Gone to The Dark Side

I’ve gone to the dark side with just one bottle. 

One little bottle of chemicals can not only burn a hole in your sinuses, but it can also cover the grey and remove all blond stripes in just 10 minutes.  Chemical engineers are geniuses.

It’s been so long since I’ve seen myself with my natural hair color that I actually jumped back from the mirror in surprise.  Since I’m not good with upkeep, I figured going back to my natural color would be best for this era of my life.  As it stood, I had stripes of blond, streaks of grey, and roots that grew deeper than any plant in my garden.  It was time for a change.

Tricia & Odd Friends -PCC

I’m not sure you can pick me out of this starry-eyed lineup. 

Although this was a photograph from college, no drugs or alcohol were used.  People, I’m normally this dorky.  Obviously I found friends as hopelessly foolish as myself.

I am the one with the sunflower sprouting from head.  I told you my roots went deep.

Some think the dark hair makes me look older, but the general consensus has been younger.  I only believe people who tell me I look younger.  Everyone else is partially blind, crazy, or related.

What about you?  Is it time for a hair change?

The winner of the ‘Extreme Pet Carnival’ is Steph from Red Clay Diaries.  I know, I closed the polls an hour early, but it’s my blog and I get to do that.  Besides my mom is on my case to post something new.  She’s worse than a boss.  She forgets that I don’t get paid to blog and I have a life.  Steph, please email me your mailing address.  Congrats!

The summer reading list is also up.  You can find the link at the top of the page.  If you don’t see your recommendation listed yet, it’s because this is taking me a LONG time.  It’ll get there…along with the check that’s in the mail. 

No, really.  I’m still working on completing the summer book list.  I hope it proves helpful.

27 thoughts on “Gone to The Dark Side

  1. Robin

    First time I have seen this blog…loving it! I just went brunette after years of being blonde. One thing I noted in your post, you mentioned that the hair dye is “chemicals.” You couldn’t be more right! Hair dye has some dangerous side effects…I went to my salon and got organic hair color. No smell, no ammonia, just beautiful healthy color. Give it a try sometime. :o)

    Reply
  2. Kara-Noel

    I just got a cut too and I feel great! I went a bit darker too. I usually dye my hair every 6 months or so. No grey yet… I just start to feel a little dull and decide to brighten things up with a fresh color 🙂

    Reply
  3. robinaltman

    That college picture rocks! I have really dark brown, almost black hair, and after my second son was born, I had the bright idea to die my hair blond and return to work that way. You cannot believe how horrible I looked. I drove quickly home to show Adam, we cracked up, and then I returned to the salon to have them cover the awful mess back up. Yeesh.

    Reply
  4. Mama Belle

    I wish I could just go back to dark hair, but I have the genetic of thinning hair to not allow that. Otherwise, I’d so be there. This highlighting upkeep is a pain in the you know what.

    Reply
  5. Erin

    I’ve been about every colour including a couple goofs…purple and green. Apparently you shouldn’t mix colours. I’m staying red although my natural WAS brown, and now is grey.

    Reply
  6. Cher

    There’s not enough bottles in the world to cover my platinum hair! I’d have a target on my crown in about 20 minutes! I prefer to think that God overstreaked my hair.

    The Texas Woman

    Reply
  7. Mindy

    I love this pic! It reminds me of my college days!

    And indeed, I go darker, to cover my grays, too. It’s a fun look in the winter. Very contrasting.

    ~Mindy

    Reply
  8. Steph at the Red Clay Diaries

    I’m honored to accept this award on behalf of Voodoo Dobermans everywhere.

    And I totally expect plane tix w the musum tix.

    As for hair… I just went back to my natural color too. After blond last summer and dark brown over winter. Now I’m my old mousy brown self. Now with GRAY!

    Reply
  9. Rachel

    I haven’t seen my natural hair color since I was 16. So I don’t even know anymore.

    I’m guessing by the prominence of sunflowers in the above pic, this had to have been taken mid-90s. Am I right? And are you the one on the left? 🙂

    I need to add you as a FB friend. 🙂

    Reply
  10. jenn

    Aw, how cute are you in that picture! I’ve recently gone back to full-on brunette as well, after getting sick of trying keep up with highlights, lowlights, and encroaching gray. Still…thank goodness for hair dye.

    Reply
  11. Jessica

    I’ve been red, blonde, brunette and highlighted and now low lighted with about 5 gray hairs and that is the way it’s going to stay (well it better as far as the gray goes)

    Reply
  12. caprik

    Mrs. Schmenkman just highlighted me last month. Loving it so far. I still have to keep up with the new roots though. NOBODY wants to see that mess, including me!

    I agree with those above, need a current picture of the new you.

    Reply
  13. pilar stark

    Easy is always better. I thought about doing the same because I always wait so long that my hair end up looking like a flag with the roots and the rest of my hair but…. I just love them so much!

    I just have to make a point to try to keep it up better 🙂

    Reply
  14. Kristina

    I was a blonde for many years, and went back to brunette several years ago because I was poor and couldn’t maintain the upkeep. I will never go back! I do have blonde highlights though, and she went a little crazy last time and added a few too many, so now my roots are ridiculous.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

