Anonymous

Does your blog ever weird you out?

By ‘weird you out’ I mean, do you ever look at your stats and find out information that gives you the heebie-jeebies?  Today I did just that.  I looked at my stats and realized that in the past two days, I’ve had a sudden surge in blogs hits.  Now don’t get excited, on any given occasion there are more people standing in line at Wal-Mart buying toothpaste than there are people waiting to read my blog; however, I wondered at the cause for my sudden popularity.  Have I  won a blog giveaway?  Am I featured on a billboard on this great information highway?  I fear I will never understand why an extra two people mob of people are visiting me.  I’m ok with anonymous.

Really.

I just feel better when you leave a comment and I can associate a human name with a stat.  Otherwise I begin to feel like I’m being stalked.

Can you say Par-A-noi-a?

Then I look more closely at the stats and I can see which posts were read on a given day…interesting.  I also see what people plug into search engines when they happen upon The Domestic Fringe.  It’s usually funny, but every now and then, it’s unnerving.  There have been a few times when exact phrases I’ve used in writing came up.  Hmmm…who is keeping tabs on me?

I wonder.  A girl raised reading Nancy Drew mysteries cannot help but think suspiciously.

The thing that really puts me in my in my red Ferrari and makes me throw on a pair of Magnum P.I. shades is when I look at the stats for the pictures.
Magnum P.i. Pictures, Images and Photos

I’m sure you are all aware that if you click on one of my pictures, it will enlarge.  Today several people saw my freckles up close and personal.

The amount of hairstyles I’ve been though in the past year and a half shocked me.  I think I must have a committment problem, at least when it comes to my hair.

So tonight I am asking that you reveal your true identity, leave a comment, and tell me who you are.  I’ll sleep better.

If you don’t, I’ll be forced to borrow my son’s spy gear.  I’ve always wanted to become a private investigator, but the fact that they wear wrinkled clothes and drink stale coffee turns me off to the career.  Let’s not even mention the big bellies and outdated ties…

Am I the only one that gets the Heebie-Jeebies sometimes?

44 thoughts on “Anonymous

  1. Morgan @ PDB

    Oh the blog world is a crazy world!! I have to be careful to not check my stats too frequently or I will go through serious bouts of concern and depression when one day clocks in at 20% fewer readers than the day before. I immediately think “what have I done? was that a bad choice for a post?” but then I tune out the stats for a couple of weeks and all works out well (in blogland and my head).

    You’re so fun to read!

    Reply
  2. Heather

    I found your blog thru LeAnn at Vintage Sassy and spent a loooong time on here the first time. I was laughing so hard I just kept reading! That is also the day I read about your son’s dr “situation”.
    I get creeped out too. The ones that seem strangest are the ones from foreign countries I think. But I have learned that if I leave a comment on someone’s blog, I get a lot of hits from that.
    The one that made me worry most was one from VA almost a year ago. They would log on several times a day or just once or twice but stayed on forever. After about a month she left a comment with her email address asking me to contact her. Here she had googled the condition that my daughter has and landed on my blog. She read all of my posts on my daughter, had her husband read them and then emailed me asking more questions because her son was going thru the same thing and they were ready to pull their hair out looking for answers. So the one that had me most nervous turned out to be so uplifting! Her son ended up getting the care he needed. God works in all kinds of wonderful ways- even blogging. 🙂

    BTW-Glad to hear things are going better with the dr!!!

    Blessings,
    Heather:)

    Reply
  3. Elizabeth Channel

    No stalker here! But I know what you mean. I have days where I get all these hits for no apparent reason and it does creep me out a bit. And then add the odd search strings people put in, and it can get quite troubling…

    Reply
  4. Pingback: Thank You | the domestic fringe

  5. Jaybird

    I wander in and out of here pretty regularly. I’m “the Mama” of Red Neck Chic :^)
    I love reading your blog…it gives me a lift and a smile on my face!

    Reply
  6. Kim

    I have never had a blog myself, but have found myself quite addicted to reading blogs. I hope it isn’t considered creepy – I am just a very average middle age mom living in Michigan. Thanks for sharing little glimpses into your life with the rest of us.

    Reply
  7. caprik

    Sometimes it IS creepy when they come to your blog after googling something INAPPROPRIATE! Especially when I don’t remember writing anything of the sort!

    Reply
  8. Kari

    Hi!
    Maybe one of them was me? I know I came a while back and stuck around for awhile. I noticed your living room re-do and loved it! Sometimes I’ll get to reading a blog late at night and sit and read for awhile. I used to have a web-site wayy wayyyyyyyy back. I learned within a year I absolutely hated site meters. Just like you they kind of creeped me out and got me thinking. But the reality is its probably just a bunch of us girls having a good time reading your site. Thats why my blog doesn’t have a site meter. I don’t wanna know!!

    Reply
  9. Charming's Mama

    No surprise here, been reading for awhile, but you know that already.

    Anyhoo, I’ve been called strange before but I hope you won’t call me a stranger any more.

    Also it occurred to me that you, being an aspiring author who hopes to publish a book some day to hopefully be read by millions, should be thrilled with an increase in readership. So blog on Fringe Girl.

    Cheers,
    Sydney

    Reply
  10. Kimberly

    Hi Fringe Mama!

    I too, cannot remember how I first stumbled on your blog, but it is fun! Not a stalker. Sweet dreams from a missionary mama in Africa.

    btw, I love polka dots. Maybe that’s why the sudden influx. Must be the polka dots…

    Reply
  11. Cathy

    I read you lots and I try to comment most of the time. You make me laugh and I love that! But yes I get creeped out sometimes too.

    Keep up the good work.

    Reply
  12. Kim

    Not sure how I came across your blog, but love it. I find you quite amusing, and check on you most every day. Not a stalker even!

    Reply
    1. the domestic fringe Post author

      Sarah, I don’t use any sitemeter. WordPress keeps track of some stats for me and those are the only ones I ever look at. Thanks for not being scary! 😉

      Reply
  13. Lori

    I rarely make comments anywhere, but since you asked…

    I stumbled upon your blog when I was looking at some home decorating things. I believe it was the pictures of your kitchen linked on another blog. I had some time on my hands so read backward and enjoyed the blog a lot. Now I check just about daily for updates.

    BTW, your kitchen is fantastic, and I think it was here that I first heard about Habitat for Humanity restore. We have one in my town. I’m so excited!

    Reply
    1. the domestic fringe Post author

      Lori, thank you. I’m glad you like my kitchen. I love it lots! Habitat for Humanity is a great organization. My husband just did the electric on a Habitat house and we got to go have dinner with the new homeowners. The house was fantastic!

      Reply
  14. jenn

    I do the same thing … check the blog stats and wonder myself into a paranoid mess. Like, really, who in Turkey could possibly find me interesting enough to spend 45 minutes on my blog? OMG it’s a terrorist!

    I’m Jenn, late 30’s, mom of two, and I live in Maine. And, just for the record, I am NOT a terrorist.

    Reply
    1. the domestic fringe Post author

      Hi Jenn. I lived in Maine for 6 years. My kids keep asking to go back, so we are due for a visit.

      Reply
    1. the domestic fringe Post author

      Cindy, I think I’ve visited both your blogs before. I’ll have to stop by again. Thanks for the comment and the links!

      Reply
  15. Rebekah @ It Only Gets Better

    I sometimes get weirded out. Especially once when I saw that the same person (no idea who) had come on several dozen times in a week and had spent many hours on my blog. I thought, “Who has that kind of time on their hands?” and then I remembered that I had done a similar thing on Big Mama’s blog once…oh! apparently people like me.

    I’ve been reading most blogs on Google Reader and so I wonder if you get hits from there or do you only get them when I come on to comment? I read you every time you post but I wonder if I’m getting “credit” for it. ; )

    Reply
    1. the domestic fringe Post author

      Rebekah, I don’t know if you’re getting your credit for using Google Reader, but I’m sure it’s easier to have all your reads in one place. Thanks for commenting!

      Reply
    1. the domestic fringe Post author

      Debra, I believe your relatives are nice. It’s mine I’m worried about. 😉

      Reply
  16. Laurie @ Little Blue Chairs

    Hi, I am one of your new readers. I think I found your blog thru my thought of joining Twitter on kids art. Then I saw your kitchen. I have something similar (but not) and just plugged you into my RSS feed. New fan/reader here. I try to post up comments but you will know it is me. Love what you are doing. Look forward to more.

    Reply
    1. the domestic fringe Post author

      Laurie, thanks for commenting. Nice to ‘meet’ you! I’ll have to come by your blog for a visit soon.

      Reply
  17. Laura

    Freak not, FringGirl, you’re funny and people can’t get enough!
    Also, the answer to the 2 extra peeps might be that my mum “shared” your blog on facebook and my Aunt and Cousin went thru it, laughing away, and not realizing that you in fact are not my mother, lol. When they told mum that they loved her blog and mentioned a specific post, she realized they were on yours!
    Blogging is new in our parts 😉

    Reply
    1. the domestic fringe Post author

      Laura, Your mom can pass my blog off as hers anytime she wants. I’ll put her picture in my sidebar if it will help confuse the relatives. 🙂

      Reply
  18. Mom

    Magnum, PI has resurfaced! Remember when you wanted to be the female version of Magnum? FringeUncle even bought you a book on how to pick locks.
    Be happy for the hits! People love to laugh and you show us a humorous slant to life!
    I read every post but sometimes I don’t comment.

    Reply
    1. the domestic fringe Post author

      Mom, those lock picking skills have come in handy. Somehow my bathroom door always gets locked with no-one in it!

      Reply
  19. chantelle

    I don’t normally leave comments but I will to ease your paranoia and because you asked so nicely. I’m Chantelle, in my 20s, in Australia. I enjoy your blog a lot though I have no recollection of how I found it. I appreciate your faith your openness regarding life sometimes being a little bit less than perfect. It’s such a relief!

    Reply
    1. the domestic fringe Post author

      Chantelle, Thank you for easing my paranoia. I’ll sleep better tonight! I’ve always wanted to visit Australia…

      Reply
  20. Jill

    Love Nancy Drew and Love Magnum P.I. Although I always thought his short-shorts were a little ridiculous. I get suspicious when I get extra visitors as well. Especially from foreign locales. Especially from people who google my name along with the phrase, “hit in the face with poison gas”. It made me want to call George and Bess and see what was going on. Just as soon as I gave Higgins a hard time. : )

    Reply
  21. Jessica Benzakein

    I don’t have enough stats to feel anonymous even… I am working my way up to that. I am at obscure currently. 🙂

    I read almost daily and sometimes I click on the pictures but usually it’s the ones of your decorating or food. (I have my own freckles if I feel the need to get up close and personal with any.)

    Hugs to you and happy weekend! – Jess

    Reply
    1. the domestic fringe Post author

      Jessica, thank you for not spying on my freckles. I’m sure you have a huge blog following. You’re a fantastic writer!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

