No Regrets

Because I was in a contemplative mood yesterday, I began thinking about this summer, all 2 1/2 weeks of it.  I thought of the highlights – buying our house.  I thought of the low points – scraping wallpaper from the walls of our house.  AND I thought about my regrets.

I regret not spending enough time in the sun to get a tan.

I regret not plucking a fabulous old window from the trash when I had the chance.

I regret not being able to take my kids swimming more often.

BUT, most of my regrets involve these two.

100_3665I regret that I thought of poisoning my dog this summer.  It was a low point for me.  FringePup had eaten a leather work glove and had thrown it up in bite size pieces throughout the kitchen.  It happened to be right after I ran out of paper towels.  Need I say more?

I also regret allowing FringeKid to think that FringePup had eaten her chocolate pie.  It was nothing more than a lie and I can’t live with the guilt.  I did it!

100_3974I stole food from a child.

It all started one day when I was browsing through the aisles of our little neighborhood grocery store looking for hot dog rolls.  Innocently enough we happened upon this basket of individually boxed fifty-cent pies.  I don’t know why FringeKid didn’t eat hers, but it sat in the box for days taunting me.  Like Eve with the apple, I buckled under the pressure and ate it; however, during the night FringePup must have discovered the little box in the trash.  When FringeKid woke up all she found were pieces of shredded box and she naturally assumed the dog ate her pie.

Much to FringeMan’s dismay, I never corrected her.

I guess I’m lucky my summer is officially ending on Wednesday when the kids go back to school.  I think I’ve had my fill of regrets.

Do you have any regrets from this summer?

I realized that you can’t leave an anonymous comment, so I’ve devised a plan.  After all, you may be a grandma who doesn’t want your daughter to know that you fed her baby a total of 34 ice-pops this summer.  I respect your need for privacy.  If you’d like to be anonymous, simply enter a fake name and make up an email address.  I promise not to hunt you down.

Let’s live this fall without regrets!

12 thoughts on “No Regrets

  1. misscaron

    My regret from this summer is that I didn’t get a second job when I had a chance and instead sat on my butt and I’m so poor and hating it … and now I’m taking classes again (this time towards a Master’s in History) so I’m even more poor and even more busy and now I definitely can’t fit in a second job but I desperately need the money. Okay, that was more a rant than a regret … thanks for sharing your regrets … don’t worry so much, you’re a great mom and you’re doing the best you can do and that’s all that matters! 🙂

    Reply
  2. Connie

    Please do not feel bad about wanting to poison your dog. My dog eats towels and blankets and then we have to take her to the vet. She has cost us a lot, a lot, and a lot of money. We have considered fashioning a backpack for her with her essentials, putting it on her and “accidentally” leaving the front door open.

    It’s good to share. 🙂

    Reply
  3. caprik

    I regret that I didn’t get to walk as much as usual this summer. It seemed like something was always knocking us off track. Schedules, weather.

    Hopefully we can walk later into the fall, since the walking buddy is not going back to work!

    Reply
  4. jennifer

    I regret not sticking to the five diets that I started this summer. I just refuse to believe that I have given in to the poundage but the scale seems to have accepted it.

    Reply
  5. Debbie York

    Regrets? Of course, but I just don’t look back. My only real regret is that I can’t do it all over again…just the same…mistakes and all! It is who I am. I take that back. There is one thing I regret…trying to get a suntan when I’m a strawberry blonde! Be glad you didn’t get a tan…your skin will thank you in 15 years!
    Debbie
    P.S. It’s our job to dispose of food after 3 days…otherwise we might get ants! That’s what I always said.

    Reply
  6. Amber

    I regret not taking my Synthroid for hypothyroidism and allowing myself to become very ill. I was trying to do it the “natural” way. It didn’t work and I ended up wasting countless days being to tired and sick and depressed to do much of anything. I am praising God for having my old self back again. :o)

    Reply
  7. Pilar

    hahaha, you are so funny! Too bad I won´t be able to see your daugther´s face a few years down the road when she´ll be telling the funny story of how her dog ate her pies, and you´ll admit it was you.. LOL

    Reply
  8. Debra Cripps

    You are so funny! I always say I never lied until I had kids. As to regrets, too many to count I regret to say!

    Reply
  9. Jo@Mylestones

    You crack me up. I too have stolen food from a child, but I didn’t get caught, so I don’t regret it (yet).
    Today I do regret getting angry over spilled milk. It’s so cliche, but it was the spill that broke my back. And I huffed around all mad like it was the end of the world. And of course it wasn’t. So yeah, I kindof regret that!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

