A Tibetan in West Virginia

In the last forty-eight hours, I’ve gotten less sleep than an insomniac, traveled through five states, and met a nephew of the Dalai Lama. 

I’m behind on sleep, laundry, and homework.  I look like I’m in need of a shower, comb, and a nap.  I’m waiting for FringePup to return home from prison, also known as a kennel in some areas of our country.  AND I’m exhausted, but will look like a sparkling happy mommy at school this afternoon.  FringeKid is performing today with her class and it will be the highlight of her year, I’m sure.

Notice how sleep is a reoccurring theme?

We are driving through the mountains of West Virginia (think ginormous roller coasters) on Tuesday afternoon and I see this man walking down the side of the highway like a live billboard.  His sign says something about freeing Tibet, so you know I HAD to stop and chat.

I wasn’t sure if this was just a ‘crazy’ on the loose in wild and free West Virginia or if he was actually a sane individual demonstrating his right to freedom of speech.  Armed with camera in hand, I talked FringeMan into pulling off the highway so I could jump out of the car and go running down the hill to meet Jigme. 

I’m sure by this point he thought I was a ‘crazy’ on the loose.

jigmetibet

It seems Jigme is a perfectly normal and wonderfully nice individual, nephew of the Dalai Lama, who is walking from Indianapolis, Indiana to New York.  He cause is a FREE Tibet.  Jigme will walk approximately 900 miles in eight weeks.You can visit Jigme at http://ambassadorsforworldpeace.org/wordpress/.

You may even see my tired face on his blog over the next few days.  Leave Jigme a comment and encourage him on his walk. 

jigmeandme

I once knew missionaries with a heart for Tibet, only they couldn’t enter the country.  Now China has closed Tibet even to tourists.  These missionaries went to nearby Nepal and lost their entire family in a plane crash – mom, dad, and several blond haired, blued eyed children.

We take our freedom for granted.

23 thoughts on “A Tibetan in West Virginia

  1. Janet

    I admire you for stopping, don’t know if I would have did that or not. Hope you enjoyed our West Virginia hills, I love them. I wouldn’t know how to drive on a straight, flat road.

    Reply
  2. Pingback: trends watch

  3. Erin

    I think I’ve just learned that you are even more amazing than previously thought. Good on your for jumping out of your car to meet and learn!

    And yes, we do take our freedom forgranted.

    Reply
  4. Mom

    Tricia, I remember the Collins Family too with such fond memories. I know we will see them again one day.
    Nina—their video is awesome. Their Dad helped in the production of the video, a very amazing man of God.

    Reply
  5. LJ

    Nothing can be taken for granted now. If you are angry about what is going on in Washington it is high time you call your representatives and congressmen/senators. Locate a tea party and be involved. Check out http://www.the912project.com and see if you can agree with the principles and values there.

    Thank you for sharing your experience with this courageous man. We all need to find our courage and stand up. We all have a voice, now use it.

    Reply
  6. caprik

    What a cool thing that God had your paths cross! I’m sure it was not random.
    Yes, we do take our freedom for granted. We really have NO idea.
    Glad you are home, safe and sound. If you don’t get a nap, here’s hoping you get to go to bed early!

    Reply
  7. robinaltman

    You’re so great! I love that you had to stop for Jigme. He looks really tired. I’m going to make him a smoothie and drive it to West Virginia. I’m embarrassed to say that I didn’t even know West Virginia was between Indiana and New York. Lucky I’m not marching to free anyone.

    Reply
  8. Cher

    Interesting but we would have passed him by. Besides not having a heart, we pull a 30 foot trailer behind us. Sudden stops and u-turns are not in our vocabulary.

    Plus we’re suspicious creatures. He’s probably the nephew of a serial killer, not the Dalai Lama, and only big, bad FringeMan saved your life!

    Now if he was holding a garage sale sign, that would have been different!

    The Texas Woman

    Reply
  9. Mindy

    I love what David said, because my response was going to be about FringeMan. What a sport he is! And I’m sure he was just as interested. But, from what I hear, not all folks like to turn around on a dime. We both seem to be blessed with U-turning fellas. Love the Jigme story. I’m going to have to follow his journey. Welcome back! ~Mindy

    Reply
  10. Debbie York

    Wow! That is amazing. I’m not easily impressed, but Jigme has just impressed the heck out of me. And you girl, how daring of you to stop, but I’m so glad I did. We do take things for granted and forget that not everyone enjoys those same rights, including myself. Thanks for the reminder! P.S. Please tell me again why we trade with China? Debbie

    Reply
  11. David

    It’s funny the things we just HAVE to stop for! As for me, I pull u-turns for antique stores, garage sales and thrift stores. I don’t mind it at all and I bet FringeMan doesn’t either. That’s a fascinating story about Jigme! Hope you get some good rest!

    Reply
  12. Steph at the Red Clay Diaries

    Leave it up to you to drive on the one highway where this guy was walking. AND to have the presence of mind to jump out and take his picture!

    Thanks for sharing that. We do have it way easier than just about anyone else in the world.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

