Caffeinated Decisions

FringeMan said he’s writing Whiney-Puss, an epic of a post-modern woman who just couldn’t seem to get it together one morning.

That’s me.

Caffeine didn’t even work this morning.

However, I did make an important life decision.  You’re all hanging at the edge of your seats, aren’t you?

I’m going to plant a raised herb garden next year.

Monumental, huh?  You’d be surprised.

I’m just not a farmer, or a botanist, or a horticulturists.  Planting a garden is a big deal for me.  It requires love, nurture, and happy soft-spoken words, not to mention a hundred gallons of miracle grow.

It will all be worth it though.  Of this, I am sure.

Are you a gardener?  Any tips for me??

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

18 thoughts on “Caffeinated Decisions

  1. Karen G

    I’m not a morning person and somehow always forget to have coffee until close to noon (told you I wasn’t a morning person!…I can’t even remember to have coffee to help remedy the situation! ha!).

    I’m also not a gardener, but we have had Great success with our veggie & herb garden this year. :> We are doing even less than we have in the past and getting far better growing and delish veggies & herb clippings this year. In the past, we’ve gone for the cheapest plants we can buy and then nurtured them….to death….literally. This year, my wee girl & I bought all of our 1/2″ starter plants (I haven’t been brave enough to start from seed…yet!) from Whole Foods, which got them from a local organic farmer. I am now convinced that the quality of the starter plant makes all the difference and will be doing this in the future too! :> Good luck!

    Reply
  2. Karen G

    I’m not a morning person and somehow always forget to have coffee until close to noon (told you I wasn’t a morning person!…I can’t even remember to have coffee to help remedy the situation! ha!).

    I’m also not a gardener, but we have had Great success with our veggie & herb garden this year. :> We are doing even less than we have in the past and getting far better growing and delish veggies & herb clippings this year. In the past, we’ve gone for the cheapest plants we can buy and then nurtured them….to death….literally. This year, my wee girl & I bought all of our 1/2″ starter plants (I haven’t been brave enough to start from seed…yet!) from Whole Foods, which got them from a local organic farmer. I am now convinced that the quality of the starter plant makes all the difference and will be doing this in the future too! :> Good l

    Reply
  3. Sara

    I can’t keep anything alive. I have three trees in buckets outside that are hanging on, but I’m not holding out a lot of hope for them. 🙂 Great life decision!!

    Reply
  4. Jill

    I kill living things. I’m barely keeping my children alive. Come to think of it, maybe they would do better if I buried them up to their necks in the backyard. : )

    Reply
  5. Mom

    Tonight, I am eating broccoli, cucumbers and tomatoes fresh from the garden. Mmmm!!
    Go for the garden next year. Maybe you can plant it on the roof off FringeKid’s room.

    Reply
  6. Debra

    I’m always planning a raised bed garden for next year. Then the next year comes and I’m still not doing it. Maybe next spring we can encourage each other! 🙂

    Reply
  7. Mikki

    Ahh.. the garden.
    When we lived in MD, I had what my hubby called the “martha stewart’ garden. I loved it and it loved me back.
    But here in FL.. UGH.. I can’t figure it out. Sandy soil.. bugs.. hot and dry.. craziness..

    Enjoy the gardening.. looking forward to more pics.

    Reply
    1. the domestic fringe Post author

      Definitely cilantro! That’s one of the fresh herbs that I buy all the time. We like Mexican.

      Reply
  8. Patti

    Girl, I just love you. That picture is the cat’s meow! And I don’t mean catnip…or do I?

    As a big two-year veteran of filthy fingernail summers, I LOVE my garden! My friend does the raised-bed herb thingie and that seems really cool, too.

    Tips? Just HAVE FUN! Exult in the knowledge that you are seeing THE LIFE CYCLE in action, right in your little piece of the American dream.

    Blessings,
    Patti

    Reply
  9. DJ

    Darling, I’m looking at your photo of carefully hung, dried, & labeled herbs…
    and in the background,
    there is a book
    entitled, “How to Peel a Peach”….
    Let’s stop and think about this whole herb garden thing a bit more, hmmmm?

    Reply
    1. the domestic fringe Post author

      LOL. DJ, you’re absolutely right. There’s no telling how my herb garden may turn out! That book, How to Peel a Peach, was a gift. Do you think it was a hint??

      Reply
      1. DJ

        No, I really was joking.
        If you lived in my community, you’d know:
        next to me, you’re Wolfgang Puck, darling.
        As for gardening, how did you say those stolen cacti were doing?
        🙂

        Reply

Leave a Reply

