Identity Crisis

I’m having a cyber-related identity crisis.  I don’t where I ‘fit in’ in the world of blogging.  There are mom bloggers, political bloggers, writers working on their books, special interest blogs, adoption blogs, Christian blogs, cooking blogs, and many more.

Everytime I attempt to list my blog on a networking site I begin to panic and resort to playing eeny-meeny-miny-mo.  I breath a sigh of relief when I see the category ‘By State’.  At least I know what state I’m living in. 

When I contemplate my writing, the subject matter I’ve chosen on any given day is as varied as the weather.  I write about life, an inconsistent topic at best.

Sometime I write about my children.

Catching The Big Fish

Lucy in The Bible

When Good Kids Go Bad

Once in a while I write about topics relating to motherhood.

Family Planning & Adoption

Co-Sleeping With Baby & Beyond

Feeding Baby

At times I just write about things I’ve experienced in ‘real life’.  I tell you my stories

Smells of Christmas

Bookstore Blues

Spittin Straight

So today I’m asking for your help.  If you had to pigeon hole The Domestic Fringe into a category, which category would you choose?

The choices are endless aren’t they?

I may be eternally stuck in miscellaneous.

By the way, I added those links for all of you people are bored to tears this weekend.  All NONE of you.  Enjoy your BBQ’S, picnics, family and friends.  I’ll be at Memorial Day ceremonies in my town.  FringeMan is speaking for the Fire Department and The Civic Association.  I do hope it’s a sunny day.

25 thoughts on “Identity Crisis

  1. Shannan

    You defy all categorization. In a good way. 🙂 I have had the same thought about my blog – I can’t imagine confining myself to one particular topic! I’m way too complex for that. 😉

    Reply
  2. robinaltman

    Hmmmm… I like the “Family Life” idea. Or what about “humor”? Or a “mom blog” (whatever that means). Whatever your blog is, I love it! 🙂

    Reply
  3. Mama Belle

    I have a similar dilemma. I’d categorize you in the same category as myself (except a Northernor) … Christian, mommy blogger who blogs about anything and everything.

    Reply
  4. KathyB!

    I think to categorize is to limit yourself. If you had a category you’d have to reject ideas sometimes because they wouldn’t fit.

    I like to think of myself as a life blogger… how’s that?! You can be one, too. If there’s two of us we can start our own category right?!

    Reply
  5. JanMary, N Ireland

    I totally sympathize.

    I started my blog purely for my digi-scrapping.

    Now it is about my faith, family, photography, jewellery, craft, life, recipes, my new kitchen…….

    I also have the location issue too, as being in N Ireland – I am a UK blogger, but some regard my blog as irish. The other day there was a request for UK bloggers, which says if you live in England, please respond – I responded anyway!

    I just make my blog for me, and at a push, I will put it in a family category.

    Reply
  6. Debbie York

    Walk with me. We are in Barnes & Noble and we want to get a book by Erma Bombeck. Now what section would we go to….there she is and you are one the shelf beside her.

    Debboe

    Reply
  7. TCKK

    I don’t know what category you go in, but I know I like to read you! That’s all that matters to me. I don’t want to be bored with the same thing all the time. You are very refreshing because we never know what you’re gonna say but it is usually always entertaining!!!

    Reply
  8. Cher

    Humor, darling. Humor. Yours is a humor blog and that puts you, of course, on the fringe of every category.

    The Texas Woman

    Reply
  9. Steph @Red Clay Diaries

    I’ll tell you what I was told at a conference about my blog category: You’re a memoirist.

    Also, this is what I was told when I had my identity crisis a couple months ago: We read you because we like you. Just keep writing what you want to write, cuz that’s what we want to read. 😉

    Reply
  10. Erin

    I find I have the same problem. I think the categories are all wrong. Quality. That’s where you fit in. Is there a quality category?

    Reply
  11. Pilar

    I am not sure, I guess i would put you in misc, but isn´t that one the best category? who wants to read always about the same stuff. the fun is in variety

    Reply
  12. Ashley

    You are refreshing, funny, happy, interesting. I love that is not always the same. You do not need to be put in a box!

    I really enjoy that you are not just one thing!!!!

    I am trying to get out of my catagory!

    Hugs Ashley

    Reply
  13. caprik

    I know what you mean, I don’t feel like I fit into a catagory either. And all the blogging advice folk seem to think it is uber important!

    All I can say is write about what you want! I’m NO help at all , am I?

    Reply
  14. Cheri

    When you figure out where you belong in blog land then maybe we can figure out where I belong. I feel like you and think I will be in Misc. forever.

    Reply
  15. DJ

    FringeGirl, Don’t sweat it, my friend. Anyone who has any sense knows you’re in a category all your own.
    Don’t these networking sites have “Brilliant Literary Artist” listed anywhere?
    Duh!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

