Library Movies

I know many of us are big readers, but with Kindle, Amazon.com, and the lure of getting a Starbucks when you enter Barnes & Noble, does anyone use the library anymore?

I use the library because I have a son that I cannot afford to keep in books.  My daughter goes along for the walk and the hope that we may stop and get a drink on the way home.  She often boasts of the books she’s read, but when pressed admits that she really just looked at the pictures and made up a story in her head.  I blame those picture genes on her father.  I also use the library for borrowing books, but am often disappointed because they don’t have the book that I want; however, I’ve learned that beggars can’t be choosers and I grab what they have.  I’m not complaining.  I love the fact that we have libraries where people can go read, broaden their scope of thought, and gain knowledge…all for FREE!  You can’t beat that deal.

I’m a proponent of the library.  They offer story hours for toddlers and special events for school-age children.  Sometimes they even host a book club for adults.  My problem with the library is their selection of movies.  Let’s face it, movies are not their specialty, unless of course they have subtitles.

FringeMan and I have coined a new review term that probably sends Siskel and Ebert (are they still alive?) into a jealous rage.  It’s the phrase, “Library Movie”.  When we watch a movie that has little to no plot and a point that is only apparent to pot smokers, it’s a “Library Movie”.

I don’t blame the librarians for the movie selections.  Well, I did at first, but I’ve realized that they are intelligent men and women who provide a wealth of knowledge on several subjects and who make great selections of both authors and their works.  I just don’t think libraries buy their movies.  They must rely on donations, because let’s face it, people often donate stuff that should be trashed.  That’s reality.

So as I sat with FringeMan watching a seemingly insane old man sit on top of a 500 foot plastic pillar and channel the  Daila Lama on Uncorked, I didn’t blame the library for yet another poorly written film.  I blamed myself for not joining NetFlix.

I propose that as a service to our libraries and communities, we all donate one DVD that is worth the watching.

Ok, I’ve done my civic duty for this week.  Enjoy your weekend!

8 thoughts on “Library Movies

  1. robinaltman

    We’re too disorganized to go to the library. I always lose the books, or forget I have them. Then I feel like an evil monster while paying my late fee, or handing them a new copy of the book I lost. They should have a special library for spazzes. They could call it the Spazbrary. I’d go.

    Reply
  2. TCKK

    I love the library. It’s one of my most favorite places to go, because I get to read and it doesn’t cost me anything, except when I’m late returning a book. 🙂

    At least your library has movies. Ours does not. I’m not sure why, but it doesn’t.

    Reply
  3. KathyB!

    My dad gets all his movies from the library and LOVES it. Now that my kids are older we don’t go nearly as much…. I’ve got a bunch of good movies they could have 🙂

    Reply
  4. Amber

    Oh we have a library downtown that we walk to with our little library bag. We rent movies from the library every week, and get books out constantly. Also, Cd’s. I refuse to waste money on such things!!! :o)

    Reply
  5. Debbie York

    I love my little library card. Unlike my debit card, it’s never over limit!
    I propose we start our own NetFlix. I’ll send you my old DVD’s and you send me yours…whatta ya think?
    BTW, she makes up stories in her head, huh? Wonder where she get that little trait?
    Debbie

    Reply
  6. Janna Qualman

    Yay for libraries! Anywhere there’s books is okay by me.

    Did you know you can request a certain title, and they’ll have it transferred from a different location? (That’s the way it works here, anyway.) You might be able to get those books you want after all. Check it out!

    Reply
  7. caprik

    We go to the library EVERY week! And ours has an AWESOME selection of movies and cd’s. Just like blockbuster, except only 1 copy. Old, new, tv series galore.
    Abby uses our computer to put things she wants on hold , then she just picks them up on the hold shelf.
    Massive selection of books as well.
    Just today my walking buddy was telling me about a digital camera class she took over there yesterday.
    They have a little coffee/snack bar, it’s a one stop media experience!
    We heart the library!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

