Party in Pink!

Welcome to The Domestic Fringe.   This October marks the 25th anniversary of National Breast Cancer Awareness Month and on this special day, my bloggaversary, we are celebrating women around the world.  Party in Pink is a tribute to those we know and love who have fought the battle with breast cancer or who are currently in the fight.  Please join me celebrating their bravery, determination, strength, and faith.  Applaud their will to live and celebrate their life at Party in Pink.

Let's Party!

Let's Party!

You may link your specific Party in Pink blog post by listing it on the Mr. Linky box located at the end of this post.   Each blog post linked will be available to read long after today.  I encourage you all to visit the other blogs listed and offer a word of encouragement.  I thank you all for participating!  If you don’t have a blog and would like to join the party, send out an update on facebook, tweet your message, or simply send a card to a friend.  Use your favorite means of communication to show a little love today.

Almost everyone knows someone with breast cancer and for so many, it’s someone close to our homes and hearts.  The American Cancer Society’s current statistics say that one in every eight women will get breast cancer in her lifetime.   Fortunately with the right care and support, the majority of these women will beat their disease the join the 2.5 million breast cancer survivors in the United States.  That’s quite the club!

My Aunt Pat and Aunt Maria are both lifetime members of that club.  They fought hard, long, and well and they won their battle.  They were determined in mind, encouraged in spirit, and strong in body.  Today I congratulate them on their victory and pray that if I ever face the same diagnosis, I will be as brave as they were and fight just as hard.

Maria - Breast Cancer Survivor

Maria - Breast Cancer Survivor

Let’s all remember to go to those regularly scheduled doctor’s appointments that we always make excuses to cancel and perform some of those self-evaluations we all hate.  Here are a few simple changes you can incorporate into your life to help lower your risk for breast cancer.  See BREASTCANCER.ORG for more information.

Pat - Breast Cancer Survivor

Pat - Breast Cancer Survivor

1.  Stop Smoking  –  you do realize they’re not just talking about those cookies you keep burning in your oven, don’t you?

2.  Get More Exercise  –  Walk to the nearest sporting goods store and buy a pedometer!  Just don’t return it three times like me.

3.  Maintain a Healthy Weight  –  Step away from the doughnuts.  Oh, ya, that’s me, not you…sorry.

4.  Limit exposure to estrogen  –  Those blasted hormones get us every time!

5.  Limit alcohol consumption  –  In other words, send the kids to camp.  Just kidding.

6.  Restrict hormone laden red meat and animal fat  –  That means buy organic for carnivores like myself.

7.  Have kids when you’re young rather than when you are old  –  Hopefully they’re not working on my children’s definition of old.

8.  Educate yourself on good nutrition – Don’t read the cooking section of my blog.

9.  Eat fruits & vegetables  –  I almost didn’t marry because of this.

10.  Relax  –  Ladies, this is your permission to take a break and enjoy your life a little.

Today I am especially honoring The Texas Woman, a fellow blogger, and Diane, a real-life friend.  These women are just beginning their journey and are on the road to joining the other 2.5 million beast cancer survivors in our country.  They are strong, brave, and are an encouragement to those of us watching their fight.  I pray that God gives them peace in their hearts, strength to face each new challenge, and encouragement to get through their hard days.  These women are a great example and blessing to me.

The Texas Woman is also rocking the bald spot and her mohawk beat mine any day!  Be sure to visit her HERE.

If you need a laugh today, read Swingin in the Breeze, but don’t laugh too loudly, it could be you!

Here’s the link to the Avon Walk for Breast Cancer .

Add your link now!  Click on Mister Linky and follow the simple instructions.  Be sure to post your specific URL.

Thank you to everybody for visiting the domestic fringe and Party in Pink!  It’s been a great year blogging.

Remember, we may not be able to avoid getting breast cancer, but we can avoid being defeated by it.

Fight On!
P.S.  Here’s a great T-Shirt...couldn’t resist.

29 thoughts on “Party in Pink!

  1. Paula Parks

    Oh, I forgot I had written another post about Dian Malouf’s Go Girl Ring
    and breast cancer. I have a large group of girlfriends who have worn the Go Girl ring for many friends in the battle. In fact, one friend called today to say she got her Go Girl ring that I had just shipped to her. It’s a special way to connect friends all over the country who want to support a friend.
    http://wp.me/pyCBa-7K
    LoneStarLifer

    Reply
  2. claire

    Hi, warm greetings to u, coming by here via Tammy’s blog… it is indeed touching to put up an awareness of breast cancer and to give encouragement to all survivors and patients as well. My own brother is strickened with thymus cancer and my family is still traumatized by this sudden discovery on him. He is still undergoing chemo and we pray fervently he will survive it all…
    God Bless those who seeks comfort in Him…

    Reply
  3. Carla

    Maybe you could keep it going for a few more days to get even more people to particpate! Great idea and thanks for doing this!

    Reply
  4. Jo@Mylestones

    Wonderful post and so great to honor those survivors (and those still in the midst of surviving)! And what a great party this is turning out to be with 17 links already!

    Reply
  5. Mindy

    Hoorah! You are having a fun party! Glad I could make it. Great post. Great idea. To our friend, Cher, in the fight for her life. Prayers and cheers. ~Mindy

    Reply
  6. SusanD

    Hey FringeGirl! I posted and linked up. Hope you get a chance to stop by. Thanks for posting about this and using all those wonderful links. Blessings, SusanD

    Reply
  7. jennifer

    I partied all week and got a little serious today. Every party needs a pooper that’s why you invited me, right?

    I think this was a wonderful idea and I am thankful to be a part of it.

    Your post was great. Such beautiful faces of strong women!

    Happy Bloggiversary Fringe Girl. You ROCK!

    Reply
  8. Dani Joy

    What a great idea and great awareness post! I would love to participate. Lord willing I can get something together.

    Blessings to your Aunts! Praise the Lord for His strength!

    Oh about the before and after pics. I wanted to wait till I get all the weight off. I have 5 more to go. Lord willing before Christmas! Gonna make an extra push here soon! 😉

    Reply
  9. ALVN of WhisperWood Cottage & Junkologie

    Fabulous post!! This is such an important issue. Love the list of things to do…especially #10. We all need to learn to relax and enjoy our lives a bit more.

    Bloggy love to The Texas Woman (my dear friend!) and to all of the other wonderful women out there. Thanks, FringeGirl, for bringing the party to your blog!!

    Reply
  10. Tammy

    Thank you for doing this. This means a lot to so many women out there. My mother-in-law fought breast cancer twice. I don’t think I’ve met a stronger braver woman then her. My post is up and I did a little blurb on my other blog about this also.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

