Fleas

The wonderful FringePup has picked up a flea or maybe a dozen.  I’m not sure how many pesky little bugs are hiding in her fluff and fur.  It’s her first experience with a flea and she’s in quarantine until every last microscopic bug is dead.  I blame Mrs. Whack, the white and black cat friend of my daughters.  I think she contaminated our backyard.  The dog two houses down has also fallen prey to flea.  It seems to be an epidemic.

Consider this a public health announcement.

THE FLEA IS TAKING OVER NORTHERN NEW YORK.

BATH IN A FLEA BATH AT YOUR EARLIEST POSSIBLE CONVENIENCE.

Red Cross Journal (22)My grandfather wrote and illustrated this little poem in the journal he kept during the war.  I thought it was appropriate.  I’ll have a laugh for him as I’m killing FringePup’s fleas.

G.W.S.

G.W.S.

Have a Happy Labor Day!

Anybody doing anything interesting?  If you’re doing something other than killing fleas, it will be interesting to me.

12 thoughts on “Fleas

  1. David

    Somehow our dog and cat have both managed to stay flea-free. Maybe it’s just too hot for them! Love the illustration, poem and photograph! For some reason, the white shoes make me think he could just jump off that wall any minute and start dancing like Fred Astaire!

    Reply
  2. robinaltman

    That’s adorable. I can see where you got your sense of humor! My husband’s favorite poem is also the world’s shortest poem:
    Fleas

    Adam Had’em.

    Reply
  3. Jo@Mylestones

    You know what’s even cooler than that photo and the poem your grandfather wrote? The fact that you have those fun keepsakes from him.
    As for the fleas, not so much worth keeping. Hope you are flea-free soon.

    Reply
  4. Debbie York

    We’ve been fighting the little devils all summer. This season was the worse epidemic of fleas I have ever seen. Jake’s flea treatment just seems to make them frisky!
    Love the poem and Grandad has it going on…check out those shoes! That’s some great shoulders under all that hair. Was he the lucky one married to your beautiful grandmother? If so, I bet they turned some heads.
    Debbie

    Reply
  5. jennifer

    I LOVE the photo of your grandfather and his poem. They both say a lot about his personality.

    Flea + we = UGH.

    SORRY you are having to deal with them.

    Nothing interesting here on Labor Day. We have a family date with Chick-fil-a… that’s it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

