Judgement FREE Zone

Have you ever watched Dr. Oz?

Recently I began using the Dr. Oz show as my exercise time.  Since it’s too cold to traipse around town on foot, I’ve succumbed to doing leg lifts and saddle bag busters in my living room.  I don’t have an ipod.  If I did, I’d be running at least five miles a day, negative temperatures or not.  At least that’s what I hear.

My exercise routine is not important since it mainly consists of dogging the dog while in the middle of a jumping jack; however, Dr. Oz is important.  He educates me on keeping my heart fit, my arteries unplugged, and my toe nails healthy.  He’s become the universal doctor of diagnosis and he doesn’t even require a co-pay.  Medically speaking, life doesn’t get any better.

Anyway, Dr. Oz hosts a segment called the ‘no judgement zone’ where the audience and viewers ask questions without the fear of group wide snickering.  One courageous lady asked why she had back fat – you know, the kind that consumes your bra strap like it’s a chocolate covered Twinkie.  I don’t remember his word for word response, but I’m sure it had something to do with too many Twinkies in her previously youthful life.  Whatever the questions, I like the idea of being able to ask.  Sometimes you need to know.  Although we tell our children that there are no dumb questions, once you pass puberty, your questions become not only dumb, but sometimes toxic to your social life.

In honor of exercise and Twinkies, I’d like to declare today the

JudgeMent Free Question Day.

I’ll ask, you answer.  You ask, I’ll answer.  Hopefully someone else will chime in after me with the correct answer.  Please don’t ask medical questions.  Unless they involve back fat, I am not qualified to answer.

First, my question:

Is it wrong for me to spray my dog with Febreeze?

Are there any adverse side effects?

I know somebody else has done this!

Ok, your turn.

40 thoughts on “Judgement FREE Zone

  1. Pingback: Of Mice & Minimalism « the domestic fringe

  2. MissCaron

    LOVE love love your comment about the x-lax for the FIL. LOL. She should totally do it!

    My question is related more to what people think about what we’ve done to the men in this country? They either have no confidence, are pushovers, and are really sweet … or they’re full of confidence, not afraid to go after what they want and are complete jerks. I’m 30 and single and have dated oh so many men and can’t find a good match. Can’t I find someone “in the middle” between the extreemes?

    On a side note … you should definitely watch Louie Giglio. Search for him on YouTube. He’s awesome! God bless y’all!

    Reply
    1. thedomesticfringe Post author

      Not sure how to answer this question exactly. I hope others will chime in with their opinions. I am married to an extreme. Seriously, I’m not faulting FringeMan for that, because it’s part of his personality and part of what attracted me to him. He is just extreme, so I’m not sure I’m good at finding middle of the road type people.

      I do know that we lack respect for one another in this country. I’ll speak for women, since I’m female, but I’m sure stories can go either way. We constantly put down men in general and our spouses, undermine their authority, and disrespect them in front of our children. We don’t give them room to try new things or permission to fail if necessary, before finding success. We want them to be everything we want at the moment, instead of allowing God to shape them into the man He desires to use. By acting out our selfishness, we undermine the very structure of our families and hurt ourselves in the process.

      That’s my opinion.

      Reply
  3. Hat Chick

    I don’t have a dog anymore, but I was certainly not above sprinkling her down in baking soda so I can’t comment on the Febreeze.

    Question: How did pajama pants become acceptable attire in public? It’s in the school dress code and I saw a young lady wearing them at the grocery store.

    Reply
    1. thedomesticfringe Post author

      I don’t know how pajama pants became day wear, but I think pure laziness may have something to do with it.

      Reply
  4. Patti Lacy

    As soon as I click on your site, I smile, for several reasons:
    1. The writing blows me away.
    2. Something will either poke my funny bone or prod my gray matter.
    3. The title is just darn good.

    Yes, it is definitely wrong to spray your dog with Febreeze, whatever that is. I am a chemical-free, greeno and cannot BELIEVE you would do that to clothes, much less a LIVING CREATURE.

    Oh, WAIT! It’s judgment free day!!! Sorry!!!!!

    BTW, I ALSO exercise as my one hour to watch TV. It is an amazing truism to combine something you love (Law and Order, The Closer, The Australian Open tennis) with something…that often gets shoved UNDER THE FRINGE OF MY ORIENTAL RUG!!!

    Blessings,
    Patti
    http://www.pattilacy.com/blog

    Reply
  5. Texas Playwright Chick

    Please do not spray puppy with Febreeze…look at the concern on her face! Put the Febreeze down and step away from the Canine-American, please! Yikes, though, seriously do not spray her. Spray her bedding, yes, but not her.

    Now, my Q for you: Why do they YELL into a loud speaker at the grocery story or a Walmart-type store? I mean, it’s a ‘loud speaker’ and will automatically AMPLIFY your voice. Please DO not YELL into the LOUD speaker! It gets me riled up and makes me want to run over those dingbats that stay parked in the middle of the aisle when they see coming (*wink* to Leslie)

    Reply
    1. thedomesticfringe Post author

      You should just hear my family speak. At least half of them are partially deaf and no-one needs a loudspeaker. In fact, Walmart can must hire us and save money on a PA system! W-A-L-M-A-R-T are you listening?

      Reply
    1. thedomesticfringe Post author

      Sadle bags are the things that hang off the sides of your hips/upper leg. They are bad, very bad, unless you’re a horse.

      Reply
  6. Gabriela

    Well I’m going to go against the tide and say that no, it’s not alright to spray the dog with Febreeze. Her bedding maybe, but not poor sweet Oriana herself. You might not want her to inhale it.

    Now in response to Debra’s question about why it is that men can never find anything in the fridge – well, I recently discovered that it’s not actually a gender thing but rather the issue is based on role. The answer was made clear to me one day when standing in front of my open fridge and I heard my own voice ask my husband where the Mayo was. Yup, I could not locate the bleeping mayonnaise. His response? “It’s on the second shelf in the door right where your hand is.” Oh.

    That’s when it dawned on me that it’s not that men are stupid (at least mine isn’t) it’s rather a matter of roles. Why should I be expected to know if we have any English muffins, what brand of laundry detergent we use, or where the tea bags are kept if I don’t shop and I certainly don’t put away groceries, cook or do laundry? His role is that of house-husband and mine is the role of wage-earner. And yes, I now leave a trail of socks where ever it is that I’ve removed my shoes, I no longer know my online banking Logon ID or password, and I forget to see my dentist unless my husband makes the appointment for me and reminds me.

    I took our child to the pediatrician once (just once) and was unable to answer the doctor’s questions. I did not know if she had a fever or how high her fever was, how many times she’d vomited, or what over the counter meds she’d received through the night. Our 6-year old daughter herself was the one who answered the pediatrician’s questions. She explained to the doctor that her Daddy had given her “Pepto-Gizmo”. Sad, but quite true. Yes, I’m pretty pathetic, but then again I’m rarely in the country long enough to even remember my own phone number anymore. Really. I’m not kidding.

    Yes, it’s safe to say, I’ve become my husband.

    My question: Well after all that mindless drivel I’ve forgotten it.

    Reply
  7. Maureen

    We all know that at some point in our lives we will die. Why do you feel that some people give no thought whatsoever to eternal life through Christ?

    Reply
    1. thedomesticfringe Post author

      Now that’s a loaded question, Maureen. It was so easy talking about socks on the floor and dog odor, but these are the real questions in life.

      I can’t speak for others, because I don’t their minds. I do know that it’s hard to think about our mortality. No one wakes up in the morning wanting to face death on a sunny day when they could go see their kid’s ball game. You know what I mean? I do think that each of us gets to the point in our lives where we do think about what happens after death. For some of us growing up in church or exposed to the things of God, that time may come early in life. For others it may take coming to the end of their human rope before they begin thinking about their mortality. The important thing to remember is that there are many people seeking the Lord and genuinely wanting to know the truth about God. I think it’s good to stay focused on those who are searching for truth. It’s easy to get sidetracked with the “why’s” of the world.

      Why don’t people believe?
      Why does morality seem to spiraling out of control?
      Why aren’t people taking their lives seriously?
      and on and on and on it goes…

      Really all of it boils to down to sin. We are human and thus sinners. It’s that sin that separates us from God; however, Jesus came and stood in our place, taking the punishment we deserve and providing a way for our relationship with God to be reconciled. All we can do is to pray for those who aren’t currently searching and be ready to lead those who are searching to Bible. Never underestimate the power of prayer or the receptiveness of those around you.

      Hope that helps.

      Reply
  8. thegypsychic

    Hey, I think that you might be on to something here with the dog Febreeze? Do they make perfume for dogs?
    I know that our Lab could use a whole gift set for bath and body from time to time 🙂

    Reply
  9. Leslie

    Why is it that many times people in the grocery store continue to stand in the middle of the aisle with their basket when you are fully aware they saw you and several others wanting to get by? Is it a pride thing? Are they paying others back for some type of self deficiency? Is it the same reason why peple will not get over in the emergency lane to let you pass? They are trying to prove something or be a witch?

    Reply
    1. thedomesticfringe Post author

      We can only hope that it’s pure ignorance of their surroundings. I like to give people the benefit of the doubt; however, some people just have a chip on their shoulder and have become accustomed to being rude. So sad for them.

      Reply
  10. rebecca d

    First of all… I would feel guilty actually spraying our dogs, but for some reason I have no problem with dousing their beds and then telling them to “go lay down” while it’s still wet…I guess I am passive aggressive with canines…. weird huh?

    To answer Debra… last week the repair man came to fix our 15 year old washer and when he took off the outer part of the drum part he found no less the 18 socks that had been washed over the rim into the drum part of the machine… yes they really do “eat” them!

    Now my turn, why do men leave a trail all over the house, (clothes, shoes, crumbs, tools…) but lose it if we leave one bag of fast-food trash in the car?

    Reply
    1. thedomesticfringe Post author

      Wow! 18 socks. That’s one hungry washer. Sorry I can’t answer your question, but I’m less than an expert on clean cars. My car could scare anyone!

      Reply
  11. Mama Belle

    You do know they make a spray for dogs, right? A deodorizer or doggie cologne, if you will. Roxy Belle has some that smells like coconut. She still stinks every time she puts one paw outside. She pretty much needs to be bathed every other day, but that’s not happening. We just deal with it. Candles do wonders.

    Reply
  12. jenn

    Totally cool to spray your dog with Febreeze. My question: is it wrong to cook deliberately fattening foods for my kinda mean FIL who takes pleasure in telling people they need to lose weight? Well, OK, I know it’s wrong … but HOW wrong? Like on a scale of 1 to 10?

    Reply
    1. thedomesticfringe Post author

      Jenn, now I don’t want to justify bad behavior, but I really don’t think it’s THAT wrong. maybe a 4 with 10 being the worst. Now X-Lax might be about an 8. Sometimes 8’s are worth a try….just saying.

      Reply
  13. robinaltman

    Why do I cook extra for leftovers when it just molders in the refrigerator, eventually growing legs and learning to walk? What is a normal amount to cook for 2 large teenagers and a 6’3″ glutton-man? ( For this question, let’s make it parmesan chicken, shall we?)

    Reply
    1. thedomesticfringe Post author

      Oh, I’m bad at judging portions. I’m getting a little better about cooking less though. I usually do a leftover meal once a week just to get rid of the extra stuff. I think I’ll defer to someone who has more meal planning expertise. Anyone?

      Maybe you could just throw the leftovers in the freezer and then use the extras on a night when you don’t want to cook.?.

      Reply
  14. Cathy

    I say, why not on the Febreeze, as long as they don’t develop an irritation to it. And I give my dog Rolaids (if I taken one she thinks she needs one, she’ll come running from the other side of the house if she hears the jar rattle) and they help the breath too. Of course, my dog eats just about anything.
    My question is: Why does my dog wait til I sit down to watch TV to decide she needs to go outside?

    Reply
    1. thedomesticfringe Post author

      Rolaids are an idea. I once almost gave my dog a Gas-X pill, but I didn’t. I think I will next time she’s stolen beans out of the garbage.

      My dog waits until we sit down for dinner and then she wants out. I think it’s the same reason that one of my kids need to use the bathroom every night at dinner. There’s a mysterious connection between their bladder and our relaxation. OR Maybe she’s just seen too many of those “Gotta go, gotta go, gotta go right now” commercials.

      Reply
    1. thedomesticfringe Post author

      Oh, good! If it helps Odie, it should help Oriana too.

      Altoids are definitely ok! It’s practically candy, so it qualifies as a doggie dessert.

      Reply
  15. Debra

    Okay, I had to ponder for a while. Why is there always a sock missing in the laundry and why can men never find anything in the fridge?
    Inquiring minds want to know!

    Reply
    1. thedomesticfringe Post author

      The washer eats socks. It’s a proven fact. I’m sure of it! In fact I may have seen it on Dr. Oz in the segment featuring sick washers. After my washer eats one of the socks, my dog eats the other. We have cold toes in my house.

      Men cannot find anything in the fridge because they never put anything away. Simple truth. It’s also why they can’t find their clothes or shoes or where the sugar is kept. Me, I just keep losing the screw gun and hammer. 😉

      Reply
  16. Heather Leigh

    I have lurked for some time now and finally decided to de-lurk for a day. I truly enjoy your posts – your humor cracks me up. Perhaps it’s because it is so similar to my own. Keep up the writing, you’re a bright spot in my day!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

