The Dog Whisperer

Some have suggested that because of yesterday’s dog tale, I should employ the help of a trained professional.  Someone like the Dog Whisperer.  Consulting a doggie psychologist like Cesar Millan is a fine idea; however, if I had money for a shrink, you can bet your bottom dollar I’d by lying on the couch for an hour and not my rescue pooch.

100_4665

Sending my dog to obedience school would be like sending my children to private school and neither are in the FringeFamily’s immediate future.   I’d like to know why public education isn’t available for our pets.  Perhaps I’ll lobby congress…

Lest you all think my dog is just a wild hearted, free roaming, mangy beast, I’ll take a moment to brag on her.  I’m pleased to report that ‘O’ sits, lays down, gives you her paw, gives you her other paw, and goes to her box (her crate) on command.  Personally I’m impressed.  My children still haven’t mastered going to their boxes.

100_4666

So while you may think total rehabilitation is necessary, I think I may just try an illusion collar.  Hopefully an electrified version will be available soon.  If not, I’ve heard a taser works well.  At least that’s what the children say.

Kidding.

Sheesh!

13 thoughts on “The Dog Whisperer

  1. Merryheart

    Your dog doesn’t need the Dog Whisperer, Fringe Girl. You do! He teaches people how to get control and respect of their dogs, how to be the pack leader. This makes both dogs and owners happier and calmer. It’s great that your dog sits and goes to her crate when told. That shows you aren’t hopeless–but you need to learn to apply the same attitude toward getting her to come when you call and to walk properly. The Illusion Collar may help if you use it correctly. But I strongly suggest you at least get some videos of Cesar from the library, so that you will learn how to teach her to walk.

    Reply
  2. Mindy

    I would eat slimfast bars for an entire month if it meant I could afford a cat whisperer to come work magic with my male, feline pee’ers. ugh ~Mindy

    Reply
  3. robinaltman

    Your dog is a friggin’ genius compared to my dogs. Tiger is so dumb that when he was a puppy he ran into the glass doors on the patio, like a bird. The only reason they don’t run away constantly is that we’re all too lazy to walk them. I think O is adorable and a real smarty.

    Reply
  4. Lois Lane II

    LOL!!! My family had a dog one time who REFUSED to come when you called him. So every time some of the neighbors were walking, he’d jump up and down on them alllllll the way down the block — and NEVER come back. And don’t think of trying to chase him — that was a game for him. We eventually gave him back to the man we got him from…my grandfather. 😉

    FYI, if it makes you feel any better, you look like you are in your 20s…and my students think I’m 30. Lol!!

    Reply
  5. Jenn

    OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOH!! Look at that face!!! How could you possibly say anything bad about someone that cute!!!!! She even poses for you!!! =)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

