these out recently. I certainly remember playing with them.

    And remember MASH? When you wrote out all these options, to determine who you’d marry, how many kids you’d have, the car you’d drive, etc., and then whether you’d live in a Mansion Apartment Shack or House? Wow, those were the days. 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

