Potty Talk

It’s so hot my glasses jumped in the toilet for a swim.  Seriously, I just fished them out of the dog’s favorite watering hole.  I’m a little grossed out right now, but my choices were to view a blurry world for the next year and half or be a pee-pee face.  The choice was easy.

Is there anything left to say about my day?

At least it’s not as bad as the time we pulled a straw out of our clogged toilet.  My daughter was a toddler with a fascination for our bowl and there’s not a doubt in my mind that she took her share of long, cool drinks.  The dog’s not the only with an affinity for free sparkling water.

Enough toilet talk.  This post is turning into a fifth grade boy’s conversation.

The good news is it cooled off a bit, three degrees to be precise, but just enough to kick the kids out of our bedroom.  Communal sleeping is fun for the first night and after that I go nuts.  I’ve never been one to co-sleep (you can read about that HERE).  Besides my daughter moved into my air-conditioned room with an army of stuffed animals and dolls.  She took up more real-estate in my room than I did!

Someone recently blessed her with Molly, the American Girl Doll and she loves it.  She’s also enjoyed reading the American Girl books from the library.  Molly is a hand-me-down that came with her own bed and a ton of clothing.  Molly is as bad as FringeKid with taking space in MY room!

I must admit that I have been enjoying every moment of summer so far.  Long nights and late mornings make me a happy girl.

My kids are also loving their carefree days.  The other afternoon my daughter no sooner walked out of the house eating an apple, when she came in carrying a giant frog or toad or frog…I don’t know the difference.

The first thing out of my mouth was, “You can’t catch those while you’re eating.

You’ll get warts!”

She assured me it was a one-handed catch and at the moment, she is still wart free.

I think that may be the same toad that nearly scared the pee out of me one day while I sweeping the porch, but when I looked down, I realized that I had scared the pee out of him.

I almost feel sorry for that toad.

Almost.

How are you enjoying summer?

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

8 thoughts on “Potty Talk

  1. Pingback: I said THAT? 2010 Blog Recap | the domestic fringe

  2. Laura

    (it’s a toad)
    Keeping with the pee talk, I’ve had a toad pee on my hand, and also, a guinnie pig pee on my arm (in my sleeve!).
    Also, I dropped my favourite pair of sunglasses in my toilet once. They fell off my shirt and right in, it was a ‘fresh’ bowl, but I couldn’t get over it. I put a grocery bag over my hand to fish them out, washed them off, but I could never wear them. Hubby thought I was over reacting, but I couldn’t do it. So, I admire your bravery and ability to be a pee pee face. You are a better person that me.
    Also, I can’t believe you told the world your daughter drank from the bowl with a straw! Does she know?! Is she still speaking to you?! You can console her by sharing that I used to eat dog treats. I would take them to church in my little purse and eat them as a snack. I was probably 4 or 5. I can remember it clearly. *sigh*
    Thank you for making my laugh out loud!

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Thank You | the domestic fringe

  4. Charming's Mama

    Summer here has been mild in comparison, which has been wonderful. It rained here yesterday morning, cooled things down a bit. I love a summer rain, hearing the raindrops hit the pavement and then sizzle, there’s nothing better.

    Reply
  5. LeAnn

    Well I remember the day my cell phone went in the toilet…not pretty!

    I am a whiner in the humidity, yep, I will admit it, don’t like it…HOWEVER I have been a trooper this year and we have gone to car shows, motorcycle rides and of course garage sales in the stiffling heat.

    I am just happy that we have four seasons and not a year of this!

    Wishing you a better week.

    xo
    LeAnn

    Reply
  6. Patti

    My summer’s been too hectic; thanks for asking.

    Ooh, my daughter’s FIRST American Girl doll was MOLLY. (My mother gifted her several over the years.) I LOVED to watch MY American girl make memories with the fellow spectacle-wearing, pigtailed doll.

    You’ve got good things goin’ down, Fringe Girl. Good things.

    Reply
  7. Debra

    There IS a lot of potty talk in this post. The best thing about summer to me is sleeping in. Those American girl dolls look so nice I almost wish my girls were small again so I could play with them. Notice I said “almost”. 😉
    Enjoy you week!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

