Lentil Soup

100_4754This soup is good and good for you!  This recipe is also proof that I’ve learned to eat my veggies.  I’m a good girl now.

Ingredients:

1 bag dried lentils (rinse)

5 peeled and chopped carrots

1 bag baby spinach

1 large onion (chopped)

6 cloves garlic (pressed or chopped)

1 lb. ground beef

4 large beef bullion cubes (if you use the tiny ones, double it)

3 tsp. basil

2 tsp. parsley

1 tsp. pepper

1 1/2 tsp. kosher salt

2 bay leaves

12 cups water

1 29oz can petite diced tomatoes

1/2 cup grated parmesan cheese

In a large pot, brown beef and drain off fat.  Add onion and garlic and saute for a few minutes.  Add water and all other ingredients except for the spinach and parmesan cheese.  Bring to a rolling boil and then simmer on med/low for about 1 1/2 hours.  During the last half hour, add the spinach and parmesan cheese.  This makes A LOT of soup, so invite company or freeze it.

If you’d like, you can substitute the ground beef for sweet Italian sausage and add 1 cup red wine – for cooking, not drinking. 😉

OR

You can make it vegetarian by leaving out the meat.

I’m all about options.

I also made these rolls from The Pioneer woman, except I substituted the rosemary for garlic.

100_4757You MUST make them.  For the recipe, click HERE.  While you’re over there, grab her chicken parmesan recipe.  It’s heavenly.

I must be hungry tonight.

Enjoy!

The next installment of FringeLove will be posted by Monday evening.  Hope you all had a good weekend.

Today I’m linking this recipe to 2nd Cup of Coffee’s Fall into Flavor.  For more great recipes, click the button below.

12 thoughts on “Lentil Soup

  1. Ebonie Urteaga

    Wow, great site you have here. I found your site while looking for another one on Bing. I don’t have time to read everything right now, but I have bookmarked the home page and will visit again very soon to see the latest. I love reading about cooking, it is my favorite hobby. The recipes on your site are incredible. I can’t wait to try them out on my family. They think I’m crazy (and maybe they are right lol) when they see me at work in the kitchen. Click here if you’d like to check out my site. Thank you again for a great site. Have a great week!

    Reply
  2. Dani Joy

    This looks familiar! jeje.. I really want to make this. It looks so yum!

    It works for the Crunch too! yippee!!

    It´s a two fer one! great job!

    DAni JOy

    Reply
  3. thedomesticfringe Post author

    ***WARNING***

    This morning, I forget to add the diced tomatoes to the list. Sorry. I knew I was forgetting something, but just couldn’t think of it. Tonight it hit me as I was eating my leftover soup.
    -FringeGirl

    Reply

Leave a Reply

