Wandering in the Wilderness of Lost Time

James 4:14

“For what is your life? It is even a vapour, that appeareth for a little time, and then vanisheth away.”

I feel like an Israelite wandering in the Tundra.  I murmur as much the Israelites did in the wilderness, but I’ve traded my sandals for snow boots.  When I sent my sent my kids out to wait for the bus, it was a whopping seven degrees.  Inside it was already up to fifty-nine.  I will be an ice-sculpture by February.

My mother's favorite ornament on my tree.I don’t like to complain about the weather, mainly because FringeMan will force me to join the senior center if I gripe too often; however, I did leave a bowl of soup on my counter for twenty-four hours and it didn’t defrost.  It didn’t even thaw around the edges!

That’s a problem.

I want to live in an area that is experiencing global warming.

I had nine pairs of gloves hanging clothes-pinned to a length of twine in my hallway and now there are three.  Two more are on my kid’s hands, but four PAIRS are still missing.  Did the dog eat them?  Did the children give them away?  Where could eight little mittens have gone?

More importantly, why are the winter Olympics this year?  Could I really have lost approximately two years of my life without realizing it?

Please tell me you think time is rushing by too quickly.  Tell me that my brain is not just stuck on fast-forward, while my body plods through life in slow-motion.

At one time, the Olympics took almost as long to get here as my high school graduation.  Christmas came more slowly than the nine months it took me to deliver my first-born.  Summer vacation was long enough for me to drive my mother insane with my whines of boredom.

Now…

My children don’t have enough summer to get bored.  There are too few days between Christmases for me to forget where I put the decorations, and the Olympics come at least every other year!

What is going on?

I found the following saying, printed it out, and framed it.

“Whatever you want to do, do it now.  For life is time and time is all there is.”

I need to be reminded.

What do you want to do?

Take a short survey HERE.

13 thoughts on “Wandering in the Wilderness of Lost Time

  1. Merryheart

    I’m still working on my spring cleaning–it can’t be Christmas week yet! Where are those Christmas cards I never got out last year? I was trying to update my mailing list–I was sure I was months ahead; now if I mail cards they’ll be late.

    Reply
  2. Army Mom

    It’s not just you that feels like time is slipping away quicker than ever… I’m still trying to figure out how my boys are already 21 and 18 and how the hell this 19-year old bride managed to turn into this 43-year old woman, seemingly overnight! Man, it flew right by!

    I love where my boys are in their lives today (although I’d love to have my Army son home/out of danger) but I cannot help but miss the way they were at 4 and seven. Those were magical years!

    Reply
  3. Amber

    I have never noticed life to fly by except for this year. I am baffled at how fast it is going. I don’t know if it is because we are so busy or what but I have seriously noticed it.

    Reply
  4. Jenn

    Uh, the Olympics do come around every other year, just not Winter O’s only. Summer and Winter Olympics alternate even years now.
    I like the Dragonfly, very pretty!
    And yes, you are wandering around the frozen Tundra.
    Did you check the dogs feet for the gloves? Her toes are probably cold, so she might have doubled-up.
    And wasn’t your mother insane BEFORE you started whining? (Don’t hit me, Bev, you know I had to ask…)

    Reply
  5. Cathy

    I agree life is flying by! A year used to take forever, now it’s over in the blink of an eye. I mean my kids should just be about 5 or 6 instead they are 15 and 18 for goodness sakes!

    I love your decorations! Beautiful!

    Reply
  6. Jill

    Perhaps nothing has time to defrost because time is flying by so fast. And perhaps as it flew by, it took the extra mittens with it. My question is, why didn’t it take the soup?

    P.S. Global warming isn’t all it’s cracked up to be!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

