Color Choices and a GiveAway

I believe I’ve finally decided on some paint colors for my new house.  I say ‘decided’, however I am woman and I am fickle.  That’s a line from Popeye.  My kids used to think he said “she is woman and she is a pickle.”  They would laugh and laugh and till this day don’t believe the word is “fickle”.

Anyway, a metamorphosis has been taking place in my style recently.  Maybe my taste are just maturing, but I’m going for a more neutral look this time.  I’ve been heavy on reds and bright yellows for so long that my husband thinks he lives in a bouquet of wild flowers.  I’m leaving the sunset tones behind and am embracing earth tones – blues, browns, and greens.  If I place those colors correctly, FringeMan will now think he’s lying in a field minus the wildflowers.

I’ve settled on some Martha Stewart colors.  Now I wouldn’t get stock advice from her, but you must admit she knows home decor.  She even has an extra edge since being on house arrest.  I’m laying aside my disdain for her ‘real simple’ craft projects in order to capitalize on her color selections.

I toyed with the idea of painting the entire house shades of white, but when you live in area that gets more than a hundred inches of snow each year, you crave color, hence the wild flowers.  Believe me.  I have experience living like an Eskimo.  You should see me gut a seal.  No, no…I’d never.  In fact I think I once even donated a dollar in the grocery store to save them.

Not really, but pretend if it makes you feel better.

I know I just told you that I’m leaving reds behind, but honestly I’m resembling a red and white patchwork quilt this morning.  In fact if I throw on a denim dress and drape myself over the porch rail, it will look like I’ve decorated for the 4th of July.  I’m a sunscreen Nazi when it comes to my children, but I always miss spots on myself.  I bought a can of spray sunscreen and I’m happy to report that my lungs do not have sunburn.

I hate that stuff!

Maybe I just see my body as it was ten years ago, before babies.  I forget that I now have speed bumps and a little extra square footage.  The sunscreen just never seems to cover all my parts.

I will now reward you for enduring this pointless post and tell you what I do like.  The Eco Store sent me two products to try and I love them.  They are all natural and contain no chemicals.  I dislike chemicals because I think they are killing us…ever notice how people have cancer?  Ok, maybe that statement was a bit extreme, but I would rather not use an abundance of chemicals if I can avoid them.  FringeBoy and I also have asthma and cleaners with a strong odors just bother us.

I tried the plant based toilet cleaner and Manuka Honey & Kelp soap.  The plant based toilet cleaner is perfect because my dog steals the toilet bowls brush all the time.  I think she brushes with it right after she eats toothpaste.  This cleaner must be easier on her stomach than Lysol toilet cleaner.  I also liked the soap which had a very earthy green color and smelled great.

The Eco Store is generously sponsoring a little give-away for us.  One lucky winner will be able to choose two products of their choice from the Eco Store.  In order to enter, just visit the Eco Store and let me know which two products you’d like to try.  If you twitter this give-away, you get entered a second time.  You can also sign up for a ‘No Nasty Chemicals’ newsletter on the Eco Store Blog.

Thanks for reading and good luck!

21 thoughts on “Color Choices and a GiveAway

  1. Erin

    You, my dear, are master of the stab and withdraw wit. A dollar at the grocery store…well, not really. Laughing my butt off!

    Reply
  2. Lethea Benson

    Wow!!!
    If I won here’s my idea of what I’d love to try:
    Baby Massage Oil and Laundry Liquid!
    Thanks for hosting the giveaway & giving us all a chance at something so neat=)
    Luvdaylilies at bellsouth dot net

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Remembering the 4th « the domestic fringe

  4. Mel

    Toliet cleaner and the coconut soap!!!

    Earth tones are beautiful in a house, now i am not a martha stewart fan and not because of the stock thing either…it is because someone that talented just makes me feel inept.

    Reply
  5. Sarah

    Love earth tones. We did a beige in the living room/ dining room area through the halls too. Then we did a sage green in our bedroom. I am planning on doing the computer room over because it is wood paneling and Benjamin Moore has a pretty color called Harbor Haze. You can actually look it up on their website. Good luck as you pick out the colors. Can you imagine being the one who chooses names for the colors??

    Reply
  6. robinaltman

    How about some nice coconut soap and lemongrass soup? I’ll be smellin’ fine!

    The colors you’re choosing for your new house sound wonderful. It will be fun to hear all of your new house adventures!

    Reply
  7. Dani Joy

    OH, I hope you post before and after pics of your painting experiance.
    too funny about the speed bumps and extra square footage! that describes me too!
    I would love to win the vanilla shampoo and soap.
    I will twitter it tomorrow.

    Reply
  8. Marianne

    Ooh great looking products. I would like to try Lemongrass Soap for me and Herbal Fresh Shampoo for my dogs! Thanks! I am glad we will be able to follow by blog you even after you move!
    Marianne

    Reply
  9. Mindy

    Oh, yeah. I think you are gonna love the muted, earthy tones. Can’t wait to see pics.

    As for this nice little gift…I like the idea of coconut soap. If I can’t drink a Pina Colada, I’d like to at least smell like one. Also, the auto dish powder might be nice to try. Thanks for the giveaway!

    ~Mindy

    Reply
  10. FringeGirl

    I have no pictures because I haven’t started painting yet. We haven’t even closed on the house yet! Delays, delays, delays…in my opinion, it’s never too early to pick out colors and we should be closing Thursday. I’ll be painting as soon as we get our key.

    -FringeGirl

    Reply
  11. angie

    Fun post. You’ll love the earthy colors; they’re so relaxing. I’ve got lots of putty and mossy green in my bedroom and find it soothing. You can still get the brighten-the-igloo feeling with pops of those flower colors. 🙂

    Reply
  12. David

    What? No pictures? Be sure to take some pictures when you have your new color scheme in progress. As for the Eco Store products, I would most like to try the Vanilla Shampoo and Alissa’s dog, Prada, would like to try the Hypoallergenic Shampoo for dogs. She suffers from dry skin and we’ve been trying to figure out if it’s allergy-related. Muchas gracias for handling the giveaway! How fun!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

