Decisions, Taxes, and My Jeans

Although I can decide to change my entire life in 2.3 seconds, I cannot decide which fabric to buy or what jeans look good on me.  I stop harried employees to ask their opinion when I know they don’t care.  The fitting room sales associate never tells me my butt actually looks bigger in jeans, and the lady cutting my fabric has no clue if my prints will blend into my living room.  I just cannot be held responsible for decisions made when I am shopping alone.

I hope you will remember this after I show you the pictures of my living room.  If nothing else, I have definitely given it life; however, I think its’ life could use Xanax.

I fear my fabric took me in a semi-psychotic direction, but there’s no turning back.  Pictures are coming soon…promise.  Maybe Monday.

Aside from choosing three separate ‘groovy’ patterns for pillows, yesterday was really weird.  You know those days where you just can’t be sure what will happen in the next minute?  I had one of those.  The down side is that every receptionist in America hates me.  I have no idea why.  I use my manners, bring my own pen, and refrain from sneezing on their desk.  In an act of desperation, I may start bringing them cookies.  The upside is that my mother gave me two $10 coupons to Kohl’s, making my denim capri jeans only $8.23 each, tax included.  No matter what happened, that makes yesterday a good day.

BUT, I am still undecided on whether capri’s are flattering or frumpish on me.  I’m a little short – not short like the lollipop kids on The Wizard of Oz, but short like I could use three extra inches.  I only had my daughter’s opinion and you’ve seen what she’s done to my hair.  She also likes my pillows.   Enough said.  I don’t trust her one bit.  At any rate, I’ll be wearing denim capri’s all summer, frumpish or not.

Today school lets out at 11:30am.  Why did they bother waking me up this morning to make my kid’s breakfast and get them on the bus?  Just give them the entire day off and let us all sleep in.  Unfortunately my opinions matter little.

Tomorrow is tax day.  Put a damp cloth on your forehead, take a Xanax or a handful of M&M’s, and lick that stamp or hit send if you e-file. I hope you all get fat returns.  If not, try this.

Now here’s my question…

Is it easy for you to make the ‘little’ decisions in life?

Or

Do you labor over whether to stop at Wendy’s or Panera Bread for lunch?  Whether to buy the dark wash or vintage wash jeans?  Whether you should buy fabric with a black base or a brown base?

Do you make big decisions with ease while loosing sleep over things that just do not matter?

Will you come shopping with me next time I have a coupon?

Finally, I want to say thank you to the wonderful cashier in Jo-Ann Fabrics who allowed me to separate my order and use two 50% off coupons yesterday.  I will love you forever.

If you like this post, please use the buttons below to share it.  Thanks!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

18 thoughts on “Decisions, Taxes, and My Jeans

  1. DJ

    I apologize for sounding bossy, but my philosophy? Minds are made to be changed. Decide quickly and know you can decide differently next time.
    Clothing = comfort. Period.
    As for decorating, purchase fabric you actually enjoy looking at, and tell everyone else to get over it.
    (Being an artist/teacher, I have been known to color-consult for free! 🙂 And I love New York, lol. I’ll pick lunch in two seconds. Or we can do knishes on the street and keep shopping. Yum~)

    Reply
  2. mrs mediocrity

    I am the same, sometimes I can make a decision quickly, other times I agonize…I think it depends on the day and the hormone level!
    I try to never buy anything unless it’s on sale or I have a coupon, so count me in! Kohls, oh I love Kohls. They just built one 15 minute away, that could be really, really bad for my wallet!

    Reply
  3. caprik

    Some days I can’t make a decision to save my LIFE!

    I would go shopping with you, maybe together we could pick a place for lunch!

    Oh, a bargain can make any day a good day!

    Reply
  4. Jenn Calling Home

    I applaud you for making a fabric decision. I recently went into one of those discount designer fabric stores with hundreds of choices to pick out a fabric for seat cushions (for my kitchen nook). I was completely overwhelmed and left the store with nothing. The project will probably take me a year to complete.

    Can’t wait to see what you do with the room.

    Reply
  5. Charming's Mama

    Oh I usually know what I want I just don’t like parting with the money to get it. On the big stuff I can ponder a purchase for years, I tell ya, years. It’s usually because I can’t afford what I want and if I can’t have what I want I would rather have nothing. My mama always said I had Champagne tastes and a beer budget.

    I’d go shopping with you but I’m an in and out, get on with it, kind of girl, not sure you’d have any fun. And well I’m kinda too far away.

    I love Jo-Ann’s too, they let me do the same thing.

    Reply
  6. Lois Lane II

    I am like Super Descision Maker.

    Wendy’s. Love their spicy chicken sandwiches.
    Dark jeans. Works well for work or play and usually more flattering on my scooter-pie thighs.

    But I do lose sleep sometimes over very stupid things…

    Reply
  7. Gabriela

    1) take a paint chip with you next time you shop for fabric. That way you can try to match the chip against the fabric before you make your fabric selection. I know, too late now.

    2) try shopping for jeans and/or capris at http://www.coldwatercreek.com

    3) in order to get capris to flatter ny shape I make sure they are closer to the knee than to the ankle. I also prefer a narrower capris than the bell bottom shaped ones. I prefer to wear the capris with a Tee that’s a bit longer on the hip and never a short one.

    4) Decisions Decisons. Sorry – but I’m a rather decicive one.

    Can’t wait to see your photos of your living rooms lovely make-over.

    4)

    Reply
  8. Debbie York

    Do I have a hard time making decisions…do I? I don’t know…maybe…could be…no, I can make decisions…well, most of the time. Let me think on it and I’ll get back to you!
    As far as capris…I love ’em, but I make sure never to walk in front of a full length mirror…I like to perpetuate the myth that I’m 5’11”.
    Debbie

    Reply
  9. Jill

    I used to question all the time. Now I don’t have time to question. I ask my boys’ opinions on things, but they’ve been trained to lie to me. It works.

    Reply
  10. Sidetracked Artist

    Just clicked over to your living room pics – amazing transformation!

    Some decisions, for me, are easy, like choosing clothing. I clearly know what I like and don’t like, and please don’t expect me to spend hours shopping and looking at everything in every store. I am not a fun person to take shopping.

    Decorating decisions are hard. Maybe because we know we’ll be living with them a long time. Some of the furniture I chose over 20 years ago makes me want to use your “Bang Head Here” circle.

    Cindy
    sidetrackedartist.blogspot.com

    Reply
  11. Hat Chick

    We research big stuff (anything over $100) to death. But for some reason I can’t commit to fabric. I need to make roman shades for the dining room and I can get the fabric for under $100 (I don’t need that much since the windows are small), but I just can’t do it. I can’t choose a fabric….it seems too permanent. Isn’t that stupid?

    Reply
  12. Cathy

    My hubby and I’ll debate for an hour where to eat lunch on Saturdays. I don’t know why, but we do. He’ll try to pick what I want and I’ll try to pick what he wants and we end up going someplace neither of us wants. lol So yes, I guess I can’t make the easy decisions (or the hard ones for that matter)!

    Reply
  13. Debra

    I question my decisions all the time. Not on the big stuff, mind you. You need a good stylist! I dare not shop for clothes without my daughter, she can make anyone look good. Picking out colours for the house is my problem. I write down every paint colour mentioned in blogs or magazines and still fret over every choice. Right now I scream whenever I pass through my dining room, it is so horrible. 🙂
    p.s. I’ll send down L, she is the bargain and styling queen!
    Plus, she comes with her own kleenex. 😉

    Reply
  14. foresightyourctpsychic

    I’ve had the problem of being able to see both sides of an issue so much that I make myself unable to decide

    What I found worked best was to weigh my options (with time commesurate with importance – health decisions get more than lunch decisions) and, all things being equal, chose something then don’t look back…

    that’s worked pretty well for me

    after all, you can go to Panera tommorrow. and if capris look frumpy, maybe frumpy is the new black 🙂

    Catherine
    Foresight

    Reply

Leave a Reply

