Beans & Rice – Vegetarian

Do we ever really try the recipes we see on blogs?

I can only speak for myself and I have tried several that I would make more than once.  Whether we try them or not, I think we just like to see new recipes and look at pictures of home prepared meals.  Then we pick up the phone and order take-out.

Beans & Rice FringeStyle is a recipe that I created one lazy day around 5:30 in the afternoon, evening for some farmers and roosters.  My general style of meal preparation is flinging cabinet doors open, piling cans on the counter, and scouring the deep recesses of my freezer.  All this is done in a frenzy as I listen to my children feign starvation.  My mismatched items are catapulted into a ‘recipe’ the minute I get off the phone with FringeMan and tell him dinner will be ready in 45 minutes.

Surprisingly my family really enjoyed this meal and I’ve made it several times since.

You’ll need:

100_3827

1 can Black Bean, 1 can White Beans, 1 can Diced Tomatoes, 1 can Mexican Style Corn, Brown Rice Taco Seasoning and…

100_3840

Chili Powder and Salt

I’m in LOVE with Sea Salt.  Like many women, I often crave salt and this bottle of ‘grind your own’ Sea Salt provides me with a bold flavor I adore.

100_3829

Oops!  I forgot to tell you that you need a few pats of butter and some chicken broth..  If you don’t have chicken broth, you can use one of those chicken flavored cubes.  I’m sure there’s real chicken dehydrated and compacted into a little cube.  I can almost hear little chicken sounds as I unwrap my cube.

Anyway, throw your rice in this post and cook according to the directions on the back.  My brown rice requires 2 cups water for each 1 cup rice.  For this recipe I cooked 1 1/2 cups rice.

In a large skillet dump both cans of beans (rinse first), the corn, and the tomatoes.  Heat over medium/low heat.

100_3830

Add 1/2 cup taco seasoning, 1/2 cup water, 1 tsp of chili powder (add more depending on your taste), and a generous sprinkle of salt.

After the rice finishes cooking, dump into into your large skillet and mix.  Add some chopped fresh cilantro.  I didn’t have any the last time I made this meal, but it adds the perfect finishing touch, so use it if at all possible.  Continue to heat until all ingredients are warmed.

100_3837Serve up a generous portion and sprinkle with grated cheddar cheese.

100_3842You can really save some money by incorporating a few meatless meals into your month.

On a side note, do you like my red & white dishes?  I just recently purchased them.  I was using a flowered, hand-me-down set that I finally sold at a yard sale.  It’s not china or anything, but these dishes make me happy.  I love them!

The fact that they are Corelle  and can take a beating from my children is a definite plus.

13 thoughts on “Beans & Rice – Vegetarian

  1. Merryheart

    SurvivalMaster & I love beans. I mix a can of Amy’s Southern FireRoasted Bean Soup with 3 cans of beans, kidney and black are my favorite. Then I add some salt and a little soy sauce or Bragg’s Aminos. Heat and eat. Yum! Works with roman beans, too.

    Blessings,
    Merry

    Reply
  2. robinaltman

    It looks beautiful. Have you seen GelaSkins? They’re these decals you put on electronic gadgets to protect them from scratches. I think this would make a cool GelaSkin.

    Reply
  3. Rachel @ CalledtoGrow

    I’m adding this to our menu for vacation nest week! We are staying in a place with a kitchen so I have been working on easy, tasty things my family will love. Did you design this one just for me?? 🙂

    Reply
  4. KathyB!

    I try many of the recipes that I find online on blogs 🙂 And this one looks delish. I will very likely try it as it looks like something my family would probably like… but with kids? Who knows!

    Reply
  5. Ashwini

    It is great that you point out that going vegetarian can be cheaper, which is another benefit of reducing meat consumption. Along with cutting costs, eating less meat improves physical health as well as that of our environment, which is why the non-profit imitative Meatless Monday works with Johns Hopkins’ Bloomberg School of Public Health to encourage individuals to dedicate one day of the week to going meatless. There are a myriad of recipes on the website, including this protein filled Three Bean Cassoulet http://www.meatlessmonday.com/three-bean-cassoulet/, as well as current news and cooking tips. For the history and science behind the campaign, check out the Youtube video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bpnKeYmR1NM

    Reply
  6. caprik

    That does look yummy!

    But, unfortunately, our kids do not like beans and would act like I served them dog poo, no matter how cute the dishes are!!!
    They are annoying.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

