The Many Excuses of My House

Do you know those people who have an excuse for everything?

You know the type – they are late for the meeting because their grandma lost her teeth; they can’t help you move, because in 1982 they pulled their left ligament in their right pinky toe; they forgot to pick up their kid, because their eye tooth bypassed their mouth and landed in their nasal cavity.

They just have a reason  why.

I am generally not one of those people.  I don’t like excuses and I don’t often use them, unless I am justifying not cooking dinner.  Please do not count the time I called into work and said I would be late because I was locked in my house.  That was absolute truth!  The doorknob fell off the door on the outside of our apartment and there was no other way out.  I was essentially a trapped rat.

Well, today I am going to be one of those excuse people.

I haven’t had a descent post in two weeks because I’ve been busy, unable to maintain a series of clear thoughts, and I’ve just been in a general funk.

It’s because I have been working in my hallway…

and in my living room…

Yes, I realize those are crazy fabrics, but I made that flower thingy all by myself without any tutorials or anything.  I’m pretty proud of that flower.

I’ve also been working in my kitchen…

Please note all the outlets.  These are only half and they are on different circuits, so I can have 50 crock-pots cooking all at the same time.  I’m not sure what FringeMan wants me to do with all my outlets, but you will never hear me say “I wish I had an outlet over on that wall.”

Clearly nothing is complete, so I can’t show you the big picture.  Just rest assured I am dirty and full of paint.  I have sheet rock dust in my hair, plaster in my pants, and splinters in my eye.  Hopefully we will be done soon and I will be able to give you the big picture.

Maybe then my posts will improve.  Cross your fingers, but don’t hold your breath.  That’s just fair warning.

Are you working on any projects?

If you liked this post, please you use the buttons below to share it. Thanks!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

25 thoughts on “The Many Excuses of My House

  1. Laura

    I too have had to call work and tell them I’d be late from being locked inside my own appartment!!! What are the odds of that?!
    I had to unscrew the doorknob and totally remove it and then put it back on to get out!
    My landlord has installed a new front door and used the doorknob from the old door, but he put it on wrong. We realized, after the 2nd time being locked in, that it only happened when we pushed and turned the knob to lock it, so we just used the deadbolt instead.

    Reply
  2. robinaltman

    Pretty pillow! Your flower thingie rocks! We have a zillion outlets in our kitchen, too, and I think I use every one. It’s weird how that happens. It’s like closets. They just never stay empty.

    Reply
  3. Debbie York

    Two thumbs up for the fabric choices…perf!
    You know the old saying about being too rich or too thin? Same thing for outlets…you can never have too many!
    Debbie

    Reply
  4. LJ

    Never say never! All those outlets will come in handy. Once I said to Bill- “oh I won’t put that many pots on that hook” -and it ended up being the one I used most.

    I like the sewing too! SO do you just totally turn off the laptop during the day and throw it under a pile of scrap wire?

    Reply
  5. rosie

    I love your sneak peeks and I feel your pain about being halfway through a bunch of stuff. We put our kitchen “mini-model” on hold about a month ago and there it still sits. I have to bite the bullet and start painting cabinets one of these days-then there will be some progress! Can’t wait to see more and those pillows are great.

    Reply
  6. Gabriela

    OMW, I absolutely LOVE, LOVE, LOVE that little shelf over the hooks and the black frames on the designer paper. I recognize the one in the middle as Basic Grey, and I’m crazy about it. Thos pillows! Oh those pillows, how do I love thee? Your creations are sensational, Tricia!

    Reply
  7. Sara

    Love the pillow fabrics! And, I always LOVE your posts. I never rate them because they’d all be 5’s! I’m definitely buying your book in the future!! 🙂 Keep up all the good work.

    Reply
  8. hibby

    Goodness gracious, I am LOVING what I’m seeing of the living room……red bench? snappy pillows? a ruffly flower pillow? Heck, yes (and well done on the free-styling flower, wow)!

    Plus all those outlets? Hysterical! In our last kitchen, we have to hook our crockpot into an extension cord…sad day.

    Reply
  9. The Handyguys

    Hmm, no upper cabinets in the kitchen! We have too much stuff to do that. I’m looking forward to see how it turns out when done. Keep up the good work.
    Handyguy Brian

    Reply
  10. caprik

    I can’t tell you how much I LOVE the paisley pillow fabric!!! Scrumtrulescently YUMMY!

    I can relate to the “general funk”. I feel like the most boring person in the world. If I have to post another list I am going to tear off my own arm and beat myself with the bloody end of it.

    Reply
  11. David

    OK, being in construction myself, I had to chuckle when I saw the wall of kitchen outlets! I guess being married to an electrician means you’ll always have power to spare! I have to admit I did the same thing when I was wiring the bulldog cargo trailer. I kept thinking, “But what if Mindy wants to plug in something over there? And what about over there?” I ended up with, if I remember correctly, 15 interior outlets in a 25’x7′ cargo trailer! Well, it really IS better to err on the side of having too many than not enough. And FringeMan definitely has you covered! Love it!

    Reply
  12. thelumberjackswife

    Why, yes! We are trying to grow grass while simultaneously putting in our laundry room.

    And when I say we, of course I mean my husband. 🙂

    Reply
  13. Debra

    Everything looks great! I love the pillows and your kitchen is going to be fabulous. For some reason I cannot see the pic of your entry way. 😦

    Reply
  14. Jill

    I like what I see so far. And you can never have too many outlets in the kitchen! Looking forward to pics of the final product!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

