Style at a Price

I’m either blind, completely disconnected, or I’ve just grown immune to my daughter’s oddness.  I didn’t realize she was wearing this get-up until we had already been out long enough for people to give me one too many hairy-eyeballs.

She needs a fashion intervention in a hurry!

Seriously, I have no idea where she got her sense of style, but FringeMan insists she’s inherited this nonsense from me.

Mwah?

The other day in all seriousness, I asked FringeMan why people keep mistaking me for someone who has money.  Without a moment’s hesitation he said, “It’s your outlandish outfits.”

Please splain me some things.

Why does he think I wear outlandish outfits?  I do not.

Second, do all rich women wear outlandish outfits?  I think not.

So, if you were wondering, I have no money (no nanny, no maid, no second vehicle).  I am also not an outlandish dresser, despite FringeMan’s claims.   On the other hand, my daughter is a fashion disaster and I don’t think she’ll outgrow it.  Secretly, I hope she doesn’t.

Do people ever mistake you for someone you are not?

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

15 thoughts on “Style at a Price

  1. Becky @ Farmgirl Paints

    So nice to know I’m not alone. My oldest is always dressing up really goofy like that. She has a pair of cat glasses. Black rimmed like your daughter’s but they almost look real. She loves to wear those out!

    Reply
  2. robinaltman

    Your daughter is super cute. I love when kids dress to express themselves. It’s way more interesting than seeing the same boring stuff all the time. My kids are the most boring dressers ever. My oldest obsesses over the littlest accessory – worried that other kids will comment, or think he’s dorky. I hate it. I wish he had the confidence of your daughter!

    Reply
  3. Laura

    hee hee, your daughter is a girl after my own heart! I too have fake glasses and I heart them on days when my eyes are puffy…not that that seems to be your daughter’s reason. Maybe she just likes to see how long it takes you to notice that she’s embarrasing you in public? I could see that being a fun game.
    I say embrace and encourage her creative dressing…but also show her any pic of Lady Gaga and make her promise to never be THAT creative with her outfits…*shudders* that’s just scary.

    Reply
  4. Charming's Mama

    If this is the way she shows her independence rather than through rebellion, I’d take it in a heartbeat! Who know though she’s young yet. Beside I think she looks cute in a 60’s sort of way.

    Reply
  5. debbie york

    Good for you. I’m glad you secretly don’t want her to change. My daughter Jenn was the same way (carried a lunch box for a handbag in middle school) and look at her now. When so many kids try and dress like each other….or worse….some celebrity, it’s refreshing to see one showing their individuality. Now I wonder where she gets that!
    As far as looking like money…sometimes it’s not about the outfit but the attitude. If there are two things that cannot be bought…taste and class would top the list.
    Debbie

    Reply
  6. caprik

    You gotta respect a little individuality in this cookie cutter world!

    I must have a VERY common face, because people mistake me for someone they know all the time. Or their friends sister, or cousin, or neighbor, or someone they went to school with………
    No one ever SAID they mistook me for someone with money. Bummer.

    Reply
  7. Mom

    Oh my, I could write forever on this one, but I’ll be nice and just say once again, “The apple does not fall far from the tree.”

    Reply
  8. Debra

    Your daughter is following the beat of her own drum. Be glad she’s a leader and not a follower! I had one daughter who was/is just like that and you know who she is! I think she turned out okay. 🙂

    Reply
  9. Jill

    Someday she might cringe at wearing something that looks normal to you because she’s afraid someone will make fun of her. I say encourage her eclectic style! She has a real sense of her own personality!

    And no, you don’t dress outlandishly. How can a guy who butchers deer in your kitchen know anything about fashion or style?

    Reply
  10. jeanne

    HILARIOUS. Don’t feel bad….I have not noticed my daughter dressing like a hooker before:-) And I really hope people don’t think she gets that from me:-) What is it with kids and fake glasses? My daughter has a red pair.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

