A Woman & Her Wrinkles

FringeKid and I sat snuggled on the couch watching one of those home makeover shows while she held her hand above her head to stem the flow of blood.   Somehow she managed to slam her finger in her brother’s door and tore a chunk flesh off. 

Sorry, too much information for the weak of heart or stomach.

A young woman and her boyfriend were featured on this makeover show and FringeKid marveled at this woman’s youth. 

“She must be in her 20’s.”  A convinced FringeKid declared.

When I asked her why, she told me that “if she was in her 30’s, she’d have wrinkles.”

Wrinkles at 30!  Attempting to disprove her wrinkle/age theory, I had a momentary lapse of sanity and admitted that I was in my 30’s.

“I don’t have wrinkles and I’m in my 30’s!”  Insisted I.

“Well, you know your mouth?  You have those little lines….” 

She droned on; however, I saw nothing.  My crushed spirit melted into a puddle as I stood before the bathroom mirror looking for lines.

“I love you anyway.”  She comforted in a way only a child can. 

First they stomp on your self-esteem while writing your epitaph; then they assure their unconditional love.

100_3322

The Wash Woman Who Couldn’t Iron Out Her Wrinkles

That’s Me

 

21 thoughts on “A Woman & Her Wrinkles

  1. Pingback: Missing in Action « the domestic fringe

  2. Lois Lane II

    Oh, that is too funny! My mom was an “older” mom (she had me, her first and only, when she was 34), and she would tease her younger friends by telling me that she was 29 — and then I would tell her friends that, and ARGUE with them when they disagreed with me, lol!!

    Reply
  3. Debbie York

    This is why I don’t wear my glasses when I’m putting on my makeup. It’s always a shock when i see myself in photos and I wonder who is that woman with her face sliding south…fast!
    BTW, who the heck bought Cher a thesaurus? I had to go look up empyreal!
    Debbie

    Reply
  4. Erin

    THAT is a very cool photo, and those are very cool wrinkles. Haven’t you heard, wrinkles are cool now.

    I’m 38, almost 39. I’m full of ’em and I’m gonna love ’em.

    Reply
  5. Jo@Mylestones

    I feel your pain. At the park my son admonished me as I sat on a swing…”Mom, I think you’re too old for this.” Watch it, kid!!
    At least they love us, wrinkles and all.!

    Reply
  6. Pam

    Enjoy the laughs with your daughter. They grow too quickly. Then remind her about the wrinkles on HER 30th birthday.

    Reply
  7. Cher

    That is absolutely the best photo that you’ve posted! It is wonderful with the ethereal qualities and empyreal radiance of mother and missy side by side. Nice job.

    But I hope you pushed her into the water for pointing out your wrinkles! Just remember, kids lie, exaggerate, and manipulate. They can’t help themselves.

    The Texas Woman

    Reply
  8. Capri Kel

    They always know just what to say, don’t they?

    One time, while waiting in line at the deli, one of the kids patted my several months post baby belly and stated LOUDLY and lovingly, “Mama, it looks like you still got a baby in there”.
    Thank you so much.

    Reply
  9. Georgie

    That is so funny. Five years ago I pointed out a silver hair of my mom’s and she cried, even when I told her that silver was also a precious metal (I tried to say that her marks of wisdom were precious, too. Didn’t work). I don’t mention those sorts of things anymore.

    Reply
  10. robinaltman

    Oh, dear – you walked right into that one, my friend. I find that my kids have laser vision when it comes to my physical flaws. Too bad they can’t laser off my imperfections.

    Reply
  11. Cathy

    Come come girls, try being 51! That’s why I keep gaining weight hoping it will stretch the wrinkles out!! But nooooo, now I just have fat wrinkles!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

