I Guess I’m Old Fashioned

I know I told you that today would be the big ‘reveal day’ for my ever-changing freaky living-room, but I lied.  I never took into consideration the fact that it’s Spring Break.  I haven’t hung my Amelia Earhart article yet and my floor is dirty, so I’d have to mop first.  Ya, it’s going to have to wait.  Sorry.

I do have a really cool full-page newspaper article written by Amelia Earhart from 1929.  I framed it and I love it.  It’s not even on the wall yet and I love it.

All that to say, I’m behind.

On another note…

Smooth transition, huh?

NOT.

Yesterday my son asked me what video games I like to play.  Honestly I really don’t like video games.  I mean I don’t harbor hate for them, but it’s not the first thing that comes to my mind when I think recreation; however, in my younger days, I have been known to waste away hours playing Ms. Pac-Man and Breakout.

So I thought for a moment and said, “Well, I like to play Tetris and I was on a Solitaire kick for a long while, but that’s about it.”

He looked at me with a hint of disapproval in his clear blue eyes and said, “So you like the old-fashioned games.”

He said this as a statement and not a question.

What can I say? I grew up in the Atari generation.

Are you a gamer?

Your old-fashioned, housekeeping blogger,

If you like this post, please use the buttons below to share it.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

11 thoughts on “I Guess I’m Old Fashioned

  1. robinaltman

    I used to love Tetris!! Now I like Doodle Jump on my phone. Mostly, video games make me nervous. I don’t like monsters chasing me, and I don’t particularly like dying, either.

    Reply
  2. Genny

    I am looking forward to the big reveal! How fun!

    And, no, I’m not a gamer at all. I wouldn’t even know how to answer that question… lol!

    Have a great day,
    Genny

    Reply
  3. David

    My attention span is too short for most of the video games my kids play. I like it simple. One button and a joy stick is about all I can handle!

    Reply
  4. Debra

    It is not nice to lie. 😉 I have been known to waste a few hours on the Bubble game. Our children were mistreated, we never had any video game stuff in our house. 🙂

    Reply
  5. Patti Lacy

    I am a reformed gamer. Used to play Tetris and Game Boy and then Bridge on Line for HOURS and had to say S T O P.

    Pre-writing.

    A lot of wasted hours.

    Sigh.
    Patti

    Reply
  6. Charming's Mama

    I wouldn’t call myself a gamer but I like some games, mostly word games or games like Tetris. My sister and I used to play Dr. Mario on Super Nintendo. She bought us a Wii for Christmas 2008 so she will come over and she and my husband play Super Mario Bros. Our 3 year old loves to watch them play.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

