The Races

Although I’ve watched Cars at least a hundred times and I think Lighting McQueen is adorable, I’m not really a fan of the races.

100_3653

All that changed tonight. 

I am a new person. 

I am a race fan.

I want to feel the wind blow through my hair and hear the buzz of the tires as they spin faster than the whisk on my Kitchen Aide.

I want to win!

100_3639

My kids were involved in this little boxcar race tonight and I felt good about our cars until they put my daughter’s sparkling jewel on the digital scale.

I almost had the same feeling of hopeless despair as when I stepped on my scale this morning.  The kind of despair that makes you want to head right for the highest bridge and JUMP!

Not really.  If you’ve ever seen me on a step ladder, you’d know I’d never jump.  I couldn’t even get close enough to the edge to make my mother nervous.

My car wasn’t heavy enough!  Can you believe it?  It’s the same problem I had when I got on the scale.

HAAAAHAAHAAAHAAAHAA…

Anyway, I painted that little car with with 2 coats of nail-polish, added little flower decals, and top coated the whole thing with a clear coat infused with glitter.  I love this car!

I gave it a manicure and pedicure.  It’s seen more polish than my nails have in the last 6 months.

I had to ruin it with hot glue and weights to ensure a 5oz weight.  Next year I’m buying a digital scale, melting metal, and greasing my wheels.

100_3657

Next year I want to win. 

I mean, I want my kids to win, but you knew that.  Didn’t you?

100_3645

Not even FringeBoy’s gator car stood a chance.

We’ve got ginormous “L’s” tattooed on our foreheads.

**LOSERS**

100_3660

This was my favorite car.  Now you’d think I would’ve come up with that candy bar design.

No, I’m a **LOSER**.

Next year we will not be outdone.  If it takes me the entire winter, I’m going to engineer a cute, fast car.  By the way, cute is as important as fast.

I’m sure you knew that already.

You ever make one of these boxcars?  Any advice for a mommy who really wants to win?

17 thoughts on “The Races

  1. Laura

    my daughter won and she beamed when she brought her trophy to show n tell the next day.
    her trick (i mean her daddy’s trick) is he took the axels out of the wheels and polished them with a drill and sandpaper. i rolled my eyes while he buffed away, but i guess this is what you get when you marry and engineer. 🙂

    Reply
  2. Erin

    HA! This so reminds me of my husband making, um, I mean helping my daughter make her boxcar last year. He, I mean, she was so happy when he, I mean, she won!

    Reply
  3. sherri

    No advice, due to my limited artistic ability, but I believe in you (I mean your children). I declare you ( I mean, them) as next year’s winner!

    Reply
  4. Hat Chick

    Derby cars are a sore subject here. Big Daddy works for WEEKS with Action on his. The rules mysteriously change every year, and sometimes even during the competition….graphite, no graphite…..anyway, I love the gator and the chocolate bar.

    Reply
  5. Evergreen

    Nice cars!!! Despite the “L” on your foreheads, the cars came out great!

    Now, was that Hershey car REAL CHOCOLATE???

    And YOU talk about binging??!!!!

    Reply
  6. Jo@Mylestones

    I’m thinking you should have just taken a chunk from that Hershey’s car and stored it in the trunk of your razzle dazzle pink car. Let’s try not to get to metaphorical about that suggestion, though. 🙂

    Reply
  7. David

    Yes, I have helped build pinewood derby cars in my time. At least five with my son. And probably about that many when I was a cub scout myself. The nails sometimes have a ridge on them near the head. Be sure to polish that down until the steel is ultra-slick like a mirror. Make sure the plastic wheels are perfectly round and without any burs. If you find the right size bit, you can put them in a dremel tool and spin them against 0000 steel wool. You don’t want any resistence. Also… no grease on the wheels. Use graphite instead. My son won a first one year and third place another. The competition is stiff! NASCAR has nothing on pinewood!

    Reply
  8. Carin

    silly scales anyways! Wouldn’t it be great to not weigh enough, I’d take that and have an L on my head any day.

    They cars still looked great and I be it was fun.

    Reply
  9. Debbie York

    That would be a negatory, good buddy. Being the Nascar nuts my guys are, C.D. had to enroll Joey in quarter midgets. Yeah, you heard me…a 7 year old driving a little car around a race track! I would have so preferred that they went your route.
    But don’t let the competing bug bite you too hard. I spent a month making him a leather jacket with his number on it and nearly destroyed the house and all its inhabitants in the process!
    Racing in all forms is addictive. Be scared, my friend, be very scared!
    Debbie

    Reply
  10. robinaltman

    Your cars both look great! And as Billy Crystal would say, “It’s better to look good than to feel good.” He probably never had diarrhea, though.

    I digress. You’re all winners in my book! 🙂

    Reply
  11. elizabeth channel

    A sore spot at the Channel home, too. We modified the plastic wheels–not in the rule book three years ago, but still determined a violation. They let us race anyway and we still LOST!

    That car sits on top of my computer armoire…mocking…mocking.

    I feel your pain.

    Reply
  12. Mindy

    When I was in 7th grade, the olympics were happening, and all the guys were making these cool cars out of rubber erasers with staples on the bottom. Awwww…such a flashback! ~Mindy

    Reply
  13. Cher

    My boys did those cars. I remember they got to use the drill (under supervision) and put quarters or washers or something in the holes to make them heavier. The scouts had the scale but that was way before digital. In fact, I think it was before electricity and the drill was hand powered!

    The Texas Woman

    Reply

Leave a Reply

