An Oink & A Prayer

I wasn’t going to do it.  I didn’t want to do it, but I feel like I’ve gotta do it.
funny_pig

I’m going to talk about the the Swine Flu, H1N1.  Where do they come up with these letter/number combinations?  I like the sounds of Swine Flu better.  This new strain of flu gives us all something to oink about.  Since nuts are now presumably safe to eat and we’re not at risk of killing our kids with a PB&J sandwich, we need something to frighten us.

Maybe it’s because we were raised on thrillers, I don’t know.  I do know that as Americans, we thrive on fear.  We clean our toilets, hands, and dishes with antibacterial soaps.  We buy enough vitamins to grow strong bones and healthy nails.  We wash our vegetables, meats, and hands before eating; however, we still panic at the first sign of diarrhea or mucus.  Are we all a bunch of germaphobes?

The media is consistently giving us a reason to live in fear.  I can run into my home lock my door, tape my windows shut, and strap a gas mask onto my face, but that doesn’t sound like living to me.  I much rather wash my hands, take vitamins, and pray I don’t get sick.  I already got the regular strain of flu once this season and it’s estimated that 36,000 people die of the regular flu every year. 

Does that statistic concern you?  Did you get a flu shot this year?

Probably not.  We don’t even blink at getting the flu unless we’re talking about the elderly, very young, or immune compromised.  So, why are we freaking out?

I’m not suggesting that we go kiss a pig, but should we put our lives on hold for the next month, two, maybe three until this virus runs its’ course?

Please understand that I don’t want to make light of a serious concern and I definitely don’t want to get the flu again, swine, bird, or any other variety.  I pray all the infected people recover quickly and that the virus gets weaker instead of stronger.  I just don’t want to be consumed with the “what-ifs” of life.

I’ve wasted too much of my young life worrying about things that never transpire. 

I try to remind myself of God’s words when he says, “For God hath not given us the spirit of fear; but of power, and of love, and of a sound mind.”  2 Timothy 1:7

I want to have a sound mind, not one crippled by fear of my health, future, or finances.

What do you think?  How much do you fear this flu?

Praying you stay healthy,

26 thoughts on “An Oink & A Prayer

  1. Tulip's Mom

    I was in Istanbul Turkey, a developing country, when H1N1 hit the news. If you’re unfortunate enough to catch this flu, there’s only one medicine that might help if you get a bad case: Tamiflu. So, since I was in Turkey with Turkish medical care, rather than at home with the “first world” care I could get there, what did I do? I walked a block down the street to the closest of the many pharmacies in Istanbul and bought enough Tamiflu for my husband and me, just in case …

    Now, why should I be able to buy Tamiflu in Turkey, without a prescription, when it’s not available in the US, anywhere, at any price? Who makes these decisions — the doctors? The drug companies? The government?

    Reply
  2. elizabeth channel

    I did buy a homeopathic tincture designed to bolster my children’s immune system, but one of the children dropped it on the tile floor and it shattered.

    I’m not so broken up about it…

    Reply
  3. caprik

    I did not get a flu shot and I haven’t thought about it much. I typically don’t deal with something unless I have to. It’s just my way.

    Reply
  4. Shannan

    To me, the best thing about this swine flu is that it keeps reminding me of the great band, One Bad Pig, and their not-exactly-a-hit, “Swine Flew”. So random, I know. Still, every time I hear it, that’s what I think of!

    And no, I’m really not worried about it…

    Reply
  5. Merryheart

    The Lord is my God, what can man do to me?

    The worst that can happen to me is the best thing that can happen to me. If I die, I go to be with my Lord.

    That said, I believe the Lord wants us to take care of this tent the best that we can–yet without fear. We have masks, hand sanitizer, extra food, vitamins and homeopathic flu remedies. Flu shots have their own risks and are useless anyway with this particular strain, popularly known as swine flu.

    This particular H1N1, may be worse than regular flus in severity and virulence. That is, the symptoms may be more severe and it may be harder for our immune systems to overcome. What the news media does not mention, is that this could well be a bio-engineered virus. Why is there no infected herd to point to as the source? “This strain appears to be a subtype not seen before in humans or pigs, with genetic material from pigs, birds and humans.” Excuse me? Is that “evolution?” I don’t think so….

    At any rate, we are told, our immune systems will likely offer no protection whatsoever from this nasty, as it has not been encountered before. If anything, I suspect the media are underplaying it. The 1918 pandemic killed more people by mid-1919 than any other disease in a similar period in the history of the world.

    We don’t want to offend Mexico by closing the border–what? They have practically closed down the country! Would this offend them?

    Be sure that you trust in Jesus. May God have mercy on our souls.

    Blessings,
    Merryheart@Free’n’Well

    Reply
  6. Debbie York

    I just had to come back and add some real wisdom to all of this. Ft. Worth closed their schools until further notice because of the flu outbreak, BUT Mayfest 2009 will continue as planned this weekend. WHEW!!! I feel so much better knowing the kids and parents have something to do while not in school. Debbie

    Reply
  7. Jenn Calling Home

    My sentiments exactly. And it’s not like we don’t already have enough to worry about!! It’s easy to get caught up in all the hype, but I keep going back to Jeremiah 29:11 and how God is good. My goal is to keep trusting in Him and not focusing on my fears.

    Reply
  8. Hat Chick

    Amen Texas Woman……nothing like a pandemic to strengthen the government’s position on health care. I’m not a radical, but if the US is really concerned about spreading the flu, close the US borders. Oh no, wait, we stopped the high school sports teams from spreading it, so we’re covered…..yeah…right.

    Reply
  9. Debbie York

    Funny you should ask if anyone got a flu shot. I never ever get them, but this January my doctor talked me into it. C.D. thought I was crazy since flu season was just about over, but I just thought what the heck. When Jenn went into the hospital, the flu hit our area hard. I never even got a sniffle(and I was at the hospital day and night). I knew then that I was in God’s care, hence the shot, hence no sniffles! He had already taken control and that’s how I feel about this latest strain. I’ll use some common sense and let God handle everything else. BTW, I’m barely watching TV now…I do think everything is over-hyped due to a lack of “newsworthy” stories.
    One other point, sometimes common sense has to be mandated when some seem to lack it. Debbie

    Reply
  10. LaskiGal

    I’m cautious . . . and I have a healthy dose of concern when necessary. I just won’t let it paralyze me or run my life . . . so I get where you are coming from wholeheartedly.

    Panic never does anyone any good . . . but a little bottle of Purell might 🙂

    Reply
  11. Mama Belle

    I have a similar post for tomorrow. I was cool with everything until a school one street over from my girls’ school was closed down for the next 2 days due to flu (not sure which type yet).

    But, we can’t live in fear. God is bigger than some pig flu.

    Reply
  12. robinaltman

    I can’t stress out over “maybe’s”. Or maybe I should. Ho. Ho. Ho. I very much agree with you about the swine flu. Reasonable precautions are fine, but the coverage I read sounds like fear mongering. I especially resent scaring kids.

    Reply
  13. Mel

    While i am not hysterical about the Swine Flu sorry I cannot bring myself to call it the R2D2 flu, I do think that everyday precautions are a good thing…however I also think we anti-bactrial ourselves too much (just my humble opinion). I did get the flu last year and well it turned into pnemonia but that is the first time in decades I had gotten it…

    I too look at the verse and know indeed We are not to have a spirit of Fear, I like living that way much better. God and common sense 🙂

    Reply
  14. David

    I think you’re probably right. But our generation has never lived through a worldwide pandemic, so it’s kind of hard for me to know whether we are over reacting. In 1918, 50 million people died of complications of the flu. That’s nothing to sneeze at! (Pun intended.) And that flu strain (also H1N1) was genetically very similar to the swine flu.

    Granted, we have drugs to fight those complications now that they didn’t have then. So , even if this flu were as wide-spread, I wouldn’t expect as many deaths. Still, I think some of the precautions are fairly reasonable.

    Here in Texas, UIL athletic competition has been put on hold so that bus loads of students aren’t traveling the state spreading the flu from school district to school district. Over reaction? I really don’t know. Maybe. Then again, if it saves a few lives, maybe not.

    I guess all we can do is make the best decisions we know how to make today and then we trust God for our tomorrows. Same as always, right? 🙂

    Reply
  15. Jo@Mylestones

    We were just talking about this over dinner. Hubs explained why this is potentially a bigger deal then the normal flu, talked about risks, etc.. Then he shared that there was some concern that the bird flu and swine flu might combine, and that the CDC expected this to happen when pigs fly.
    So, I’m with you….no need to freak out or panic. Just keep doing the things we ought, stay informed and keep a sense of humor. Because laughter is the still the best medicine, right?

    Reply
  16. Pingback: An Oink & A Prayer

  17. Pingback: An Oink & A Prayer | Your Health..

  18. Kristina

    I actually am in the process of doing a post about this for tomorrow.

    And honestly, I am probably going to die of anything that the news talks about, because I could so care less about anything. SARS, anthrax, killer bees. So overhyped!

    Reply
  19. swinefluwatch

    You have a very healthy (scuse the pun) approach to the whole swine flu indaba…it’s easy to buy in to the sometimes very compelling information out in the blogosphere, but as you say, the regular influenza virus kills a lot of people every year, and nobody bats an eyelid. I’m not saying we should be careless, but the laager mentality isn’t a workable solution either.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

