A Mother Knows or A Mother’s Nose

In honor of Mother’s Day, I’m going to talk about milk – specifically spoiled milk. 

Isn’t that what a mother’s life is all about anyway.  We suckle our babies, we pour gallons into cereal bowls, and we give white, frothy advice.

How many times has your mother told you not to “cry over spilled milk?”

In order for our children to grow strong bones and healthy teeth, we are sure to give our kids several glasses of milk daily.  Our husbands run to the corner market at all hours of the night to pick up milk, and it’s really the only beverage  American households cannot seem to live without. 

Milk is the basis of our very existence.  The cow should be our symbol of fertility.

100_3667

So for a mother like myself, the date on a carton of milk is crucial to the health and well-being of herfamily.  Although a mother always knows, a mother cannot always trust her nose.  Let’s just say that a lifetime of repeated sinus infections has compromised my ability to smell and taste.

Doesn’t that make you want to try all the recipes I’ve posted?

I remember sitting at my desk eating a yogurt when a guy I worked with came over and immediately became disgusted by my choice of food.  He grabbed the container out of my hand, tasted it, and threw it into the trash. 

What?

That was my lunch!

You see, I’ve probably built up an immunity to spoiled dairy because I just can’t taste or smell well enough to know if I’m eating curdled milk.

All that to say the date on a carton of milk is important to me.  Actually it’s more important to my kids.  The thing that I find amazing is that, according to my gallon, milk spoils faster in New York City than anywhere else in America.  

Notice the two “Sell by” dates in the picture above. 

Why?

What if you live on the edge of Queens and Long Island?  For those of you not in NY, Queens is part of NYC and Long Island is a suburb.  Technically the people living across the street will have an extra SIX DAYS to drink their milk. 

Is that fair?

cows in nycI’m not certain, but I think there may be a cow conspiracy in NYC.

HAVE A HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY!

Drink some milk.

21 thoughts on “A Mother Knows or A Mother’s Nose

  1. Merryheart

    NYC doesn’t believe milk lasts as long as the suburbs do. Maybe it doesn’t last as long because it’s stuck in traffic on asphalt surrounded by concrete!

    Survivalmaster and I look for the stuff on the discount rack about to expire. We like antiques. But we don’t drink milk from cows.

    Speaking of cows, I love the photo you found of the displaced, homeless blanket cows. Too funny!

    Reply
  2. Cher

    Congrats on your win. I bet you were excited. Great title on the post! IT Guy and I are big milk drinkers and date checkers!

    The Texas Woman

    Reply
  3. robinaltman

    I’m always “poo poo’ing” expiration dates. The boys ask, “Is this OK?”, I smell it, and say, “It’s fine.” Once Kevin confronted me on this by asking, “Do you really know what you’re talking about?”. The nerve!!!! Of course I don’t.

    Reply
  4. acowboyphoto

    Very Funny! I’m glad I found your blog! I always check the expiration date on milk….bad experience in the past! LOL
    Michelle

    Reply
  5. Hat Chick

    I stopped by P-Dub and saw you won the grill! Awesome!

    I always smell the milk before I drink it. My mother puts ice in her milk to make sure it doesn’t spoil while she’s drinking it.

    Reply
  6. Cathi

    I came here to see if you knew you had won the grill (from the link at PW) nothing like a perfect
    stranger saying congrats , right ? right ? 🙂

    Then I read your black cloud, and by virtue
    of the l8,000 plus comments left to win that
    grill, I’d say – buy a lottery ticket -there is
    definitely sunshine in your future – and
    a really cool bbq 🙂 enjoy!

    Reply
  7. sewfordough

    OMG, I am about to ‘Ralph’ from the idea of drinking spoiled milk! That’s amazing you can’t smell it or taste it. I am totally the opposite and wish I had an iron stomach like yours.

    Congrats on winning the grill today. That is awesome. I was hoping to win it so I could give it to a young friend and her husband who don’t have any money. But, maybe I’ll jsut go buy them one cuz he said he really wants one.

    Love your blog fellow WordPress blogger!

    Have a great Mother’s Day!

    Linda

    http://www.sewfordough.wordpress.com

    Reply
  8. Mama Belle

    I’m a freak about expiration dates. My husband thinks I’m crazy and always says “that’s the use by date” and “if it doesn’t smell bad, it’s still good.” Whatever.

    Happy Mother’s Day!

    Reply
  9. Carrie

    Hey! Congratulations (and Happy Mother’s Day) to you too!! I haven’t won anything since I was 4 years old and that was a coloring contest!!

    Reply
  10. twobarkingdogs

    That is funny! What if you buy the milk in NYC and carry it to Queens, does it go sour all of a sudden?

    (( congrats 2u on your win at PW. ))

    Reply

Leave a Reply

