Sunshine & Rain, Blessing & Cursing

Recently somebody asked if we, my family, were living under a curse.  I understood exactly what she meant and it cracked it me up, because in the span of about two weeks (more like 10 days), it appeared as if our little world were crumbling from the inside out.

My daughter’s bike was stolen.  We had to replace the hot water heater.  The microwave exploded in eerie bright red lights and pops.  The dog ran away, and the room off my kitchen (my future dining room) flooded.  Oh, and the car died.

Don’t we all have weeks like this?

I know we do.  After a while, you find yourself kinda holding your breath waiting for ‘the next disaster’ to strike.  Sometimes I wonder why God allows bad things to happen to good people.

Don’t you wonder why?  Sometimes??

Matthew 5:45  “…for he [God] maketh his sun to rise on the evil and on the good, and sendeth rain on the just and on the unjust.”

It’s just life.  There will be days of sunshine and days when it rains so hard that your house becomes a mudroom.  Literally!  Often it is in the rainy times when the light of the Lord shines the brightest.  God is good, no matter the circumstances.

For whatever reason, He often chooses His creation to be vessels of His goodness; however, sometimes it’s hard to swallow our pride and accept gifts from others, even good gifts. I know it is better to give than it is to receive, but it is also easier.

I have learned that although God could rain microwaves down from heaven, He will often just nudge a friend or neighbor to go grab their extra one from the attic.  I believe He works through His creation for two reasons.  First, it is a blessing to be a blessing.  We feel good when we are able to help someone else.  Second, it humbles us.  It is one thing to take a gift straight from the hand of God, but it is altogether different when a friend or acquaintance lends us a hand.  It reminds us that we need each other.  God never intended for us to ‘do life’ on our own.  Just as Adam needed a “help meet” in the garden (Genesis 2:20), we also need help in this adventure we call life.

In my relatively short life, all twenty-nine years of it (*cough, cough*), I have been blessed beyond measure.  God has been good to me.  So have my friends, family, neighbors, co-workers, and sometimes strangers. Their acts of goodness have made me want to be good to others also – to pass along the blessing.

Always be quick to give kindness, you may never know how it transforms someone’s day, maybe even their life.

Come back tomorrow (probably Sunday or Monday :-0), and find out how my family was blessed by….

Hint:  *She’s a blogger!*

…and yes, the dog came back.

18 thoughts on “Sunshine & Rain, Blessing & Cursing

  1. Pingback: I said THAT? 2010 Blog Recap | the domestic fringe

  2. Pingback: Sunshine & Rain, Blessing & Cursing | Buford Corn Maze a Night of Family Fun

  3. Pingback: Sunshine & Rain, Blessing & Cursing | Buford Corn Maze a Night of Family Fun

  4. patti

    FringeGirl, I really like you.

    Thank you for seeing God’s hands in the ordinary pain–and pleasure of life.

    Visiting this place is sheer joy.
    Patti

    Reply
  5. Hat Chick

    That’s a country western song wrapped up in a devotional. The message is perfect and because you see Him in all things, He uses you as a vessel. Sometimes a sinking vessel, but a blessed vessel.

    Reply
  6. Pingback: Sunshine & Rain, Blessing & Cursing | Buford Corn Maze a Night of Family Fun

  7. Mable

    twenty-nine !! That would make me 31, it works for me!
    Great blog! Love reading anything you write! I’ll pray for blessings your way.

    Reply
  8. Charming's Mama

    Aw, FringeGirl, wish we were closer we could commiserate over a cup of tea. But I’m glad you have not lost heart and can look for the blessings among the ruin. Chin up and all that rot!

    Reply
  9. Mikki

    What a wonderful post! Yes, we all have horrible moments in life, but as you’ve said here.. GOD is still OHHH Sooo good!!

    Have a wonderful weekend!! Thanks for posting this encouragement!

    Reply
  10. Julie

    I’m so glad you stopped by my blog to comment on my silly pillow so I could find you & read something really that really matters. Great post.

    Reply
  11. Amber

    I do live in kind of a parallel universe of waiting for the next disaster but I have decided no matter what I am up against and facing I will enjoy my life and the greatness that God is. :o)

    Reply
  12. debbie york

    This is why I come here time and time again. You explain it so that even a muddle head like me can understand. That, my sweet girl, was the blessing you gave me tonight.
    Debbie

    Reply

Leave a Reply

