useless information you wish you never knew

After my last post, some of you said that you enjoyed getting to know me better through the ten useless ‘me’ facts that I shared.  Some of you wish you never landed on the domestic fringe, but we’ll ignore you for today.

Sometimes I feel like I’m living on a reality show.  You almost know me better than my mother does, except she knows where I hide my birthmark.  I don’t know what’s left to tell, but if you will play along, I’ll give you a few more ‘facts about me’.

Please leave a fact or three about you in the comments.  Please.

Don’t leave me hanging.  I’ve got my soul splayed on the page.

1.  I like kitchen gadgets, cookware, and dishes.  When I packed to move, my kitchen took the most boxes.  I have an old set of pedestal dessert cups and strawberry corers.  That sums up my possessions.  Thieves would be very disappointed with my home.

2.  I know how to play the piano; however, I have no rhythm.  My little old Italian piano teacher hit my arm with a ruler while I played to help me keep time.  I still have measurements branded in my skin.

3.  Ann Taylor Loft is one of my favorite stores; however, I don’t think I’ve ever made a purchase that wasn’t hanging on their clearance rack.  My love for them lies in the fact that they make pants that fit me.  Although I wear an average size clothing, my pants need to have enough fabric to house my bottom and hips; a big requirement.

4.  I want to spend a month in Europe.  My father lives in Portugal and could use a visit.  While there I would love to spend time with Nina, who I met in blogland.  After Portugal, I’d go to Spain to visit Dani Joy, whom I also met through blogging.  Turns out we went to college together.  Small World!  Then I’d visit England and my husband would love to go to Scotland, so yes, I need a month.

5.  If I had the money, I would purchase all organic food.

Maybe tomorrow, I’ll let you get to know FringeMan.

ha,ha, HA!

Wouldn’t he be surprised?

Now it’s your turn!

Give me something, please.  I want to get to know you too!

53 thoughts on “useless information you wish you never knew

  1. Marytoo

    I am late to this, but it looks like fun.

    1. I had an alternative childhood. My dad was a geologist, and I grew up in Europe and South America. In the rainforest, before the rainforest was cool. Really before anyone ever heard of it, probably. So now I don’t want to go anywhere.

    2. I graduated from high school in the Azores.

    3. My youngest son is a yuk at West Point, and he just made the Glee Club!!!! We LOVE to sing, so we are excited about that!!!

    4. I live in Texas, where we have just survived the hardest four-day-long winter in 97 years. Now we are ready to start the garden. It’s time to plant peas!

    5. My favorite movies are “Mr. Hobbs Takes a Vacation” and “Second-Hand Lions.”

    Reply
  2. LenkaLovee

    I liked this post. It made me smile. Actually..your whole blog makes me smile! you have a unique voice dear..i love it! 🙂
    I have to agree with you on the Ann Taylor Loft fact..As for me…three random facts..umm..well…
    1. I have random cravings for Hershey Kisses, usually the ones with almonds in them…and I can eat half a bag in one sitting! my poor teeth! lol. 🙂
    2. i have lots of crazy dreams and goals…:) some very random and quite possibly way out of reach, but still..
    3. I love books and movies and spend way too much money and time on them…:)

    Reply
    1. thedomesticfringe Post author

      I think dreams that are slightly out of reach are good, because they stretch us. That’s what dreaming is all about anyway, isn’t it?

      Reply
  3. Army Mom

    I am more proud of my son than I can tell you, but I hate that he chose a job that shuts his family out of his life, takes him away from us and puts him at risk every single day. I also hate that he doesn’t seem to get that his precious life came from inside of me and because of this fact; it makes it difficult for me not to resent his choice. Frankly, some days it feels like the biggest F-you coming from the person I least expected it.

    I hate that I feel compelled make his choice have anything to do with me. But it’s the fear of losing him that drives the way I feel. I’m not like this, and there’s proof! When he went off to college it wasn’t at all about me – I took no credit, (and no blame!) and all I did was write the checks. I was perfectly happy as a clam to just see him, (and his huge loads of laundry) every few weeks. Now, I feel everything about being his mom is threatened and might be taken away from me forever.

    Most people don’t get it – they only see the Army families that get to have contact with their soldiers through e-mail and mail or they see the families that get to see their soldier off and welcome them home. We Ranger parents get nothing and we are left to wonder day and night whether or not the phone call or knock at the door will be him to say he’s back, or Uncle Sam coming to tell us how grateful the nation is for his sacrifice.

    I am tired of being silent on my feelings. And, as the date we, “think” he might deploy draws near, I feel my resolve to remain the strong, silent Army mom weakening. I’m told not to tell him everything I want him to know because he’s not supposed to feel like he’s never going to see me again – but what if I never see him again?

    Other useless information about me:

    I am a worrier. Not a warrior, like my son.

    I married a man I didn’t know. Not because of an arranged marriage but because, after our first date, he was just the first man to ask me. I was 19. Somehow, God let me know he was the one He meant for me and this December will mark our 25th anniversary. It hasn’t always been fun but there’s not one thing I would change for any amount of money or fame.

    I love and miss my parents and often wonder why we live 3,318 miles away from them. Then my mom says something to upset me (usually about our other son who believes we should pay all of his bills while he makes the holes in his earlobes bigger so he’ll NEVER get a job) and then I secretly enjoy the distance – but only for a second.

    I love to shop, bake and cook and if I could, I would quit my job tomorrow to do it all day long in random order.

    I enjoy YOUR blog and seeing little kids a mother can still spoil and keep safe in their beds at night!

    Reply
    1. thedomesticfringe Post author

      Army Mom, they say that mother’s will always worry, don’t they? I imagine I’d worry myself sick too. You may not be a natural born warrior like your son, but perhaps you can become his prayer warrior. I’m sure it will make both of you feel better. Are there any Army Mom support groups in your area or perhaps online? …maybe even a Ranger Mom’s group. Connecting with women in a similar situation may help give you all the strength you need to be supportive and encouraging moms. -just an idea

      Reply
      1. Army Mom

        Thank you so much for your words of encouragement. I like the idea of a prayer warrior!

        Oh, and I meant to say that my mom bugs me when she says we must be MORE SUPPORTIVE of our other son (who does everything he can to be a pain in the you-know-what./won’t work and makes us pay $800+ a month to support him in his own apt.)

        Reply
  4. Debbie York

    Be careful girl…don’t give away too much information too soon…next thing you know, the only thing left to tell is your bra size!
    Would you believe I am incredibly shy? While in college I figured out it was getting me nowhere fast, so I made a decision to step out of my comfort zone and talk to strangers. I still have to force myself which may be why I love blogging. I can hide behind this screen and be the person I really want to be.
    TMI?
    Debbie
    P.S. I’d just like to point out that when I say strangers…I meant people I didn’t know that I wanted to know…no one with candy or big shiny cars!

    Reply
    1. thedomesticfringe Post author

      Debbie, be careful of the little old men with puppies, loli-pops, and trench coats. 😉 Seriously, I’m glad you’re not shy in blogland!

      Reply
  5. caprik

    I never miss a meal.
    I wish I was brave enough to try Lasik.
    I was an excellent waitress.
    The smell of most perfume gives me a headache.
    I am really good at Bookworm.

    This list makes me sound old and boring. It is what it is!

    Reply
    1. thedomesticfringe Post author

      I don’t miss many meals myself and I’d never get Lasik, because I almost die during an eye exam as it is. I’m a wimp.

      Reply
  6. Jamie @ Six Bricks High

    This was a fun read! Now here is a couple things about me…
    I love office supplies. And I do NOT like styrofoam at all…don’t like the sound it makes, don’t even like the way it feels. I go to great lengths to never have to touch it.

    Reply
  7. Georgie

    1. I collect roses. Seriously, I dry every single rose I get. 🙂

    2. I think better when I chew gum. That is until I chew it for too long and get a headache. Then it’s not so easy to think.

    3. My camera goes with me everywhere. I learned that it should because whenever I didn’t have it, I really wanted it. All those shots I missed…dang it. Lol.

    Reply
  8. Leslie

    1. I am new here, but I won’t let that stop me.
    2.My father didn’t let me take piano lessons, citing your experience almost exactly as a good reason to avoid them. He taught me instead, so I guess I’ll never truly know which would have been worse. (No ruler marks, though. Score 1 for dad.)
    3. We’ve been renovating and adding onto our little old house for three years now, and right now we’re crashing at my mother’s. I’d love a month or two at home, but I’d settle for a European vacation.

    Reply
    1. thedomesticfringe Post author

      Leslie, glad to have you at the domestic fringe. I hope we don’t scare you away! Good for your dad for teaching you himself. I’m sure he saved himself a bundle. We’re in renovation right now too and sometimes you just need to get away. Hope you get to go home soon!

      Reply
  9. Mom

    1.Well, I love to sing but nobody wants to listen to me!
    2.I want to travel to Ireland one day. I know lots of people to stay with once I get there, it is just getting there!
    3.I love doing crafts, but I don’t have any space to work in. Maybe one day I’ll get my own place again with lots of room.
    4.I have a great family!!!

    Reply
    1. thedomesticfringe Post author

      Amber, if you’ve got rhythm, use it. I can’t even clap in time. Ever see The Jerk? Enough said.

      Reply
  10. Cathy

    I love this post and all it’s comments.

    1. I’ve never shopped at Ann Taylor Loft, but I bet I’ll check it out now.

    2. I love most all things Disney!

    3. I’m legally blind in one eye.

    Can’t think of anything else right now. Man, am I boring or what?!

    Reply
    1. thedomesticfringe Post author

      Cathy, Disney is no surprise. I’ve been to your blog. 😉 I need to go to Disney and you’re not boring at all!

      Reply
  11. Lois Lane II

    Fun stuff!! (I love Ann Taylor Loft, too!)

    Ummm…

    1. I hate grad school. I’m trying to have a better attitude about it.
    2. My favorite part of the day is cuddling with my husband and watching TV right before bed.
    3. My dog loves me more than my hubby. HA!
    Ta da!

    Reply
  12. MissCaron

    Hi love! I have to say that I always try to keep up with you but yes, I’m bad about leaving comments when I should. Just not enough time in the day I guess.
    Okay, I love that you want to spend a month in Europe. I’ve been several times but there are still places I have yet to see. I really wish I could just take a week each year and see someplace different in Europe alone. Then take another week each year to explore the US. Wishful thinking…
    About me? Well, I sing stupid things a lot. Like, “I love asparagus so very much … I can’t wait to get it in my tummy tonight. Asparagus you make me so happy … I only wish you didn’t make my pee smell bad.” 😉

    Reply
  13. Mindy

    I need to find myself a Loft!

    One thumb is shorter than the other. Mom says I slammed one thumb in the door when I was little. I think my brother probably sat on top of me and held my hand out there while he pulled the string around the doorknob and slammed…but, that’s a whole nutha story.

    I backpacked Greece & Turkey for 5 weeks fresh out of college. I highly recommend it! ~Mindy

    Reply
    1. thedomesticfringe Post author

      Mindy, I should have backpacked when I had the chance! Wait, now I have kids that can carry my pack. It’s not too late after all.

      Reply
  14. janmary, n ireland

    Hi there

    I love cook books – although I usually just cook the same things all the time!

    I love my camera and take photos of EVERYTHING – much to my kids embarrassment.

    I hate having my photo taken – hence I hide behind the camera.

    We have a holiday cottage on the north coast of Ireland, and can see Scotland from the end of the lane – so if you make it to Scotland you would be most welcome to visit 🙂

    Reply
    1. thedomesticfringe Post author

      Janmary, If I ever make Scotland, I’ll be sure to visit! Looks like I will need two months.

      Reply
  15. Patti Lacy

    When a deluge hits Normal, I rush outside to save the worms. I scoop up the slithery creatures, inhale the wet dirt, stinky feet smell, and set them on higher, unsoaked ground. The sight of me in my bathrobe scurrying about with cupped hands, has birthed neighbors’ howls.

    Though a life-long secret slob, I recently organized my drawers, closet, and bathroom and LOVE keeping everything in its little cubbyhole.

    I could drink ten cups of coffee a day and a dozen Dove dark bites if I let my appetite trump common sense.

    When I jog or do yoga or ride my bike, I feel like I can fly.

    Reply
    1. thedomesticfringe Post author

      Patti, you’re a worm saver huh? My daughter is a slug sympathizer. I think you two would get along well.

      Reply
  16. robinaltman

    Very cool facts!
    Let’s see. . .
    1) I never wear flats because I hate being short. I was very excited when “platform sneakers” were “in”.
    2) Both my husband’s dad and my dad are physics professors.
    3)My best friend is gay, and I’m very into gay rights.

    Reply
    1. thedomesticfringe Post author

      Robin, I think I remember reading on your blog that you wrote a physics book with your dad…or was that a math book? Maybe I’m crazy altogether and it was someone else. 😉

      Reply
  17. Jenn

    1) I am a kitchen-gadgetaholic (that includes towels/dishes).
    2)I could never keep up with FringeGirl while she played the piano and I played the organ.
    3) I have always wanted to visit Ireland, but I’ve added Italy to the list along with England.
    4) I love to bake.
    5) Love to watch cooking shows, although Food Network is off cablevision now. BUMMER!
    6) I will probably be the Old Lady in the Big Old House feeding all the stray neighborhood cats.
    7) I’m wearing the sweater from the picture Fringegirl posted of us when we were teenagers.

    Reply
    1. thedomesticfringe Post author

      Jenn, you probably will be the Old Lady in the Big Old House feeding all the stray cats….I can see it now. The sweater is a problem. Breath deeply, release yourself from it, and enjoy fashion freedom. 😉

      Reply
      1. Jenn

        Sorry, not going to happen, love the sweater, still fits, still looks good and Mom had given it to me. I will be feeding those cats in that sweater! 😀

        Reply
        1. thedomesticfringe Post author

          Just because it still fits doesn’t mean you should still wear it, but since your mom gave it to you, I’ve got nothin to say.

          Reply
  18. Gabriela

    Well, you’re very compelling so here goes:
    1) I am fluent in 4 foreign languages
    2) I once spent the night in a French jail
    3) I have cervical cancer
    4) I cannot carry a tune
    5) My back hurts
    6) I love shopping at Coldwater Creek
    7) I don’t cook, but love reading recipes
    8) I email my favorite recipes to my husband who in turn prepares them for me when I get home from work.
    9) My firstborn was a Jack Russell Terrier
    10) I’ve had 7 surgeries in less than 6 years
    11) I still sleep with my baby blanket

    Reply
    1. thedomesticfringe Post author

      Gabriela, you are infinitely more interesting than I. I think I need to hear the ‘night in a French jail’ story! Have you written about it? I’m sorry to hear that your health has not been good. Keep up the battle! You’re an amazing and very creative woman. You’ll be in my prayers.

      Reply
  19. nina in portugal

    Yes…oh Yes!! Please come visit me!! But you need a month for Portugal alone…add another few weeks for the other countries….so make your trip no less than 2 months!

    Okay..my turn:

    *I really like sports. Football (the American kind) basketball and then baseball. In that order.

    *My kitchen is MY KITCHEN. Not many other ladies are allowed in. No one works as fast as I want them to work, and they’re always in my way when I need something out of a cabinet or drawer. When you come see me, you can be the dishwasher. That’s a great place for a “helper”. seriously….It’s a little difficult sometimes training my daughters in the kitchen….it takes a lot of effort on my part to lighten up.

    * hmmmm…one more….I have on three pair of socks and a pair of boots and my feet are so cold they’re stinging. I’m inside my home, in my kitchen with a portable heater too…..It’s COLD in my house!!

    Oh..by the way…I’ve not forgotten you’re last email. I’m going to write you back soon!

    😉

    Have a great week!

    Reply
    1. thedomesticfringe Post author

      Nina, last night I went to bed with two pairs of sock and gloves. I feel your pain. I’m picky in the kitchen when it comes to loading the dishwasher. I MUST be the one to load the dishwasher!

      Reply
    1. thedomesticfringe Post author

      Rachel, I can’t carry a tune either. Why don’t more designers make roomier pants? We are not the only curvy women out there.

      Reply
  20. Jill

    After leaving a comment here the other day about FringeMan butchering his deer in your kitchen, guess what my husband decided to do last night?!

    The only other thing I can think of is this: there are certain times in the month where I have absolutely no rythym. During those times I can’t carry a tune and I can’t keep time when I’m playing an instrument.

    Now you know way more than you wanted to! Happy Monday!

    Reply
    1. thedomesticfringe Post author

      Jill, I figure my kitchen is cleaner than FringeMan’s garage, so it seems more sanitary to do it the kitchen. After he’s done, I re-enter the house and spray bleach EVERYWHERE!

      Reply
  21. Janna Qualman

    I would love to forage through your kitchen!

    I think you know lots about me, too. But hmm…

    I usually let housechores go unattended, sometimes too long. And when I need my kids’ attention, I clap really long and really loud. (My husband complains about how loud I clap. Something about the way my hands meet.) Always gets ’em. 😉

    Reply
  22. David

    Hmmm… let’s see. I have a jacked up left elbow. It was discovered when I was about 8 or 9. The doctors say two bones in my elbow were broken when I was still too young to tell anyone, and they fused back in a different position. They say it is remarkable that I never quit using it and that it found a functional position, although it doesn’t have the same range of motion as a normal elbow. So if I was a fussy baby, I had a good excuse!

    Reply
  23. Debra

    Let me think, I don’t know if you really want to know things about me! I read cookbooks like most people read novels, however I don’t like to cook.
    I love the show 24 and won’t answer the phone, door, etc when it’s on. I have a dollhouse and it is much cleaner than my big size house! Gosh I’m boring!

    Reply
    1. thedomesticfringe Post author

      Debra, I’m disconnected from TV. I don’t even know what 24 is! Pathetic, I know. If I had a dollhouse, I’m sure it would cleaner than my real house too. Don’t feel badly.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

