What’s it Worth?

I’m a sucker for a salesman.  I could be talked into needing a rotating plastic hanger if someone knocked on my door selling one.  It’s my sympathetic heart.  I actually feel bad for salesman, so I’ll listen to them and feel like I need to buy something from them…just because.

I’ve been sold on vacuum cleaners, sets of knives, and even this aerosol spray that promises to remove marks, stains, and spots from just about any surface possible.  A college student once cleaned everything from my tires to crayon on my son’s wall.  I was convinced I needed a case of miracles in a spray can.

FringeMan doesn’t let me answer the door anymore.

Deep down I wish I were a good salesman myself.  I don’t know why, but I’m always drawn to sales jobs.  I get a rush when I talk someone into making a purchase.  It’s not quite as good as eating chocolate, but it’s better than cleaning the toilet.

Do you know what I mean?

Probably not.

100_4338

I’ve failed miserably at sales jobs in the past.  You think I would take a hint, but no.  If nothing else, I’m determined and just a bit stubborn.  So from time to time, I try my hand at selling things.  In recent years it’s been selling vintage type items on Ebay, Craigslist, or at yardsales.  Sometimes I just throw a coat of paint on some wooden table I pluck from the trash and then sell it for a slight profit.  Since I’m still furnishing my own home with castoffs, it’s pretty obvious that I’m not making a bundle, but I do generate some cash every so often.

100_4339

I’m intrigued by how value goes up or down according to geographic location.  For instance, I bought an old chenille bedspread in Maine last summer for $2.  I sold it at a yard sale in Long Island for $10.  I saw the same bedspread being sold here in Upstate NY for $5.  Go figure!

Some of you do this “antiquing/junking” for a living and others stay clear of fleamarkets/yardsales/antique stores because you cannot stand the thought of sitting your bottom on a cushion that someone’s grandpa may have fluffed.

100_4340

Regardless, how much do you think this trunk is worth?  It’s used as FringeMan’s nightstand.

Just curious…

100_4341That’s the inside.  I generally don’t open it because it smells fiercely of moth balls.

14 thoughts on “What’s it Worth?

  1. robinaltman

    Love it! Reminds me of the old trunk I brought to college each year. It could fit a lot of stuff. I’m guessing $25, but I have no clue.

    Reply
  2. Vintage Vacuum

    Hi There,

    I’m sure you can do some kind of comparison on one of the auction sites as far as value goes and as for that moldy smell, just sit a small bowl of vinegar in it and close the lid for a few days. That should take care of it…

    Reply
  3. Janna Qualman

    Yes! Junkers unite!

    Hmm. It looks to be a decent-sized trunk. 3-feet tall, about? I would not be surprised to find it in an antique store with a $60 price tag.

    I would spend no more than $20 on it (’cause I be cheap), and tuck it in the corner of my living or bedroom. Love its color!

    Reply
  4. Debbie York

    Actually, a while back there wasn’t much demand for old trunks, but I’ve been noticing a new pattern. They’re being used a lot in decorating now as side tables and coffee tables. I’d say if you were selling it to a dealer around $20-25…if you were selling to an individual a little more. Without seeing it if has any identifying marks like maker I’m just guessing. (did I spell that right…I think the Zyrtek is doing a number on me right about now!) Also, sometimes dried rice will take the smell out…also kitty litter. You can try that and see if it works.
    Debbie

    Reply
  5. Hat Chick

    I love the smell of mothballs……brings back memories of grandma and old quilts.

    As for the trunk? I would pay around $15 for it if I saw it at the flea market and needed something that could serve as storage or a side/night table.

    Reply
  6. Mindy

    I’m with your Mom. Everyone needs storage! As for value. I don’t have a market for it, so I can’t come up with a price. I’d say it’s pretty valuable since it is FringeMan’s nightstand! ~Mindy

    Reply

Leave a Reply

