Vanilla Cupcakes with Chocolate Frosting

Before you say a word, I know this cupcake doesn’t look pretty.  I made it for a men’s meeting hosted by FringeMan.  Men don’t require pretty, at least when it comes to food.  According to FringeMan, this cupcake tastes “boutique”.  I’m not sure what that means, but I’m taking it as a compliment.

I took an ordinary white cake recipe and added a box of vanilla pudding, the boutique touch.

Here’s the recipe:

Cake

1/2 c. butter, 1 c. sugar, 2 eggs, 2 tsp vanilla extract, 1 1/2 c. all-purpose flour, 1 3/4 tsp. baking powder, 1/2 c. milk, 1 package vanilla pudding

Beat softened butter until fluffy and add sugar.  Beat.  Add eggs one at a time and then add vanilla extract.  In a separate bowl combine flour and baking powder.  Alternately add the flour mixture and milk until well combined.  Right before stopping the mixer, add the pudding and only beat until incorporated.

Bake cupcakes in a 350 degree oven for approximately 20-25 minutes.

Frosting

1 stick or 1/2 c. butter, 2 c. powdered sugar, 1 tsp. vanilla extract, 1 1/2 tbs. milk, 2 tbs. cocoa powder

Beat softened butter until fluffy and slowly add the powdered sugar, milk, vanilla, and cocoa powder.

Ice cupcakes and you’re done!

I’ve recently been baking cupcakes instead of a cake, because it ensures you only get one serving at a time….less calories that way.  Consider these diet.

For more recipes and food foolishness, click HERE.

12 thoughts on “Vanilla Cupcakes with Chocolate Frosting

  1. this blessed nest

    oh they sound delicious. especially @ 3:20 AM with 3 kids in bed with me…taking up all the space & the thought of a yummy cupcake just sounds really good right now.

    hope you have a lovely *sweet* filled day.

    Reply
  2. nina in portugal

    I can’t keep up with your ever changing layout….!!

    How many cupcakes does this recipe make?

    And what size box of pudding? If you can give ounces or grams, that would be helpful….thanks!

    Reply
  3. Patti Lacy

    You NAILed my man-boys’ expectations on food. Pile it on. Don’t worry about presentation or elegance.

    You know, as much as I am crazy about ALL food, I’m not a huge cupcake fan. But muffins, chocolate of any form, cookies…hm, hm, good!!!

    Love your new design or layout or whatever it is!!!

    Reply
  4. Debbie York

    I could care less what they look like…they sound great! My grandmother put pudding mix in every cake mix she made. I wonder how that frosting would taste warm? Yum!
    Debbie
    P.S. I tried to keep it small words…notice?

    Reply
  5. robinaltman

    Mmmmmmm….Yummy yum yum. I wish I could reach right through my computer screen for that baby. Hey! That’s a good idea for a horror movie!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

