The Season of Colored Hair and Well-Fed Chickens

The Duchess of Devonshire Feeding Her Chickens, Chatsworth, England, Photograph by Bruce Weber, Courtesy Robert Miller Gallery, New York

I want to be like this Duchess – possibly eccentric and a little over-dressed, but happy, because I love the life I have chosen.

I picked up this post-card while browsing through a popular bookstore.  When I say browsing, I really mean reading all their magazines for free, but I pretend to be an honest-to-goodness shopper with cash in my wallet.  While I’m on the subject of magazines, I’ve come to realize that I enjoy the British versions of some of my favorite magazines much more than our American editions.  In Britain, they add extra articles, more pages, and they even use thicker weight paper.  Has all of America become like my daughter, choosing books based solely on the quantity of pictures?

Since the dawn of twenty-ten (I just like saying Twenty-Ten.  It’s such a great number, how can it not be a good year?), I’ve been reflecting on life, particularly my life, and I’ve made some observations.  That’s about three and half days of thinking and I’m on the verge of burnout, so yes, I must share my epiphany today.

I think reflection and self-evaluation are essential components to success in life.  Without a little looking back to see our successes and failures, how would we ever know how to change what is not working for us?  Life is dynamic and the world is rushing by with or without us.

I don’t want to be a fifty-something wearing the same hair I shellacked in high-school.  Of course you know exactly what I mean!  It’s more than ok to be timeless if you’re Dick Clark, but when you live twenty or thirty years without even changing the color of your hair, you’re probably hanging on to what you remember as the ‘best’ season of your life.  I want every season of my life to be my best and dog-gonnit, I want my hair to reflect it.

To every thing there is a season, and a time to every purpose under the heaven:

A time to be born,and a time to die;

a time to plant, and a time to pluck up that which is planted;

A time to kill, and a time to heal; a time to break down, and a time to build up;

A time to weep, and a time to laugh; a time to mourn, and a time to dance;

A time to cast away stones, and a time to gather stones together;

a time to embrace, and a time to refrain from embracing;

A time to get, and a time to lose; a time to keep, and a time to cast away;

A time to rend, and a time to sew; a time to keep silence, and a time to speak;

A time to love, and a time to hate; a time of war, and a time of peace.

Turn, turn, turn.

No, I’m not singing the popular folk/hippie song, I’m quoting the Bible; however, it does appear that I’m wearing ‘flared’ leg jeans, so maybe I’m humming as I’m quoting.

At any rate, knowing your season of life is essential to success.  I don’t want shop on the senior discount days when I’m only twenty-seven or thirty-ish.  Anyway, the age isn’t as important as the season.  The point is that I’ve already experienced certain seasons.

I’ve been a snotty seventeen year-old who thought she had the answer’s to all the world’s problems.  I’ve crammed for exams and held my diplomas with pride.  I walked down the aisle in white and was carried away on my knight’s shoulder.  I lived on a caffeinated high during my babies early years.

Now I’m in a new season.  I believe this is the season to lay the foundation for the rest of my life; to buckle down and produce; to move from dreams to realities.  My failures have taught me where I am weak.  My successes have revealed my personal strengths.  I am armed with the knowledge of myself and now it’s time for me to work.

In 2010, I cannot be the woman God intends without a little reflection and self-evaluation, but now the looking back is over and I’m moving towards my mark.

Have you taken pause to reflect or are you wearing your college hair three decades later?

My sister-in-law recently wrote a great post about choosing happiness in this year.  You can read it HERE.  Or you can see their beautiful family HERE.

I hope you’re making the most of your life’s season, whether your genie is spitting out dirty diapers more quickly than granting wishes, or your nest has emptied and you find yourself overwhelmed with time and space.  Let’s make this season fruitful!

For more motivational talks, tune in tomorrow at…just kidding.  I’m done.  I can only manage one epiphany per year.

24 thoughts on “The Season of Colored Hair and Well-Fed Chickens

  1. comingeast

    “I hope you’re making the most of your life’s season.” I think this is a thought I’m going to put away in my heart and think about often. Thank you, DF.

    Reply
  2. Kelly Creason

    Ha… I am definitely NOT wearing my college hair. It’s salt-and-pepper gray (more salt than pepper, methinks) and I’m keeping it. Friends have threatened to “wash that gray right outta your hair” after knocking me out by nefarious means, but they’ve never managed to do it. My pastor mentioned gray hair in one of his sermons and even quoted Scripture in defense of it. I almost jumped up and did the “woot!!! woot!!!” thing.

    Other than that, 2010 marked my first year of widowhood, and although I would have liked not to have it that way, my new Family of Three has been blessed and provided for beyond my wildest expectations. God is good, all the time.

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Asking for Help « the domestic fringe

  4. DJ

    On Monday, I found out an acquaintance spent her holiday at the side of her husband’s hospital bed…the news put my own small problems in a very different light…I will be praying for everyone and celebrating each moment of life as 2010 progresses…
    Here’s to enjoying each moment!
    Whee.

    Reply
  5. jenn

    I love that photo. I’ve changed hair color and styles more times than I can count since college, so no worries there. I’m a big believer in moving on and in taking what you know and using it to become better. Embrace every single season!

    Reply
  6. Hat Chick

    I can’t wait to see the picture of your new “do”. There have been so many times in my life where I have reflected and thought, “If you would have told me in high school that I would be doing (fill-in-the-blank) at age X” I would have said you were crazy. Life is great and you are absolutely right….it goes on with or without you. So you might as well get that celebrity cut you’ve always wanted.

    Reply
  7. nina in portugal

    I think you and I are in the same category right now.

    Our babies are no longer babies. We don’t worry with dirty diapers and midnight feedings, although that wasn’t too far in our past. We’re moving on…and it’s a tad scary for me.

    But I think changing my hairstyle is even more scary.

    Reply
  8. Eileen

    I feel I’m in a new season, also! I plowed through the snow storm of last year and came out stronger than ever, my cheeks are pinched a rosy glow from the frost and I’m feeling awesomely refreshed and ready to spring forward! Twenty ten is going to be a great year! Now what to do with my hair…

    Reply
  9. Debbie York

    Are you talking about me Riz? The hair has changed over the years…it’s just came full circle. I refuse to color it until it is snow white…I’m lazy that way. The roots would always give me away and maybe that’s a definition of me. My roots are deep down and change doesn’t come easy. I have made a goal this year (I love saying twentyten too! How about XX-X?) to try and not waste a minute looking back, but only looking forward and at today. Age is just a number not a scorecard and each day a gift to be used wisely. One of my favorite quotes is from Erma Bombeck and while I can’t remember it word for word…the gist of it is “when I stand before God, I hope I don’t have a single talent left and I used everything You gave me?” That’s my life goal…to find my talents and use them over and over until there is nothing left. He’s bound to have given me something!
    Beautiful post girl…you’re my Erma replacement.
    Debbie

    Reply
  10. Jenn

    Well, I do believe that you have definitely changed your hair many times since college. Actually, many times in the past 2 years, but just be careful that you don’t do too much to the hair, or you may be reflecting more than just seasons. 😉
    More reflecting to come!!

    Reply
  11. Debra

    I love that Bible passage and epiphany is my favourite word. (yes, my daughter and I have fav words!) God bless you and safe travels down the road of life!

    Reply
  12. Soliloquy

    Seeing as perms are “out” in Atlanta (thank God, I don’t live in Topeka) – the college hair is gone.

    Recent changes have catapulted me down the road to being who I want to be. GLORY.

    Reply
  13. Cathy

    Great post! Yes, there definitely is a season to everything and right now I’m just working on a better attitude. That’s about as deep as I can go! And I love the picture of the Duchess, she really does look very happy or very high?!? lol

    Reply
  14. red.neck Chic

    Well…. I had purple hair in college, orange for graduation…oh wait, i still have orange hair. dang. I think I’ll get a chicken.

    I’m still mulling over the fact that 2009 came and went so fast. I seriously can’t believe it’s 20-10. Yeah, I like saying it like that… thanks for tuning me in! LOL I haven’t had an epiphany, but I have decided that no way is this year going to go as fast (without my knowledge) as 09 did. Now… what day is this?

    Have a good one!!! I’m off to visit your SIL!
    😉 Happy Monday!
    robelyn

    Reply
  15. David

    That picture is awesome! Socrates said the unexamined life is not worth living. I think he overstated. While there is something to be gained by personal reflection, I wouldn’t attach my life’s worth to it. I think we are happiest when we focus more on others than on ourselves. Like you quoted, a time for everything. Turn, turn, turn!

    Reply
  16. Baby Mama Elyse

    Great post!!! “Life is dynamic and the world is rushing by with or without us.” <— I love this…so true!

    I am big on reflection and introspection. I always want to be better and honestly I think that self awareness is the most important key to change.

    I love the chicken lady! Thats how I want to be too, a little eccentric, definitely different, happy and at peace. When you are happy and growing and changing for the better, it radiates out of you.

    Cant wait to see what this new year brings for you!

    Reply
  17. Jill

    It was a great epiphany. But if you only get one a year … you’re done until 2011? I’m sure you’ll have more insights into chickens and college hair before then!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

