New York: A Love/Hate Relationship

New York is one of those cities that you love to hate and hate to love.100_3795

If you visit the city, you’ll probably want to go to The Empire State Building, take a walk in Central Park, visit a museum or two, tour the city on a double decker bus, pay street vendors too much for cheesy souvenirs, spend a few hour at the South Street Seaport, and take a ferry ride over to Ellis Island to trace your great-grandparents arrival in America. 

100_3798 Let me give you some insider’s advice.  Buy a picture book!

 100_3106

No, there’s nothing like walking in the streets of Manhattan.  I’m convinced there’s no other city like it in the world.

I wouldn’t mind the opportunity to prove that statement either.  Paris, London, Rome, here I come!

100_3112

In my dreams.  I’ll have to settle for picture books of those cities.

There’s almost as much to love about New York as there is to hate about the city.  I’ll focus on the love part for today because I’m nice like that. 

Listen up!

THE number one thing to love about New York is ……

100_3108

THE FOOD!

Come back tomorrow and we’ll talk food, New York style.  Our featured delicacy will be dirty water dogs.  I know you’re all interested in those.  Let’s face it, who wouldn’t be.  Once you’ve tried a dirty water dog, no Oscar Myer wiener will do.

Have you visited New York?

28 thoughts on “New York: A Love/Hate Relationship

  1. Mama Belle

    Now you’re concerning me. You know we visit in December. I want to see it all. You need to give me the inside scoop and what to do and not do at that time of year.

    Reply
  2. robinaltman

    Adam’s family is from NYC, so we go a lot. His brother and his wife own a very cool townhouse in Harlem, and we stay with them. I love walking around the city. There’s so much energy! My younger son thinks it looks like it’s peopled by criminals. He’s a sheltered little bugger.

    Reply
  3. Sara

    Back in Feb with my sister, her daughter and my oldest. Had a great time.
    Visit my website and click on the feb. archives to read the funniest thing that happened while we were there.

    Reply
  4. Sara

    Back in Feb with my sister, her daughter and my oldest. Had a great time.
    Visit by website and click on the feb. archives to read the funniest thing that happened while we were there.

    Reply
  5. Nikki

    I LOVE NEW YORK!!! We just had lunch at Tavern on the Green on mother’s day weekend. And went to see Chicago. I couldn’t live in the city…but I sure do love going in for a few days and enjoying it! Give me some Becco’s any day!!!

    Reply
  6. Laura

    a friend is coming to visit me soon and we are going for a day to NYC together, both of us first-timers. could use some tips bigtime – will check your links, thanks FringeGirl!

    Reply
  7. JanMary, N Ireland

    Visited for a few days when I was 16 – and if seemed like I spent the whole time waiting to be mugged! Did Empire State, World Trade Center, Central Park etc.

    So want to go back, and especially visit Ellis Island, not because of my many relatives who arrived there, but because my granny was DEPORTED from there! I would love to find out more about why!

    Reply
  8. danijoy

    I was trying to change my gravitar… do you see my picture?
    anyway guess I am a pinwheel steel.

    Reply
  9. Dani Joy

    Now wait a minute… NYC is only one little part of NY! Everyone thinks of the city when I say I am from there but where I am from is the most beautiful part of NY.
    I do like the city to visit and I am sure it has it´s perks.. Like Spiderman! (oh that´s in my imaginary world)
    Upstate NY is green and lush in the spring and right now the Lilacs are blossoming, and the apple trees! only just a few things I miss about NY.
    I think it´s NY week for me. jeje
    I will be back to reminice about the Food!!

    Reply
  10. jeannie

    i was raised in queens, just 10 mins by car to nyc. everything was so close, that i took it for granted.

    now that i’m in long island, i definitely miss one thing…papaya king…you can get 2 hot dogs and your choice of smoothie for about 2 bucks. you can’t beat that!

    Reply
  11. Pingback: Unteraargau » Blog Archive » 26th Tony Awards

  12. David

    I landed at LaGuardia one time on my way to Vermont. I rented a car and got my Texas hiney out of NYC pretty darn quick. Even having grown up around Dallas, NYC felt cold and even a little intimidating to me. I’m not really big on hustle and bustle. As far as food goes, I already live near the restaurant capital of the world.

    Reply
  13. Amber

    I’ve never been to New York but I’ve always wanted to go.

    When I eventually do make it there I’m totally going to Serendipity. I keep hearing about delicious their desserts are and I MUST have one.

    Reply
  14. Cher

    I went to a photo developing class there a long time ago. Every night we were sent out to take pictures to develop the next day but I never went to the usual haunts. Everybody walks there, all times of the day and night, so that was very photogenic to me. I was also surprised to see so many Texas stuff there – food, outlines of the state, references to the Lone Star, etc. I decided you guys have Texas envy!

    The Texas Woman

    Reply
  15. Evergreen

    There really is no place like NYC! The sights, the sounds, the mad-dashing of the people and yes, THE FOOD!!!

    The restaurants are just amazing!

    Reply
  16. Hat Chick

    I have been several times. I love that I can discover something new EVERY time. It’s never the same experience twice. But I wouldn’t want to live there.

    Reply
  17. Mom

    Don’t let FringeBanker read the next post on Dirty Dogs! He will be wanting one or two to eat on the spot.

    Reply
  18. DJ

    I love visiting New York! I’ve been three times and have had interesting experiences every time. One of my fave moments was eating a hot knish and a Pepsi in the rain after ordering from a street vendor. YUM!
    The Metropolitan Museum could be my home; just gimme a cot to sleep on. I could live there amongst the art and be totally happy.
    The Broadway plays, “Lion King” and “Chicago”are both extraordinary and I finally understood where the phrase “the lullaby of Broadway” comes from: after a night at the theatre, you actually hear the music from the play in your head as you drift off to slumberland…………
    Thanks for reminding me of these memories!
    Love & Laughter
    DJ

    Reply
  19. Debbie York

    Wow, for a minute there I thought I was in downtown Dallas! C.D. and I have always wanted to visit NYC and take in a Broadway show, but I’ve got a feeling it’s a little out of our price range. And I’ve told you I wanted to be a Rockette…I wasn’t kidding…a Rockette or Gwen Verdon. That was my dream. So yes, I am ready for a virtual tour…lead on McDuff!
    Debbie

    Reply

Leave a Reply

