It’s My Birthday

photo courtesy of birthdayandanniversarygifts.com

Since I’m feeling honest today, I will not disguise the fact that thirty-five years ago my mother birthed me in a blizzard.  It seems New York shut down the night I made my entrance into the world.  You’ll have to get the full story from FringeMom, but I’ve heard tales that they considered erecting a monument to commemorate her agony in childbirth.  It is also rumored that I was a terribly cranky baby, but there’s little truth left in thirty-five year old stories.

Tonight FringeMan will cook me a dinner of my choice, because he’s nice like that.  Later I may watch Swamp Loggers, cause I’m nice like that.

The menu is as follows:

Ham, Turkey, and Pepper-Jack Cheese Panini’s, Salt & Pepper Kettle Chips, Chocolate Lava Cake with Fresh Raspberries

Since I couldn’t decide what a proper 35th birthday post for oneself should look like, I decided to leave it up to you.  This post is officially open to COMMENTS.  Feel free to ask me anything, just don’t ask me my weight.

My past, present, future, and opinions are all fair game.  You can even ask questions about the FringeFamily, especially FringeMom (kidding mom!).  I’ll be answering your questions in the comments section throughout the day and probably over the weekend, so check back later for your answer.

Now, here’s my question for you:  At what age does middle-age begin?

Happy Birthday to ME!

I will feel sad if I only get a half-dozen comments….just sayin.

35 & blessed,

57 thoughts on “It’s My Birthday

  1. misscaron

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY … sorry I’m late. Middle-aged is most certainly when you reach the middle (I know, very scientific) and therefore not until 50. So there. You’re still young and vivacious and I’m sure will have a wonderful year ahead. Hope you enjoy V-Day with your hubby. God bless!

    Reply
  2. robinaltman

    Urk! I’m late! I hate being late! Happy Birthday, Cutie! And here’s to many, many more! *clink*

    I want to know how far from NYC you live, so if I ever get to invite you to one of my brother-in-law’s shows, could you guys actually come?

    Reply
  3. joyce

    Thanks for visiting my blog. I supposed technically I fall into the category of middle age. I’m 49. I definitely don’t feel my age though and sometimes when I say it outloud I’m surprised. I have daughters, the oldest is 21 and quite often I find myself thinking how can she be 21? Wasn’t I just 21? Apparently not. Anyway, all that to say, age is relative.

    Happy Birthday! Your dessert sounds wonderful…I’m all about dessert : )

    Reply
  4. Marytoo

    I think that middle age begins on one’s next birthday, so don’t worry, you aren’t there yet. Neither am I. Even though I have a daughter born the same year as you…. 😛

    Reply
  5. David

    A very happy birthday to you, FringeGirl. I don’t know when middle age starts. I guess I’m probably already there, but you’re definitely not!

    Reply
  6. ALVN of WhisperWood Cottage & Junkologie

    “You say it’s your birthday
    It’s my birthday too, yeah
    They say it’s your birthday
    We’re gonna have a good time
    I’m glad it’s your birthday
    Happy birthday to you.”

    “Yes we’re going to a party party
    Yes we’re going to a party party
    Yes we’re going to a party party”

    Just a little Beatles serenade for you! 🙂 Now, on to serious things. My questions…

    (1) How many FringePeople does it take to change a lightbulb?

    (2) Why did the FringeGirl cross the road?

    (3) Knock. Knock. Who’s there? Fringe. Fringe who?…

    Reply
    1. thedomesticfringe Post author

      1 – Only takes one FringeMan to change my lightbulbs. He’s a professional. 🙂
      2 – FringeGirl crossed the road on her walk to eliminate all the chocolate calories eaten today.
      3 – This sounds like Dr. Suess and I’ve got nothin.

      Reply
  7. DJ

    Hmmm…it’s 6:46 pm on the east coast. FringeChef should be warming up the pan…
    You realize most husbands would not even entertain the thought of cooking for their wife’s birthday, right?
    That should make up for the “Facebook funnies”, I’m thinking. 🙂

    Hope your Birthday is as special and wonderful as you are!
    Love & Laughter,
    DJ

    Reply
  8. Jenn

    Yes, FringeGirl was quite popular with the guys in both high school and college, but FringeMan is the one who stole her heart!!!
    Happy Birthday, Cuz! Hope you have a great dinner with John Boy and a Great Valentine’s Day too!!!
    Middle age is a myth. What exactly is middle age? Mine will probably be around 70 because I don’t plan on slowing down any time soon!!!! Love ya!

    Reply
  9. Sydney

    Happy Birthday FringeGirl.

    Sarah please don’t say middle aged is 45, that means I’m over the hill and I refuse to accept that! I agree with Debbie it is a state of mind.

    How old were you when you got married? had your first child? your second? If you have already answered these questions, I apologize, I just recently found your blog.

    Oh and in honor of Valentine’s Day, how old were you when you got your first kiss?

    Reply
    1. thedomesticfringe Post author

      Sydney, I was married at 22 (you can read the entire saga by clicking on the FringeLove link located on my header). I had my son two weeks before my 25 birthday and my daughter was born when I was 27.

      My first kiss…you’re going back to the days of the caveman. I almost can’t remember that far back, but I’ll try. I was sixteen or maybe I had just turned seventeen and I was in school. Somebody give my mother a sedative. She was a teacher at my rather small, private school where there was “No Kissing” policy. Sorry.

      Reply
  10. Debbie York

    I for one am here to ease your mind. Middle age does not exist…it’s a figment of somebody’s imagination, a fairy tale like Rapunzel. It was when King Arthur ruled, not how old you are! Actually, some people are born middle aged while others are forever young. You, m’dear are in the latter group! Happy birthday!
    My question…does your mother know you talk to strangers?
    Debbie
    P.S. Another one…when are YOU going to write a book? Oh and for the record…don’t forget Cornelius, Barnaby, Horace Vandergelder and eventually Dolly herself all lived in Yonkers!

    Reply
    1. thedomesticfringe Post author

      Yes, my mother knows I talk to strangers. In fact, she talks to a few herself. I am trying to write a book now, but it’s not easy to focus. I’ve got three ideas and work on each just a little. I’m one of those people who need to be struck with a creative bolt of energy before I can write. It’s terrible. No words or too many words!

      Hello Dolly. You are right. That was based on Thorton Wilder’s The Merchant of Yonkers, renamed The Matchmaker. I’ve always liked Thorton Wilder’s writing.

      Reply
  11. Patti Lacy

    Fringe Girl, would love to be floatin’ in a swamp shack on one a’ my old bayous.

    You are way too young to worry what you should say on your birthday. Just ENJOY fringe man and revel in the blessings and talents God has given you!!!!

    Wish I could write Happy Birthday across the sky for you.

    H

    Reply
    1. thedomesticfringe Post author

      That’s a good question! We’ll have to wait for my mother to chime in before we get an answer.

      Reply
    1. thedomesticfringe Post author

      My husband’s idea of heaven is a shack on stilts in the middle of a swamp. Seriously. It’s terrible. He sees a swamp and he gets excited like I do when I see chocolate. I can’t explain it.

      Swamp Loggers is a reality style TV show…ever see it? The fascination with logging comes from living in Maine for six years.

      Reply
  12. Debra@Common Ground

    Hey, Happy Birthday to you! I would say that 35 is NOT middle age, simply because I have a daughter who is 35! I plan on living to be 120, so I’m thinkin’ that middle age starts at 60! Whew, I have a few years to go. Your B’Day dinner sounds fabulous, and what better way than to have your favorite chef prepare the feast! We do need to watch RNC though, because every time she goes near the stove, 911 has to be on standby!
    Have a wonderful Valentine’s weekend and enjoy your Special Day!
    hugs,
    Debra

    Reply
    1. thedomesticfringe Post author

      I grew up in Yonkers. It’s the burbs. 🙂 I lived about 10 minutes from the Bronx border. The great thing about Yonkers is that you get to pay City of Yonkers tax and New York City tax. It’s a great place. NOT. Yonkers is a little like the armpit of New York. No offense Yonkers. I spent most of my life with you. Lets see, let me give you something famous about Yonkers…the Son of Sam lived there, about a minute from where I lived.

      Reply
  13. red.neck Chic

    HAAAAAAAAAAAAPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY BIRTHDAY!!!!! I’m thinkin’ middle-age is like 90 or sumthin’ since I’m older than you and NO WAY are we ANYWHERE close to being middle-age. Oh wait – no – I’m still 29, so I’m younger than you. Or, better yet, I swear that we are both 29 – ’cause we’re nice like that. LOLOLOL

    Here’s my question: do you have a panini maker, and – if so – is it easy to use or a potential fire hazard?

    heehee
    Happy Happy Happy Birthday!!!
    😉 robelyn

    Reply
    1. thedomesticfringe Post author

      I have a non-stick pan with ridges on the bottom. It’s a square pan and I have a square non-stick coated, cast-iron ridged topper thing that you lay on top of the sandwich. Comes out toasted on both sides without using butter. I LOVE it! I also use the pan to put grill marks on chicken and other things. The pan is heat safe up to 350 or 400 degrees, so I can also use it in the oven. It’s a Pampered Chef pan (I used to sell Pampered Chef), but I’ve seen these pans in Linens N’ Thing or Bed, Bath, & Beyond. Very easy to use!

      Reply
  14. Debra

    Happy Birthday!

    I’m sorta like Jill up there with several years up on you but I prefer to call myself “Mid century modern”. You are the sweetest thing and I feel a connection with you besides our leg shape! I need to ponder on a question so I’ll check back later.
    Enjoy your birthday supper!
    Hugs~

    Reply
  15. Janna Qualman

    Happy Day!!!! I hope it’s wonderful, FG.

    No question for you. But I do want to say I’m so thankful to have connected with you. I consider you a friend, and I hope you feel the same. *huggles*

    Reply
  16. Jill

    I think you usually get way more than half a dozen comments anyway. Happy birthday, FringeGirl! Middle age? I’m … ahem! … several years older than you and I can’t see middle age, so you’re safe for now. Here’s my question (it’s a tame one, but it’s early. I may be back later.) How did you decide on the title of your blog and all your “Fringe” names?

    Reply
    1. thedomesticfringe Post author

      I wracked my brain for at least three days to come up ‘the domestic fringe’. I also pestered FringeMan with my choices until he wanted to strangle me, because let’s face it, he didn’t care! I don’t how I decided on it. I originally wanted to use the word Menagerie, because I like the way it sounds. The Texas Woman gave me the name ‘FringeGirl’ and it stuck. It also filtered through the family to even include the dog.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

