Topsy-Turvy Mind

Lately, I find that I am distracted and having a hard time being still long enough to get anything done.  Something has sent my brain topsy-turvy and I can’t figure out how to straighten up my thoughts.  Maybe it’s just Spring fever.

These are a few things that have been on my mind lately:

*  I’m on a diet.  For real this time.  No joke.  15 pounds will go away.

*  I’m hungry.  See first thought.

*  It went from winter – gloves and coat – to summer – temps in the 80’s – in two days time.

*  I have a fan and an electric heater out and ready for use in my bedroom.

*  Thankfully I am not using the fan and the electric heater at the same time.  I have a few more years before menopause.

*  It just struck me that it’s men*o*pause.  It’s like saying “Men, take pause!  Crazy woman on the loose.”

*  My kids still have two full months of school left.  That’s the same amount of time that they’ll have off for summer.

*  Summer is SHORT.  I will soak up every ray of sunshine I can.

*  My head has been invaded by gray hair.  I’m about to declare war, but am unsure if I should stay dark or go light.  Feel free to share an opinion.  Seriously, I have A LOT of gray hair.  I don’t know how or when this happened, but I’ve aged significantly in the last 5 years.  It’s time to turn back time.

*  Yes, Mama Belle we have crawfish in the North.  No, we don’t eat them.  We use them for bait.  I don’t even know why…maybe they are poisoned up here.  For the record, I do like them fried in a spicy batter.

*  We are about to move the bathroom door out of the kitchen.  This involves knocking giant holes in walls and moving plumbing.  My lack of excitement bothers me.  I should be happy the only smells in my kitchen will be good ones.  Well, you already know about my cooking…

At any rate, I will be full of joy when the door is moved, the holes are patched, and the 8 inches of dust washed away.

So, those are a few of the things swirling around my mind.

What’s been in your head lately?

a dangerous question…

If you liked this post, please share it by using the buttons below. Thanks!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

19 thoughts on “Topsy-Turvy Mind

  1. Pingback: I said THAT? 2010 Blog Recap | the domestic fringe

  2. Leslie, the Home Maker

    My thoughts?
    I am still too busy doing laundry after the mud run to have any thoughts except, “Why did God make red clay?”
    I haven’t colored my hair in 5 years, I think.
    I got tired of dyeing the roots and the smell and the cost, blah, blah, blah.
    (I am 40ish, shhhhhhh!)
    But, I don’t *think* I see any grey hairs yet-
    So, if I were you, and I’m not, so I’ll just say, if I were me, and I am, that I would probably color my hair most like it’s color when I wasn’t gray.
    Make sense?
    Weight Watchers will be seeing me on their scale starting this Friday morning.
    I lost 40 pounds 3 years ago and 15 pounds have found me again.
    SO, I am right there with you!
    We can do this thing!

    Reply
  3. Patti

    Wayyyy too many thoughts. My to-do list is approaching the size of the national debt.

    And a big surrpise is coming up…
    Stay tuned.

    P

    Reply
  4. Jenn

    Ha ha ha!!! Okay, the grey thing…I warned you about laughing at me with all my greys! I told you when yours hit they would be in abundance because of how hard you were laughing! You didn’t listen. Stick with the brown for a while, it will be easier to keep it brown, than to keep it highlighted for right now. If you don’t have too many greys and highlight to hide them with dark hair, it’s more annoying because then you have to try to cover the greys without messing up the highlights (if you do the roots yourself – not the highlights). Been there, done that. Unless you go back to the salon every 4-6 weeks to have them cover the grey and protect the highlights.
    The weight thing I refuse to comment in order to keep the pounds you lose from finding me. 😉
    And yes, you are suffering from Spring Fever! Enjoy it!!
    Love,
    Cuz

    Reply
  5. David

    My man-child had a wreck on Saturday. No one was hurt. But it was his fault and there is damage to both vehicles. Now I’m wondering what my new insurance premium will be! And whether I should ever let him drive again!

    Reply
  6. caprik

    Mousey goes late as well, she gets out of school on June 18, what is up with that???

    Ah, hair color. Well I have ran the gamut here. I am SO stinkin’ grey that I don’t think I can grow it out. It doesn’t help me a whit that Honey has hardly any, so it would look like he was always hanging around with his Nana. Plus, the Lily Munster bolt of pure white could scare young children.

    I am also trying to be FIRM with myself in the eating department. It can’t ALWAYS be I’ll start tomorrow, or after this piece of pie. I want my body back.

    Reply
  7. Tricia Rose

    What colour is your hair to start with?

    My sister has gone silvery grey and looks spectacular. I dyed brown, then switched and dyed blonde when my roots got lighter and lighter, and eventually will go natural, once I’m past the iron-grey stage.

    Reply
  8. robinaltman

    My vote on the hair issue: same color semi-permanent rinse. No one will know a thing, and it won’t change the texture of your hair.

    Gosh. I’ve really been in hair mode, haven’t I? Maybe I’ll just quit my job and retrain as a hairstylist already. I seem to enjoy giving hair advice.

    Reply
  9. Marytoo

    I am wondering why your kids have two full months of school left? Does that mean they won’t get out until July? We will practically be ready to start up again by then!

    Reply
    1. thedomesticfringe Post author

      My kids get out the last week of June, so I guess it’s shy of two full months. Seems like forever though! I don’t think summer break is long enough.

      Reply
  10. LeAnn

    Well…let’s see, I’m not on a diet but a healthier eating plan as I choose to call it, down 18 pounds since January, slow but that’s okay because I still have pizza and I still have a scone once in awhile. I would rather do it slow then take it off fast just to gain it back. I know all about gray hair. I have been coloring my hair for a very long time and just recently made the decision to get all over platinum highlights and let the gray just blend itself in and therefore I am done coloring my hair, one less thing to do now!

    Also, summer goes so fast so I too just want to enjoy every day. I also didn’t get all my laundry done today and my pile of ironing is growing.

    Well you asked.

    xo
    LeAnn

    Reply
    1. thedomesticfringe Post author

      Congrats LeAnn. Maybe you should post your diet plan. With those results, I’d get on it!

      Reply
  11. Charming's Mama

    I’m in denial about the “really blonde” hairs (cough, grey, cough). But since I’m a blonde they don’t show as much, at least that’s what I tell myself. Maybe I’ll go platinum. Every time I even think about dieting I get hungry. It’s like a form of mental self sabotage and then I find myself opening the fridge.

    Reply
  12. Janna Qualman

    I have to ask this: Did you get the photo just like that on purpose, or was it be accident? (You always claim the good ones are accidents, you know.) It’s awesome!

    Hmm. No advice for the hair, but I support your decision!

    Reply
    1. thedomesticfringe Post author

      LOL. I took a million pictures in order to make my camera focus the right way. The auto focus doesn’t work great and my camera is driving me a little nutty.

      Reply
  13. Mama Belle

    I concur with thoughts one and two.

    Poison crawfish? There can’t be such a thing. God definitely put them on the earth for us to eat. 🙂

    Reply
  14. Jill

    A few things swirling in my thoughts: just when my kids are slightly self-sufficient, my husband has surgery and I have to wait on him hand and foot. I didn’t get this kind of treatment when I was giving birth. I’m slightly resentful. That book will never write itself. I have nothing in my head to write with anyway. The dirt in my house will not go away. I’m too tired to do anything about it. I’m speaking at a ladies’ banquet on Friday. I have nothing to speak on. I have nothing to wear. I’m very tired.

    Just a few thoughts …

    Reply
    1. thedomesticfringe Post author

      Jill, I’d love to hear you speak. You’ll be great! I am sure. Hope your husband is feeling better every day.

      Reply
  15. Debra

    I think it’s the diet that’s doing things to your mind. 🙂 Going light is a lot of work, trust me, I’ve been there. The weather is crazy, isn’t it? But in a good way. Our bathroom door is in the kitchen too. eeewww 😦 Okay, now I’m topsy turvy!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

