Christmas & Birthdays in June

I always love a good yard sale, but I don’t always find good yard sales.  Although I’m infatuated with junk, I don’t buy everything I like, because then I’d need to have my own sale.  I actually set out with a plan and purpose, at least in my mind, and only purchase things that are on my imaginary list.

Some of these items include vintage sheets and pillow cases, old Christmas ornaments, ironstone, paintings, flower pots, and clothes.  I’m always on the lookout for any of these items, but they must be in good condition and priced to sell.  Needless to say, I often walk away empty-handed, but not this weekend.

When my family went to the Violet Festival on Saturday there was a town-wide yard sale going on.  I’m so glad we decided to go, because I purchased an entire box of old ornaments for $5.

I love this old topper!

There was a church participating in the yard sale and this box of ornaments belonged to the grandmother of the guy working the sale.  As I was paying, I inquired about service times and he asked me if I was under eighteen, because they had a youth group.

18 people!!!

When I told my mother and husband, they laughed in my face…not nice.

They are just jealous.

I don’t know why.  I got them the senior schedule of events!

KIDDING.

Speaking of age…

Today is my mother-in-law’s birthday.

HAPPY BIRTHDAY MOM

Count your life by smiles, not tears.
Count your age by friends, not years.

If you would like to meet my mother-in-law, click HERE.

This post has been updated to link to Frugal Friday @ The Shabby Nest. Go visit!

ps.  Thank you all for your concern and kind notes.  I am fine and the rash is quickly fading.  I think everyone was right about it being an allergic reaction and not poison ivy/oak.  I’m just glad it’s going away.  This has been my best day yet!

12 thoughts on “Christmas & Birthdays in June

  1. Kelly

    wonderful old ornaments! That is quite a steal for those. From the pic on your side bar you do look like you could be 18. 🙂 Kelly

    Reply
  2. Patti

    Ooh, I recognized one or two of my oldie goldie style in that box. You got a steal, girl!

    Glad the rash is better. And tell your MIL happy birthday!

    Reply
  3. Julie McGoldrick

    18? I’m so jealous! I got carded in an airport bar, and was SO excited… until my husband informed me that they card everyone in the airport. Oh well… Guess I DO look 30.

    I once found a box of antique German Christmas ornaments at a yard sale- the woman’s grandmother’s. They are so gorgeous! I can’t wait to use them, when my little boys are old enough to realize that those round, shiny things on the tree aren’t “balls”… I guess I have a few years! haha

    Reply
  4. caprik

    Do you have any idea what you could have had an allergic reaction TO? That was a BIG reaction!

    My Mom had a lot of those ornaments. Over the years, some have broken or developed heat spots. Not looking so beautimous anymore. But they were always some of my favorites growing up. Especially the ones with the indentations.

    Under 18! Youth group! You should have kissed that man’s old head!

    Reply
  5. Cathy

    First of all, I’m glad you’re getting better. Second those Christmas ornaments are beautiful and third, love that Maxine comic!!! Too funny!

    Reply
  6. robinaltman

    Those ornaments are lovely. I have Christmas envy. When we got married, I told Adam I wanted a Hannukah Bush. I never got it. Drat. I just scam off my friends’ trees. It’s all good.

    Reply
  7. Jill

    Love those ornaments, and I’d be shouting from the rooftops if someone mistook me for 18! : ) Glad you’re doing better.

    Reply
  8. Debra

    I love glass Christmas ornaments. Lucky you! It’s hard to find good yard sales around here too. Did you give the guy a hug when he asked you for your age? Never mind the old folks, just let them laugh. 😉 Jealous!
    Happy birthday to your MIL too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

