My Deep, Dark Secrets

Debbie from Talking Trash has given me an assignment.  I am to tell you 10 things about myself.  Now that should be easy, shouldn’t it?

No.  It’s not easy.  You see, I often think I’ve told you everything already.  I’m not that interesting people!  

10 NEW things…not an easy task, but I thought and thought and here goes nothing.

1.  I love OLD houses.  I like when they have metal kitchen cabinets and those giant, old white sinks that weigh 500 pounds.  I like their ‘unique’ rooms and awkward alcoves.  Their solid wooden doors speak words of love to me, and if they have those antique white knobs, I’m in lust.

2.  My favorite museum is the Metropolitan Museum of Art.  I like everything from folk art to abstract and there’s a lot in-between.

3.  I am not a friend of animals.  You wouldn’t have guessed it, would you?  I always speak so lovingly of my dog, Oriana; however, truth be told, I could quite comfortably live pet free for the remainder of my life.  Perhaps it’s because as a child,  I only had a hermit crab for a pet.  It’s hard to bond with a hermit crab.

4.  I graduated high school in 1992 in a class of two.  I was not valedictorian.  Please don’t make me explain.  Please….

5.  While pregnant with my firstborn, I baited black bear in Brownsfield, Maine.

6.  When I was a small child, my neighbors threw bottles from their windows and repeatedly filled my kiddie pool with glass.  I lived surrounded by buildings, so pinpointing the culprit was harder than you may imagine.  Surprisingly I like to swim.

7.  I gave birth to a 9 pound, 8 ounce daughter without an epidural.  I think I deserve some credit for giving birth to a small turkey.

8.  I received my first and only speeding ticket for driving 36 mph.  I’m wild.  In Maine, police are serious about giving speeding tickets.

9.  I am half Portuguese and I do not yet have a mustache.  It’s coming though, I’m convinced.

10.  I can get lost in my backyard.  Maps do not help me and a compass would confuse me.  Never go hiking with me.  We will get forever lost.

I can’t imagine there’s a thing left to find out about me.  If you still want more, read THIS POST or THIS ONE.

So tell me something about YOU! 

Do tell something good.

26 thoughts on “My Deep, Dark Secrets

  1. caprik

    I also want to hear about the NOT valedictorian story!
    Loved your Mom’s comment!

    I cannot think of one thing to tell you about myself. I am boring.

    Reply
  2. Erin

    Baiting bears while pregnant…you would get on just fine up here! I knew I liked you for some reason. Now hurry up and get outta my way! Why you go so slow?

    Reply
  3. Mom

    About # 9 and the facial hair—you were born with lots of it.
    I remember the first time I held you in the hospital, I called my Mother and cried, “oh no, I have a Portugese baby with lots of hair!” But after a few months of gently rubbing your face with warm baby oil, I was able to remove it!!
    Hopefully, it will never grow back.

    Reply
  4. Mama Belle

    I find it hard to believe you were not valedictorian, smarty pants. Who was your classmate …. Bill Gates?

    I graduated one of 7. I, too, was not valedictorian.

    Reply
  5. robinaltman

    Oh, you have to tell the story of your class of 2! Pretty pleeeeeze!!!

    I also had a hermit crab when I was young. His name was Sam. He got pretty big. I brought him to college. He died, and the boys in my dorm chased me around with his dead carcass. Boys! Hmmmph!

    Reply
  6. Evergreen

    Definitely agree with you on the old houses!! I LOVE THEM!! I always look for secret passages when I’m in them…. aaaaaaaaaaaah, maybe some day.

    NEVER would have guessed about how you would like to abstain from all appearance of animals..’ 😉

    I think the only thing I didn’t know was the bottles in your pool.

    As far as not finding your way out of a wet paper bag, you do just fine. I was very impressed when you were up in Maine. Unless you had me completely fooled and it really didn’t take that long to get into town….. 😉

    Reply
  7. jenn

    I’m an old house fan, too. I was deeply sad when we wound up buying a freaking ranch-style house in Maine instead of an awesome 200-year-old farmhouse. Our lot is fantastic, but I’m still pretty bitter about the house.

    Something about me? Despite being a girly-girl, I worked as a butcher two summers while I was in college. The pay was fantastic, and I actually quite enjoyed it….just not enough to make a career out of it. 🙂

    Reply
  8. Debbie York

    Girl, I don’t know which cracked me up…your post or Nikki’s comment! Bear bait..I love it!
    I don’t think it would be wise for you and I to travel together…I am also directionally challenged. Whatever way I’m facing…that’s north.
    Thanks for playing along and for the giggles. I really snorted out loud at some of your “secrets”. I will leave you with one thought….Nair!
    Debbie

    Reply
  9. JanMary, N Ireland

    Great facts 🙂

    I LOVE old houses too, but I have a great sense of direction, unlike my husband. I just need to go somewhere once, and ten years on, I still remember the way.

    A fact about me….tonight when I took our roast chicken out of the oven, I “sampled” a little…. it was hot….it fell…..into my cleavage – ouch! Now there is something not many people know!

    Reply
  10. Mindy

    I want to hear more about your graduation class of 2.

    And, I could come up with random stuff about me all day long. Heck, look at my latest posting for my review of the taste of play-doh. ha!

    ~Mindy

    Reply
  11. Mindy

    I want to hear more about your graduating class of 2.

    Girl, I can come up with random stuff about myself all day long. Look at my latest blog. I mention the flavor of play-doh! Yum!

    ~Mindy

    Reply
  12. Pilar

    #7– You do deserve not a little but a lot of credit. I couldn´t have done it without epidural… I don´t get strong ladies like you that do without it 🙂

    #9– You are too funny. I didn´t know portuguesse woman were big on facial hair 🙂

    Reply
  13. Pilar

    #7– You do deserve not a little but a lot of credit. I couldn´t have done it without epidural… I don´t get strong ladies like you that do without it 🙂

    #9– You are too funny. I didn´t know portuguesse woman were big on facial hair 🙂

    Reply
  14. TCKK

    I love old houses too. When I was a freshman we moved into a house over 100 years old. Loved it. The lady that owned it before us had retired as a school teacher and 1 day she was upstairs and too weak to walk down so she slid down the banister. She was probably in or 70’s or 80’s at the time.

    Reply
  15. Amber

    ~~7. I gave birth to a 9 pound, 8 ounce daughter without an epidural. I think I deserve some credit for giving birth to a small turkey.~~

    I gave birth to a turkey too!!! Except my daughter was 10 pounds 7 ounces. I also had no epidural and I had to have an emergency apisiotomy. 😐 And 37 stitches later we both made it! Woo!

    Reply
  16. Ashley

    I also gave birth to a 9 lb baby that was 21.5 inches long. I did have an epidural and would not be here to post had I not!

    I am really going to have to reconsider taking the last of the drink from now on!

    Ashley

    Reply
  17. Nikki

    Life without pets….now I’m worried about your sanity …. And I think it’s pretty sick to use a pregnant woman as “bait” for bears hehehe Have a great day!

    Reply
  18. KathyB!

    I would like to know more about this business of baiting black bears! It sounds very… Grizzly Adams?!

    I’m afraid you have much better secrets than I!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

