Today I…

Today I…

ate a few M&M’s.

Now don’t start wagging your finger in my face, because I’ve been doing really well in the food department.  I’ve eaten more oranges and bananas than the giant gorilla at our local zoo, but tonight I had to have a few M&M’s – only a few.

I also went swimming in a real pool, not the back of a pick-up.  The water was spectacular.  I am definitely counting it as exercise, because I swam laps, did leg lifts, and acted like I was in a geriatric water-aerobics class.  Therefore my M&M’s are canceled out.

FringeMan says I’m like the guy on the TV commercial who is riding an exercise bike while drinking in order to cancel out the calories for drinking, except I am eating.  It’s possible that you may see me doing jumping-jacks while chewing a steak.  Unfortunately I cannot guarantee I will not be in public.

I also almost sent my daughter to reform school, a convent, the pound, or anyplace that would take her on short notice.  After coming out in my new swimsuit, she took one look at me and said, “Wow, you look pregnant.”

Then she said, “I wish that bathing suit came in another color.”

Wolf-spiders eat their young.

Seriously, I have a lot of problem areas (namely my marshmallow legs), but I do not look pregnant.  Thankfully my son stood up for me and said, “I saw her pregnant and she didn’t look like that.  I remember.”

Moving on…

I am also thinking about painting these cute little owls I purchased for seventy-five cents.  I have three, but now I wish I had bought them all.  Regret is a terrible thing, even on twenty-five cent items.

I am also praying about something big.  Part of this prayer includes earning an extra thousand dollars this month.  Remember the parting of the Red Sea, the Flood, the Water into Wine?  Greater things have happened.  So will you pray with me please?

Hey, you have not, because you ask not.  It says that in the Bible.

Are you asking God for anything?

17 thoughts on “Today I…

  1. Pingback: Miracles Do Happen | the domestic fringe

  2. Janna Qualman

    Owls are adorable, and so’s the suit!

    You’ve reminded me I have an unopened bag of M&Ms hiding above my fridge! *begins squat-thrusts, for calorie negation*

    Prayin’, friend.

    Reply
  3. mrsmediocrity

    Everyone once in a while you have to have some chocolate, it’s a matter of survival. I try to eat healthy most of the time, so that when I want something decidedly not so, I don’t have to feel too guilty about it. But yesterday, I went running, and on my way home I went and had the dip-top ice cream cone that I have been craving for a week. I don’t even think my run canceled that one out!

    Reply
  4. robinaltman

    Your kids crack me up. There’s nothing like your kid to thoroughly trash your self esteem. Once I was sitting on the back seat between my boys when they were little and they had a drawn out discussion about my nose hair. How sweet.

    Reply
  5. Laura

    I am currently drinking a fruit smoothie (healthy) and eating Rolos (not healthy), but every day I do squats in the shower while I condition my hair, so I feel the Rolos are cancelled…maybe I should also do jumping jacks while I chew, but I fear choking.

    Reply
  6. DJ

    I’m eating Hershey’s Nuggets, dark chocolate with almonds, as I read this post, so I can’t say a thing. No finger wagging here, sister, unless I’m using my fingers to snag the edge of the bag to pull it closer to the computer. 🙂
    Prayers going up…

    Reply
  7. Cathy

    MM’s are okay. Remember chocolate is made from the cocoa bean and beans are vegies and you know mom always told us to eat our veggies. Chocolate also has milk in it (dairy – same thing as above). So I just had some peanut MM’s with my lunch and that means I had dairy and vegies for lunch, so it’s all good!!

    Reply
  8. LeAnn

    It does say that in the Bible and I will pray along with you. We have a huge prayer request here also so are waiting patiently and praying.

    xo
    LeAnn

    Reply
  9. Charming's Mama

    I will keep you all in my prayers also. My list is also long but mostly I think a permanent job with benefits for hubs is at the top of the list. Don’t think we can survive another winter on seasonal employment. It’s great in the summer, but winter, not so much. If I can’t have that then I want God to help me be content with less.

    Reply
  10. Debra

    Fringekid and #1 must be related. 😉 Your mum is right. Mum’s always are you know. I pray for you daily but I will pray extra special, special hard now! 🙂
    Love and hugs,
    Deb

    Reply
  11. debbie york

    I’ve heard children, especially cute little girls, are loaded with calories…more than M&M’s in fact!
    I’ll keep you in my prayers. It always help to know specifically what to pray for. Girl, my list is so long…only God could keep up with it.
    Debbie

    Reply
  12. caprik

    Praying for BIG wisdom and discernment.

    I am praying for the same thing I seem to always be praying for lately. The patience and grace to deal with a truly annoying person that I have to put up with. Someone who doesn’t have the sense God gave a goat, and is a whiner to boot. Really, BIG, sigh.

    I remember one time waiting in line at the deli and Abby tenderly patting my tummy saying “it looks like you still have a baby in there, Mama”. In ear shot of an aquaintence, who smiled at me. I did NOT have a baby in my tummy. Anymore.

    Reply
  13. Mom

    I hope you will not eat your young! Remember, that girl always says outlandish things and I am sure you looked great in the swimsuit!
    The owls are cute. Aqua?
    I am always praying for you and I will pray about this too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

