Teacher’s Revenge

My kid’s homework is killing me!

My daughter requires active involvement in homework if it’s going to get done correctly.  I’m really not concerned with correct; I’m concerned with complete.

Her teacher requires correct.

I coax, encourage, refocus, yell, bribe, and at times I’m forced to admit defeat.  My first grader gets home at 4pm and wants to do nothing but eat a snack and play.  Can’t say that I blame her, but her focus doesn’t magically return after dinner.  Doing homework at night is like plodding through a field of knee deep mud.  It’s squishy, dirty, and requires the effort of your entire mind, body, and spirit. 

Each night ‘we’ have spelling, reading, reading comprehension papers, and a few math papers.  After that’s finished it’s independent reading time (to be done aloud), and every so often the teacher throws some additional projects our way just for sake of educational torture. 

This is one of the weeks were I’m acquiring new greys faster than Nice & Easy can rinse them away.

We had to write a poem for share time, read yet another book, and complete a small paragraph explaining which book’s world we’d like to travel into.  It all sounds simple until you try to finish each assignment from the perspective of a seven year-old.

Did I mention the piano flashcards we need to practice?  Scales?  Finger Exercises?

Is dropping out of the first grade an option?

Don’t get me wrong, I’m absolutely thankful for academic excellence.  I just wish we could spread some of this homework out over the next 12 years.

If you’d like to link to Tuesday’s Tantrum, please click on Mr. Linky below.  You can even link an older post.  It’s ok with me.  I’m an idea person, not a rule person.  So play along however it works for you.

19 thoughts on “Teacher’s Revenge

  1. jennifer

    I am anti homework. They are there ALL day, can’t they have a life outside of school? I think homework just for the sake of having it is nuts. If you can get it done at school? DO.

    Reply
  2. robinaltman

    Schools are crazy these days. That’s way too much homework for a 7 year old. If it’s any consolation, my dimwits were pretty similar, and seemed to get better (i.e. more independent) in about 7th grade. Of course, that leaves you lots of time to go insane. So sorry.

    Oops! Got to go! I have an essay on Julius Ceasar to finish. . .

    Reply
  3. Mama Belle

    So funny that I read this tonight as my oldest is still doing homework and it’s after 8:00. I’ve had enough! I don’t remember having so much homework as my kids have.

    Reply
  4. Erin

    THAT is MENTAL! That.is.too.much.homework. Period.
    Too much. We’ve been there and my daughter is much the same, maybe even, dare I say it, worse. But this year she has very minimal homework, loves school, and is learning just as much, if not more. That’s nuts, man. Rant on!

    Reply
  5. David

    I understand. It gets easier in high school… for the parents, that is. Not because your kid doesn’t still need help. They do. But because you won’t remember enough of the subjects to actually help them. Depressing, isn’t it?

    On a brighter note, UPS is supposed to pick up your blanket today. 🙂

    Reply
  6. Jenn Calling Home

    I feel your pain. Unfortunately, it doesn’t end when they get to highschool; the subjects just get harder…like chemistry, for instance. Trying to keep one daughter from failing this class at the moment, on top of everything else she has going on. 😦

    Reply
  7. Pilar Stark

    All that for a 1st grader? Wow I can’t complain any more for the homeworks mine has to do… lots less let me tell you. She is a little genius anyway and loves to do it… still take a lot of me being there and helping out. I make her do it while I am finishing dinner, that way she has the rest of the day to play and she is not tired…. I don’t remember having so much homework when I was in 1st grade.. or any at all…. who knows, it has been so long ago 🙂

    Reply
  8. Jeannie

    i agree…school work is killing me. math is the problem. last week i needed a refresher course on probability and how many ways i could take out 3 different colored marbles. my daughter’s 3rd grade class found 6 ways and i’m convinced there are 10.

    Reply
  9. Debbie York

    Homework…first grade? You have got to be kidding me! A little practice reading and some spelling words on Thurs. night-that should be IT! I don’t care what other countries are doing. School is important but so is being a child. Now I’ll get off my soapbox before I fall off.
    Debbie

    Reply
  10. Jen

    Yeah, what is it with young kids having so much homework!? My son brings home all this work (he’s 6) and it’s much the same as you mentioned. Trudging through mud to get him to do it. What happened to the days of just coming home and playing until bedtime?

    Reply
  11. Cher

    Oh, just let her fail or hand in nothin’! When all the parents quit pushing the kids to do the homework, the teacher will get the idea and give ‘em less. And if all the other kids aren’t having a problem finishing their work, peer pressure will kick your kid into high gear. Either way, you’ll be a winner because the kid, like water, will find her own level.

    My method of helping my kids with homework was always to hover in the next room, available for questions or spelling drills yet far enough away that the kids couldn’t see the sexy cover of the romance novel I was reading. Somehow they all finished public school and went on to college. I don’t know how…I was hovering in the next room!

    The Texas Woman

    Reply
  12. nozkidz

    I must say, I can’t remember homework being that much torture to me when I was young. Perhaps what is lacking is her enthusiasm for learning. Perhaps she needs a little ‘ignition’ to help her get motivated.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

