A Reason to Sneeze

Spring makes its own statement,

so loud and clear that the gardener seems to be only one of the instruments,

not the composer.   ~Geoffrey B. Charlesworth

Spring is my hope in a world of mittens and flannel.  I perk and bloom under the first rays of sunshine, throw open a window, and breath deep the frost-free air.  My happiness tank fills as quickly as the red line on the thermometer can rise, and I suddenly remember a hundred projects I want to complete.

Every request to go to the park is granted with a resounding “YES!”  The blue skies beckon each of us out-of-doors as the cool winds blow winter’s gloom from our home.   As the days stretch, dinner is served later.  The hours of snuggling on the couch are saved for next winter’s snowfall.

After all, any temperature above 50 degrees warrants shorts.  Mommy is overjoyed that art projects are taken outside, the endless sidewalks for a canvas.

Bicycle tires are filled and chains are oiled.  The race is on to see who can master bike tricks that send a mother’s heart a flutter.  Emergency sirens scream through the commotion of a sunny day, while other children bask in the glory of shedding their training wheels more quickly than their coat.

With winter’s long dreams reminding them to stay out of traffic, even the dogs rouse to chase the neighboring cat.

All is good and right with the world.  Forgiveness for January’s harshness is found in the heart of Spring.

We wouldn’t trade these blooming days for an allergy free second of snow.

How are you enjoying this season?

Go visit MyCup2Yours for more great Spring posts!



If you like this post, please use the buttons below to share it. Thanks!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

17 thoughts on “A Reason to Sneeze

  1. Amber

    I am so enjoying the season. Being a new homeowner and all. I have been painting the walls with the breeze coming in while Sassy rides her bike around the block. 😀 Hope you are well!

    Reply
  2. robinaltman

    That was beautiful, and I don’t just mean the pictures! It made me want to go play outside. That would be more productive than laying on the couch while Kevin helps me cheat at scrabble.

    Reply
  3. Alicia

    Those are great pictures! And I love your kids chalk drawing! So pretty!!

    How am I doing this season you ask? SNEEZING, SNEEZING, SNEEZING!

    Reply
  4. Gabriela

    Loratadine (two brand names: Alavert, Claritin). I use Wal-Mart’s “Equate” brand of the Loratadine. It’s the 24-hour variety, non-drowsy and keeps all my allergies at bay. I use it daily in the Spring and again for a few months in the Fall. Works like a charm without side effects.

    Reply
    1. thedomesticfringe Post author

      I only wish Claritin worked for me! It’s not strong enough. Sadly, it’s not even strong enough for my kids. We are a hardcore allergy family. 🙂

      Reply
  5. robelyn

    I’m goin’ for a drive and to do a show! And oh my gosh – am I thankful for the nice temps!!!

    Have a great week-end (I know… it’s not Friday yet, but I’m going to smell flowers or something.) LOL

    😉 robelyn

    Reply

Leave a Reply

