The House that Dr. Seuss Built

The other day someone pointed out that I now have a Dr. Seuss house and they are right.  We use the same colors!

I even have Thing 1 and Thing 2 running around the house.

I began to think about my color choices and when my infatuation with the Dr. Seuss style of decorating could have begun.

Am I merely following a fad?

Will I hate these colors a year from now?

I don’t think so and this is why.

Brace yourselves!  It isn’t pretty.

Notice the eye shadow and glasses?

In 2007 I actually wore Dr. Seuss colors.  I have no explanation or excuse.  I have absolutely no idea why I purchased that tube of liquid eye shadow, but I do remember the feeling of absolute need when I saw it in Wal-Mart.

Call it bad taste.  Call it trendsetting.  Call it tacky.

But if it was good enough for Dr. Seuss, it’s good enough for me!

If you haven’t seen my living room, click HERE.

If you haven’t seen my kitchen, click HERE.

“Be who you are and say what you feel because those who mind don’t matter and those who matter don’t mind.”             -Dr. Seuss

I hope you all have a happy and colorful weekend!

If you liked this post, please share by using the buttons below.  Thanks!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

19 thoughts on “The House that Dr. Seuss Built

  1. Pingback: Finding Space for Creativity « the domestic fringe

  2. Mindy

    Not the blue eye shadow in 2007?! Burn that pic and let’s talk speak of it again. Not in our “out loud” voices, anyway. K?

    I’m reading post after post of yours catching up. You did look Amish! ha! I have no advice on the hair. I have decided for now to live with the gray. Won’t David and I make a cute couple with our silver heads? How’s that 15 pounds going? I know. It’s a pain. Wish you lived closer for the Clothes Swap. I can’t remember what else I’ve read. Oh. What does he hope to catch with the crawdad? hmmm

    Reply
  3. DJ

    Girlfriend, I’m lovin’ your interior!
    I’ve been working on my exterior.
    Wish I could renovate my posterior!
    Love & Laughter…

    Reply
  4. thelumberjackswife

    Hi, there! You have been hard at work over there, haven’t you? Sadly, we are STILL working on our laundry room.
    Tough times over here in our household . . .
    Tough times. 🙂
    And you are totally rockin’ the eyeshadow.
    Don’t let anyone tell you otherwise. 🙂

    Reply
  5. robinaltman

    That’s too funny! I love those colors, and I even like the eye shadow. Of course, I run around in a giant top hat that says “Robin 1”, but never mind that.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

