Rustic Potato & Sausage Stew

Several weeks ago I tried a great new recipe that included white beans and sausage.  Everyone in my family enjoyed it; however, everyone had an opinion on how I could improve on the dish.  After pooling ideas and tweaking ingredients, I’ve developed a dish that my entire family enjoys, even the FringeKids.

This new dish shares little similarity with the original recipe, but it’s a keeper.

Ingredients

1 tbs. butter, 5 small red potatoes, 3 carrots (chopped),  1 bag spinach, 7 cloves garlic, 3 c. chicken broth, 1/2 c. white wine (optional), 1 can (14.5 oz) diced tomato, 1 can small white beans, 1 pack (6 links) hot turkey sausage, 3 tsp. basil, salt & pepper to taste

Preparation Instructions

Precook sausage in water for about 15 minutes.

picture1sausage

While sausage is cooking, chop carrots and slice potatoes.

2choppedcarrots

I suggest a food chopper unless you’re a culinary queen or king and dice by hand without chopping off the tips of your fingers.  I stick to the food chopper.

5-slice-potatoe

In a large non-stick skillet melt your butter.  Add chicken broth, wine, carrots, potatoes.  Mince or press your fresh garlic.

3garlic

With this much garlic in your system, you’ll not only be a germ fighting machine, but you’ll repel mosquitoes.

6inpot

Ok, I don’t know if the mosquito thing is true, but you will repel friends and enemies alike.

Go ahead and add your diced tomatoes.

7sea-salt

Salt and pepper to taste.  I like to use sea salt because it makes me feel worldly, in a cosmopolitan sort of way.

Hey, if you want to be mundane and use table salt, go right ahead!

Add your basil and stir.  Did I mention you need a large skillet?  Because you DO.

8-basil

Slice your sausage into bite-size pieces and add to pot.  Add your rinsed and drained white beans also.

9-beans

Bring to a boil and let simmer, uncovered, until all the veggies are soft and the sausage is fully cooked.  (about 15 minutes)

10-cooking

Some of your liquid will cook off and your entire house will begin to smell delicious.  Dogs, cats, friends, and neighbors will follow the scent to your front door.

Make sure it’s locked!

11-spinach

Add your rinsed spinach slowly.  If you add it all at once, it won’t fit in the pot.  Trust me.  Sprinkle with about a tsp. of flour to thicken the sauce.  Stir and simmer for a 2-3 more minutes.

12-flour

Dish up a healthy portion and enjoy.

13-finished-plate

It’s filling and relatively healthy.  It also tastes better than it looks.

I just noticed that this pictures looks scarily similar to v*m*t…I can’t even bring myself to type the word after I’ve just shared a meal with you.

Sorry for my lack of photographic skills.  You’ll have to take my word on the taste.

For more great recipes, go visit 2nd cup of coffee.

And don’t forget to visit the Homemaking Link-Up over at Raising Homemakers.  Thanks and enjoy!

21 thoughts on “Rustic Potato & Sausage Stew

  1. johncmaxwell

    Looks good. I might have to put in a request with the chef for it next week. 😉

    I like your running commentary between steps. NOW I know why none of us ever get bitten by mosquitos. Charlie believes there’s no such thing as too much garlic.

    Reply
  2. robinaltman

    That looks totally yummy! I’m trying it this weekend. I’ll give you an update if I follow through with this plan, and don’t chicken out and order McDonald’s.

    Reply
  3. Evergreen

    My dear, GARLIC ROCKS!!! And, if someone is sharing that meal with you, then you’ll both smell like garlic, so who cares!!!!! Can you tell I absolutely LOVE garlic.

    Looks good!!!!! You have nice color variety there too!!!!

    Reply
  4. Nina in Portugal

    Looks really yummy to me….guess I like all those dishes that end up looking like v*m*t.

    So…should I throw out the first recipe and go with this one instead…after it’s been ‘tweeked’?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

